We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weekend break for two ... in luxury!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #11 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A weekend break for two ... in luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Once again we enjoyed a weekend break for two nights at the Chesterfield hotel, Mayfair, which was excellent. We stayed on the Friday night and were treated to champagne in our bedroom. Saturday morning started with a breakfast fit for a king in the quintessentially English restaurant. After a day of activities we returned for our afternoon cream tea and after dinner out, returned to the bar to delightful entertainment from the resident pianist in the bar, before turning in. The room (419) was lovely. Bathroom has underfloor heating and the shower knocks you over. Staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed on numerous occasions and will be staying again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steviewonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that your return visit was as enjoyable and relaxing as you expected and that you appreciated all the elements of our Mayfair Weekend package. I will be pleased to share your kind words on the high level of service you enjoyed with all my team, including our pianist.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,495
    404
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
585
1,309
180
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

16.03.13
"WOW" is my first thought, we chose to spend a weekend in town, and some one suggested a nice hotel group Red Carnation.

We chose the Chesterfield in Mayfair as it was close to the bar and restaurant we had booked.

The moment we arrived, we were greeted with happy staff, they had a big, smile and they all gave us a welcome, it was like going back in time to a traditional quintessential English feel and atmosphere, you could tell nothing was too much trouble.

The room we were given #222, OMG its was amazing, light, airy, cozy, real touch of elegance, even had two bath rooms,

We went in to the bar for a light bite, and a glass of wine, (ended up with a bottle as we did not want to move) was so nice. I can recommend the club sandwich with truffle and parmigiana fries,

Latter on in the evening before going out we met friends and had various cocktails, the cocktails were great, and served with popcorn, yum yum.... James was our waiter he could not do enough for us. (Thank you James)

We had breakfast this morning in the conservatory, nice and bright, the buffet, was full of everything you could want for English breakfast, and the cooked breakfast was out of this world, unlimited toast and preserves, tea, coffee I was even cheeky and asked for lattes's.

Cant remember all the staffs names, but they made us all feel so welcome, even a housekeeping porter i saw in a corridor said good morning and hoped we have a great day.

On departure, the staff were cheerful, and sad to see us go :-)

Perfect location, for a weekend in town, with great local bars and so close to Shepherds market.......

We will be back, I promise,

Room Tip: we were on the second, floor our view was over a court yard, very quiet..... However the room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brilliant review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that your weekend with us was so enjoyable and all the team made you feel welcome and at home. As a boutique hotel in the heart of Mayfair we are proud of our great British heritage which can be seen from the luxurious fittings in each bedroom right through to the banquet of breakfast offerings available each morning.

Our location is excellent and we are handily situated for our guests to dine well at all the restaurants that are in the area although many guests do enjoy spending time in our bar as you have done. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to James for making you feel comfortable and ensuring you had everything you wanted for the evening.

Thank you for recognising the talent and dedication of everybody who works at The Chesterfield Mayfair, we take great pride in our attention to detail and it is always appreciated when we are recognised for this by our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. It is very well located in the heart of Mayfair. All was just perfect down to every detail. White gloved, top hat doorman received us and handled our luggage swiftly.
The reception, concierge and housekeeping staff was excellent, as well as all working in the restaurant, which by the way was excellent.
The room was lovely with a king size bed, lots of drawers and shelves and silk padded hangers for our clothes. The décor was elegant and sophisticated, with some beautiful antique pieces of furniture. They even had electric outlets for American, European and British appliances. In one of the drawers there was tray with everything one would find in a well-equipped desk and in a cupboard another tray with everything needed for coffee or tea, with several choices of flavors plus high quality cookies.
The bathroom, although small, had enough room to put our toiletries, and had fluffy embroidered bath towels and a good pressured shower.
This hotel belongs to the South African hotel chain named Red Carnation so the bathroom had a fresh red carnation and the drawers were lined with red carnation printed paper. This was a very nice touch and amazing detail!!!
We will surely recommend this hotel and stay here again when we are back in London again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that our service and attention to detail has given you a fantastic experience at this Red Carnation hotel. I am delighted that you found check in to be swift and smooth and all the amenities you describe in your room helped create a home away from home for you; I personally find the universal travel adaptors to be one of the items that our guests really appreciate.

Thank you for your kind words about all our team here; I am incredibly proud of all my staff who work with each other to ensure that each guest receives the warmest of welcomes and that you receive the highest standard of service whether you are requesting a dinner recommendation from concierge or an extra blanket from housekeeping.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Chesterfield Mayfair on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

First impressions of the Chesterfield Mayfair were great with extremely welcoming staff, from the doormen to the lovely reception staff. The hotel was very well presented, spotlessly clean and decorated to a very high standard.

I took my parents to this hotel as part of a theatre break in London for their diamond anniversary and my dad's 80th birthday. The hotel staff made the effort to present my parents with a cake, champange and a card signed by all hotel staff, a kind gesture from the hotel which was free of charge.

The rooms were extremely comfortable and were decorated and maintained to a high standard. Underfloor heating was a godsend in the bathroom was a godsend along with bathrobes, toiletries, chocolates, complementary water, tea and coffee.

The food at this hotel was excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for you.

This hotel is ideally situated for theatres and is a 15 minute walk to Liecter Square. It is also a 5 minute walk to the nearest tube at Green Park.

Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I am honoured that you chose to stay with us as part of your parents’ diamond anniversary celebrations and that the rooms and environment all added to your enjoyment of the weekend. It is great to hear that you received such a positive first impression of the Chesterfield Mayfair and that it continued through every part of the hotel.

I am pleased that your stay at the Chesterfield Mayfair was a five-star experience and everything was to your satisfaction for this special break. Thank you for taking the time to recognise the dedication of all the staff here; I will be sure to pass on your comments onto all the team.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you would recommend our hotel to your friends and family, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great experience in the Chesterfield Mayfair. Very good situation near most of the best commercial areas in London, tube and bus stops, restaurants and trendy pubs. Very friendly, helpful staff, perfect English breakfast and afternoon tea. I'll come back, thank you so much.

Room Tip: My room was located over Charles St. and even so was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the great attractions that are in the local area. Thank you for your room tip, despite being a few streets away from Piccadilly we are able to offer a quiet night’s sleep for our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We booked a weekend offer. A gift from my husband on my birthday in November
When we booked the room we found out we'd been together for 45 yrs which we mentioned in our booking. The weekend package included champagne the first night, Full English breakfast , one Afternoon Tea and late checkout last day.
Perfect for us. Leavin Stockholm early Saturday morning and leaving London at 7 pm Monday night
A week or so before my husband got a mail from the Hotel reminding us of booking the Afternoon tea as its a popular place at the weekends. Asking us which day and time we want our afternoon tea. So kind!
Arriving at the hotel On Sat morning just to leave our suitcases the receptionist told us we were upgraded to a suit with Jacuzzi "The Garden Room "was not ready yet as it takes a little longer to clean up a suit. But we could check in and our cases should be in our room when we came back! Fantastic service.
A good start but it would rise up to higher unexpected levels which made this weekend the best ever
So helpful and friendly staff everywhere ,treating us like royalties but in a natural and balanced way that made us feel comfortable and at home . A beautiful hotel with excellent interior design . Creating a special atmosphere of old times still fresh and modern and very clean
Perfect everything!!!!!
I'm amazed of the owner Mrs Bea Tollmans Vision for The Red Carnation Hotels and seeing it worked out perfect in The Chesterfield Mayfair
There is so much to say
Excellent kitchen, wonderful bar, restaurant, The Excellent Breakfast The Afternoon Tea in the Conservatory, details everywhere that makes you feel special and privileged
But particularly I want to mention the Surprice that came together with the Champagne Sat Night
A plate with two cupcakes ( carrot cake?) with clotted cream and raspberries on top
On the plate was written with chocolate
Happy Anniversary and a card with greetings from the staff.
Isn't that love? Thank you everybody working that weekend March 2-4 2013
This weekend became almost like a spa for my whole beeing after a heavy and a rather stressful winter

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that your husband chose us to help celebrate such a special occasion and that you appreciated all the extra attention as we marked your joint birthday and anniversary celebrations. There is so much to see and do in London that I am glad you made full use of your Mayfair Weekend package and enjoyed being able to drop off your bags on the first morning as well as the late check out.

Our team enjoy getting to know our guests and planning for their needs so that when you arrive, everything is taken care of; I am pleased that this forward organisation helped create a relaxing break where you felt you had all the comforts you could wish for. I will be sure to thank all of the team who helped prepare for your stay as well as all who you met on your weekend with us; we always appreciate when guests recognise our efforts.

Thank you for recommending The Chesterfield Mayfair and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taylor lake village, tx
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel attends to absolutely every little detail, even a hard-copy personal response to my evaluation at the end of my stay. The room-service breakfast in-the-room as an "included" option for the cost of the room was really a GREAT perk. Lovely, knowledgable, professional staff. Definitely on my list when I return to London. Easy walking distance to National Gallery, museums, etc.

Room Tip: Request nearer street or interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you great review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be excellent for your needs. Thank you for highlighting the fact that we will provide breakfast as room service at no extra charge; this is something that many of our guests appreciate and compliment us for providing.

It will be my pleasure to share you kind comments about my team with all the staff; we believe in providing a high level of service and attention to detail and appreciate when guests such as yourself acknowledge this.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next return to London.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing