We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantabulous Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #12 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrow upon Humber
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantabulous Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

What can I say other than what a gem of an hotel! Booked for our 20th anniversary and treated ourselves to the Mayfair Weeekend package which included 3 nights bed and breakfast, afternoon tea, bottle of champagne, complimentary newspapers and Internet. Excellent value for money when you compare it to many of the "room only" deals in central London. We took our afternoon tea on arrival and cannot fault the attentiveness of the staff, their knowledge of what they are serving in terms of us trying new teas and the quality and presentation of the food. All in all a great start to our break. We chose to have dinner in The Butlers Restaurant on our first evening and again, the staff were very attentive and the food again was excellent and reasonably priced. We booked a superior king room which was not huge but perfectly adequate. Beautifully decorated and bed linen and pillows to die for! Must admit to not usually sleeping well in hotels but not this one - I was out like a light! Breakfast - well all I can say is fill your boots! Plenty of fruit, yoghurt, croissants and cereals to choose from plus the excellent selection of cooked breakfast. Set us up for a full day of sightseeing. I can honestly say that you would be hard pressed to find an hotel which is such good value in the perfect spot than this. Literally 10 minutes walk to Buckingham Palace and likewise Regent/Oxford Street. Green Park tube is five minutes walk away if needed but with everything in close proximity we tended to walk everywhere. I cannot praise the Chesterfield enough. We will definitely be back as we loved it so much.

Room Tip: We were on floor 4 overlooking the a/c units so view not fantastic but the noise was neglible. In ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katjb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that we were able to welcome you for such a special anniversary trip. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

Thank you for your great description of our surrounding areas and highlighting what a brilliant location we have, I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,523
    408
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
590
1,328
181
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June 2012, chose this hotel due to the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. The staff in the hotel have made our stay extremely pleasant through their helpfulness and friendliness. They're always willing to go the extra mile, even when it's merely giving directions to the nearest convenience shop. My family booked two standard queen rooms. We stayed on the seventh floor in the rooms right at the end. The space was adequate, if not very big. The bathroom was stocked with amenities (although I would have preferred it if slippers were provided in the room instead of having to call housekeeping for them). I loved the little treats left on the pillows during turn-down service. The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable! The hotel is a 7 minute walk to Green Park station, which was bearable. We also had afternoon tea on our last day there, which was not bad and quite filling. Of course, I think I would have enjoyed the hotel even more if I hadn't been out exploring London the whole day!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherylcxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that we were able to welcome you for your family trip. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I got in touch with Chesterfield as i was looking for someone special to hold afternoon tea for my mothers 50th birthday and from the moment I got in touch they were extremely helpful. Our main contact Antoine most certainly went the extra mile in order to make sure the day was very special. We book the library exclusively as there were 13 of us and it is a truly beautiful room and made the experience all the more special. The food was beautiful and the plates were replenished constantly so that you didnt go hungry. I have had afternoon tea as many places that are considered more luxorious and which were most certainly more expensive and I can honestly say that none came even close the Chesterfield. I would highly recommend that you go here for afternoon tea as it is a beautiful hotel and the staff are terrific! I could go on forever with how good my experience was but just think you should try it for yourself, you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review.

I am thrilled to read that you and your party had such a wonderful afternoon and we were able to make your Mother’s 50th birthday a special and memorable one. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, in particular Antoine, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

Thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family; we do find that word of mouth is the best form of advertising we can get.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in London in April as part of our Paris/London vacation. Everyone and I mean everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We never once opened a door or carried our own bags. There staff made us feel like it was a personal pleasure for them to aid and assist us any way they could. The concierge was incredibly knowledgeable about everywhere we wanted to go from the Underground, Oxford shopping district, The theatre district, and tours. Even the kitchen and maid staff were extremely efficient and courteous. And we got room service every morning. The room was clean, neat and very comfortable. The wifi was efficient and copiers and printers all available. We will definitely stay there again when we come back. Restaurant was delicious also.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant feedback from your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted to read that we were able to provide such exceptional service from the moment you arrived. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for long weekend in May. Fantasic experience and couldn't fault any aspect of the stay including the Afternoon Tea. Wonderful meal and very attentive and helpful staff. Would certianly stay again. If you like big glitzy then this would not be the place for old. An old world charm with all the mod cons.

Room Tip: Rooms may be on small side for some if you can afford the suites then go for it. No Pool and fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely afternoon tea with us and. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef about the excellent quality of the food.

I will also be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My first visit to this hotel provided me with a different perspective on what makes a fine hotel. Sparkling new facilities, piles of pillows and similar amenities do not hold a torch to proper demeanor, courteous service, and attention to details as was evidenced in this hotel. Not that anything physical was lacking; it wasn't. The class in this hotel was far above what is considered normal nowadays.

Room Tip: Ours was on the sixth floor, so I know those are good. I did not have opportunity to use sports fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent trip with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Being in London on business trip this hotel was my choice on several occasions. Great location, walking distance to Piccadilly Circus, Soho, parks etc. Hotel is located in Mayfair, classy, 'old money' neighborhood in central London with great restaurants and bars nearby. Hotel itself is very nice old Victorian style building (at least i thing it's Victorian), rooms very classy but small with all the usual necessities available. Great breakfast - try eggs benedick - never tried supper, with all these great restaurants in London to chose from, felt kind of silly to eat in my hotel. Anyway, have stayed in The Chesterfield 3-4 times and always has been a great experience and hopefully will be back. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us.

I am please to read that once again you had an enjoyable stay and we are your first choice hotel. I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate the great description you have given of the hotel and surrounding areas.

Thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family; we do find that word of mouth is the best form of advertising we can get.

I look forward to welcoming you back for all of your future business trips in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing