We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #12 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent personnel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent 3 nights mid-week in late July at hotel. Very much an old British feel. Sorry we missed the library hidden on the ground floor, but we spotted the large traditional room the last day. It pays to mosey around a hotel the first day and check things out. The breakfast/dining areas are lovely. There is a great buffet available in the morning besides the usual full English breakfast. There is an elevator, but we used the staircase alone. The hotel is quiet and in a perfect location, just off Berkeley Square, and close to Curzon Street...names right out of an early 19th century romantic novel. Hyde Park (Rotten Row, Serpentine), Green Park, and St James Park are very close walking distance as is the Green Park Underground station. We were able to walk the perimeter of the parks to access most anything we desired to see this visit--Kensington Palace, Harrod's, Buckingham, Westminister. Or for the brave, you can rent bicycles at Barclay's new bicycle 'docking' stations and stay out of the streets nearly entirely. The hotel is about 10 minutes by cab from Paddington Underground/train station if you are coming by Express from Heathrow.
The neighborhood contains several lebanese restaurants which are mostly excellent, as well as a few good italian restaurants. It feels safe and upper end. The staff is very friendly and cooperative. The rooms are small, although you can upgrade, but adequate if you don't plan to spend your vacation inside. Robes, wi-fi, hair dryer, all the usual at this level. The beds are perfect (for me that means not too soft). Blankets are offered to those of us who can't stand 50 lb duvets. Someday, someone must explain this hotel 'phenomenon' to me!)
Hotel rates vary with occupancy, just like airlines. We got a good deal with Expedia earlier in the year, nearly half the going rate. We would go here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your great experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you chose us for your visit to London and that you found the traditional atmosphere of the library an ideal location for relaxing. My Restaurant Manager will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet offering, as well as our á la carte hot breakfast menu. I am pleased that you found us to be in the perfect location and that you were able to walk to so many of London’s attractions. It is great to see that you made use of the Barclays rent a bicycle scheme, which has a docking station just beside the hotel, for those attractions that bit further away.

We pride ourselves on our excellent service here at The Chesterfield Mayfair and it gives me great pleasure to see that you experienced this from our friendly and helpful staff. My Executive Housekeeper will be delighted to hear that you found your room comfortable and that you took pleasure in the complimentary wireless internet, robes and hair dryer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,522
    408
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
590
1,328
181
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent four nights at the Chesterfield Mayfair while vacationing(me and my college age granddaughter). It is a lovely place to stay! The location is a quick walk to Piccadilly Circus, Covent Garden, theaters, and all of the shops and attractions. There were also many restaurants, pubs, and small shops nearby. The hotel staff was extremely friendly,helpful and welcoming especially the concierge, Maddie. They really made our stay memorable. We enjoyed afternoon tea and dinner during our stay, both far exceeded our expectations. I would definitely recommend staying here while in London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pierlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you and your granddaughter had a great stay with us here at The Chesterfield Mayfair. I am pleased that you found the hotel’s location very convenient for you, with so many of the delights London has to offer within walking distance to the hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendly, helpful service that you received. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team here, especially Maddie. I am delighted to hear that your afternoon tea and dinner experiences exceeded your expectations.

I truly appreciate you recommending The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is my favorite hotel any time we travel to London. Its Mayfair location makes getting around London a snap since it is so close to several Tube stations, parks and other attractions. Many can be visited with just a pleasant walk. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is the friendliest in London. Be sure to check out the car show rooms around Berkeley Square!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this great review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that The Chesterfield Mayfair has earned the title of your favourite hotel in London. The hotel is ideally located close to several tube stations and parks, which makes getting around London a more manageable task. My Executive Housekeeper will be delighted to hear that you found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable. Thank you for your compliments regarding the friendly service that you received throughout the hotel, we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication and I will be sure to thank them on your behalf. Berkeley Square has many car show rooms that are definitely worth a look if you would like to window shop and admire or better still if you are looking to make a purchase.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family of four (two teenagers) spent five nights at The Chesterfield while vacationing in London and it was a terrific stay. The hotel is perfectly located if you want get a true feeling for London, away from all the tourists, while still being centrally located to the sights. The hotel is just a few blocks from the Green Park tube station where you can catch the piccadilly and jubilee lines. The Hotel itself was fantastic. The staff could not do enough for you -- helpful, always had smiles on their faces, and very responsive. The decor is "old school" English, which adds to the fun, and the rooms were great -- not huge, but not too small either. We requested two rooms next to each other, and everything was perfectly in order when we arrived. Just a great experience. A few other notes -- the hotel is just a couple blocks to the east of Hyde Park (went for great jogs every morning), as well as a neat little courtyard area (Sheppard's Way i think) where you can find several english pubs and a variety of small ethnic restaurants (italian, lebanese, mexican/polish). We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoreomasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your great experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you found us to be in a perfect location, away from all the busy tourist areas of London, yet centrally located and close to all the wonderful sights and attractions that London has to offer. The Chesterfield Mayfair is indeed very accessible from Green Park, which serves the Piccadilly, Jubilee and Victoria lines.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff at The Chesterfield Mayfair and how they were extremely helpful and always had smiles on their faces. I will be sure to share your thanks will all of the team here. I am glad we were able to allocate your two rooms beside each other and that everything was perfectly in order with your reservation when you arrived. I am sure that other jogger enthusiasts will appreciate you sharing Hyde Park’s proximity to the hotel. The Chesterfield Mayfair also provides jogging maps and complimentary towels and water for those brave enough to risk a morning jog!

I truly appreciate you recommending The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Based on three things we booked a three night stay in a suite: 1. Tripadvisor rating. 2., Red Carnation brand 3. Location. As we hoped the hotel lives up expectation and justifies its rating position near top dog position of hotels in London.

We stayed in the Africa Suite which like most rooms in older buildings in London isn't large by any means. Its quite small for a suite really. Plenty big as a room. The suite has space for a two seater couch, a table and two chairs plus a separate walk-in closet for clothes and the safe. There is a Large wall mounted plasma and a six foot wide comfortable bed. Furnishings and extras all what you would expect at this level - Including a couple of branded umbrellas for the one time it rained. Air con excellent. But for some reason there is an overhead fan that only works when the lights are on.

The bathroom has a separate shower which has good water pressure, but if you are a large person it is a very tight fit! The jacuzzi bath also has a shower, so that might suit some larger people.

Breakfast and lunch/dinner are available in Butler's, the hotel restaurant which is beautifully decorated. Food and service absolutely first class as it was everywhere in the hotel.

A further terrace (indoor) bar and a reading room completed the places we visited during our stay.

the hotel position a 100 yards off Berkely Square in a fairly quiet street and just 5 mins comfortable walk to Green Park underground station and the park opposite. Then it will take you another 5 mins walk through the park to Buckingham Palace in case the Queen has invited you for tea. The hotel is also within a comfortable 10 mins walk of many quality restaurants.

If you want a bit of old English class and lovely surroundings this hotel is perfect.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and kit-out
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you chose the hotel based on our Trip Advisor reviews and that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at The Chesterfield Mayfair, with the hotel exceeding your expectations. I am sure other Trip Advisor users will benefit from your detailed description of your bedroom and bathroom. We take great pride in our attention to detail here at The Chesterfield Mayfair and I am glad that you appreciated our Chesterfield umbrellas in the room, lucky you only needed to use them the one time during your stay in London!

My Executive Chef will be happy to hear that you found the food to be first class throughout the hotel; Butler’s restaurant is indeed a beautifully decorated restaurant boasting traditional British cuisine. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received throughout, I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of my team.

Thank you also for highlighting the hotel’s ideal location and how Berkeley Square and Green Park tube station are within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is also only a short walk from Buckingham Palace, great to know once that invitation to tea with the Queen arrives.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This boutique hotel in Mayfair is the best of what London can offer. It is an elegant, friendly and well positioned hotel with all. Comforts a traveller could want. From the front desk staff who are genuinely welcoming to the breakfast team, everyone seems centered on the guests positive experience. Excellent, strong wifi and a terrific breakfast.
Ideal for business travelers and couples or mature families. Having spent many a night in high prices, gritty London hotels where everything is extra (wifi, breakfast etc) this was a real find.

Room Tip: There are single rooms with single beds which are perfect for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our boutique hotel and that you found the hotel to be ideally positioned right in the heart of Mayfair. Thank you for your great comments about the high standard of service you received, from the helpful front desk staff to the welcoming breakfast team. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all the team.

I am glad that you found the breakfast offering terrific and that you appreciated our complimentary WiFi we understand how important internet access is to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Ideally located in central London, just a short stroll to green park.
Traditional hotel with really comfy beds.
Reasonably priced drinks in bar (atmosphere is quite gentleman's club).
Strangely had 2 bathrooms to the one bedroom!? One shower/ loo & one bath / loo, nice though!
Helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Redstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased that you found us to be in an ideal location, with Green Park easily accessible from the hotel. My Executive Housekeeper will be delighted to hear that you found the beds to be comfortable; as we all know how important a good night’s sleep is. I am glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the bar, what a great way to finish off an evening than with a relaxing drink in our cosy Terrace Bar.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing