We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look nowhere else in Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Look nowhere else in Central London”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is the best hotel of its type in central London. Last week I stayed her with my wife, the evening being a delayed wedding anniversary treat. We were upgraded to a suite which was wonderful and the staff even personally signed an anniversary card!

I have stayed here on a number of occasions on business trips and always find it very comfortable and in an excellent location just off Berkeley Square. The rooms may be a little sombre for some tastes, but that is a personal thing - they are traditional English Country House in style.

The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms spotlessly clean, the breakfast is superb, but the best thing about this hotel are the staff. They all seem to be happy in their work and offer genuine warmth.

I will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LintonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,564
    415
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
603
1,354
182
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

i have had the pleasure of staying at the Chesterfield many times over the years, and its remarkable how, even if the staff change, the results are always the same. Just about perfect. The owners, red carnation, just dont seem to put a foot wrong. service, comfort, food, decor,efficiency, friendliness, attention to detail, are all first class. The whole feel is very much like a private members club where everyone knows who you are and what you need, even if you dont know yourself!!

Location is on a quiet street just off Berkeley Square, loads of great restaurants and bars close by. Business or pleasure...you wont get better than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

On our arrival we had a very friendly greeting from all the staff, our room was clean, comfortable and well supplied. Room service readily available at all times. The menu is extensive and catered for most tastes. I have special dietry needs,they dealt with these with ease, nothing was too much trouble for them. Overall, a fantastic place where the staff bent over backwards to be pleasant and helpfull!! Would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Guest,

It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers.

I am pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time with us. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their helpfulness and friendliness, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I recently had a chance to stay here on business. I was surprised at the smallness of the room compared to US hotels, and that the "single" room indeed had a single person bed (vs a queen or king). However, the bed was very comfortable, the bedding luxurious, and the room more than adequate for my purposes. The on-site restaurant prices are a bit steep for my tastes, but I did enjoy the Full English Breakfast each morning. The wait staff was very attentive, the coffee hot and strong (better than any I've had at hotels in the States), and the meals come out hot, delicious, and in relatively short time. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I've never stayed at a bed and breakfast, but compared to some of the large, impersonal hotel chains, this one FELT more like I'd imagine a bed and breakfast (done on a larger scale) might be like. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomT_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay as well as the full English breakfast each morning, especially our Starbucks coffee. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests about their service and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel when you are next in London for business.

Kind regards,
Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My Japanese clients and I had a very comfortable stay. Nice attention to details. The staff were
truly what one would hope for. They were perfect.
The hotel is of course in a great location. Decor great. Very clean and organized.
This is an elite hotel which keeps alive the regality of Great Britain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adept77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review.

I’m delighted to hear that you and your clients enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Chesterfield, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We spent 5 nights from 1 November 2011. My second time at Chesterfield Mayfair. I really like the location, in a quiet location in a great part of London for walking. Just 4 minute walk to Green Park Tube.

At check-in, I got a complementary upgrade to a Junior Suite. A very nice touch. But even a suite is small by US standards, and there is not much room for suitcases and other bags. The staff was friendly, very accommodating of special requests. I liked that the room could be made up at any time, like during turn down service. Very comfy bed. Good lighting. Did not use the TV, as UK TV leaves a lot to be desired. I really liked having French press coffee in the room. Also, hotel umbrellas in the closet are convenient.

Breakfasts are very good. Excellent selections of buffet and cooked to order items. Brewed coffee could be improved.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard_SB_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to see our return guests coming back time again and thank you for writing your positive review.

Thank you for your great description of our surrounding areas and highlighting what a brilliant location we have, I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the room and I’m pleased that extra amenities such as the French coffee press and umbrellas were so appreciated.

Thank you for your feedback about the room which is invaluable to us. As we are a period hotel some of our Junior Suites do vary in size and some are more suited to storage and spaciousness. Please enquire with our reservations team when next making your reservations to ensure a more comfortable stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is without doubt a luxury hotel catering to the discerning and located in the well off Mayfair. What I like about it is that it's not totally over the top: it has large, comfortable rooms (for a UK hotel), very good linens and bedding, is quiet, has great service, and all the convenience items I could have wanted. I've stayed at others with more cutting edge interior decorating or more expensive bits and bobs, but those hotels always felt like they were overcompensating. This hotel is just very solid. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeripateticProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a pleasing review from your stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that you had an exceptional stay and I’m pleased that our comfortable rooms and special touches such as the luxurious linens and bedding created such a favourable impression.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing