We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, perfect location, fab staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ambilly, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, perfect location, fab staff!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair, for business purposes, for 4 nights. I must say I never came across staff with such professional and personal approach at the same time. When staying there, you do not feel like being in a good hotel, but in one where everything is done to make you feel at home and to make your life easier :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your stay with us.

I am please to read that you found the professional and personal service of the staff to be so excellent. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,597
    420
    80
    28
    12
See reviews for
614
1,368
183
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The room was really small for 2 adults. The location is great, the Green Park is very close as well as the Buckingham Palace. The restaurant is very expensive. Room service was good but slow. We stayed for 2 nights over weekend and found it ok considering the UK standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theshadowvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review.

Thank you highlighting what a brilliant location we have; I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

With regards to your comments about the small size of the room, we do have larger categories of rooms; please enquire with our reservations team when next making your reservations to ensure a more comfortable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel this weekend for my girlfriends birthday.. The staff here went out of their way to make it special for her, the room upgrade, the birthday card, the cake, the great friendly service...a must must stay here! Thanks

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that we were able to welcome you for your first trip to England and we were able to provide you with a special traditional British experience.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California, United States
Level Contributor
187 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Having never been to England before, I had certain expectations about how things would look and feel. The Chesterfield Mayfair honestly met all of imaginings about all things British! The old world look of the decor, the tea selection in the room, the bellman & doorman's attire and the lovely sunroom. Everything was perfectly clean (I'd heard humorous stories about the English plumbing but no problems here!!) and well maintained. As it was included in our package we enjoyed the Afternoon tea and again, so lovely and what I imagined it would be like. We also ate all our breakfasts there and one dinner. Antonio (hope I remembered his name correctly) was our waiter twice and he was so kind explaining, for instance, how tea is done. He always made us feel welcomed and I hope this praise is passed on to him. I could go on and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Close to the underground & a pub across the street (The Last Running Footman, fun place too). Also forgot to mention Starbucks coffee available in the lobby for us Americans addicted to our caffine! Thanks Chesterfield Mayfair!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that we were able to welcome you for your first trip to England and we were able to provide you with a special traditional British experience.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is a fantastically discreet and intimate bar tucked behind Picadilly. It feels quintessentially English, with a dark and cosy colour scheme, and extremely good, but personable service from the attentive waiters. Their themed Bond cocktails for the launch of Skyfall were both entertaining with a special section at the start of the drinks menu, and also really very good. I particularly enjoyed my Vesper.
The wine selection is also excellent, with the very reasonably priced South African Bouchard Finlayson wines offering a really good variety.
Food was also lovely - even if you don't fancy anything substantial, there is cheese on toast doing the rounds - a perfect amount just to keep the lid on your appetite, and help soak up some of the cocktails...
It's a lovely, timeless place, where I will happily come back, either to show London visitors a real London experience, or just on my own to relax! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your brilliant feedback.

I am pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time in our cosy and comfortable Terrace Bar. Your feedback about the delicious cocktails and wines is fantastic and I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our excellent added touches such as the cheese on toast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Chesterfield Mayfair for four nights.
We had a deluxe twin room which was very cozy and perfect for the two of us.
The hotel's location is ideal for getting around either by foot or tube. I love the Mayfair area!
Our first night we were delighted to have champagne and cake brought to our room for my birthday celebration.
Our morning started out with a hearty breakfast in Butlers where we had a choice of either buffet or cooked to order. The Eggs Benedict were exceptional, so much so that I twice indulged!
Afternoon tea was very enjoyable and certainly very filling. The staff happily brought extras of our favorites.
We dined once at the hotel's Terrace bar and thoroughly enjoyed sharing their "sharing plates".
Our only disappointed was our last night's dinner at Butlers. We were anticipating having the dover sole, only to find out that they had run out. They did make up for this by making us table side crepes suzettes, which were fantastic.
I would not hesitate booking this hotel again when traveling to London.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review from your recent birthday trip with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Chesterfield and your birthday stay was so special. Thank you, too, for your wonderful feedback about the breakfast, afternoon tea and Terrace Bar, I am sure our Food and Beverage Manager and Executive Chef will be very pleased to read your comments and share these with their teams.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again for your next trip and to have some of our famous Dover sole.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband I and stayed at the Chesterfield for our first visit to London. It was perfect. The location seemed ideal....we walked to the Green Park underground station as well as fun restaurants and Piccadilly Circus. We were treated well by everyone...even got an anniversary card signed by the whole staff! Ate a wonderful meal in the restaurant and had a drink most evenings in the bar. Our room was good size as was the bathroom. Service was outstanding.....I ordered coffee to our room every morning and it was delivered in record time. Just a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chpdlivr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent Anniversary stay with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your special Anniversary stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair. I am happy that you enjoyed the signed card from the staff; we feel that small gestures go a long way.

I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver a special experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,669 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing