We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“The Best in London”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in London over the years including several of the ultra-lux properties (Dorchester, Connaught, Park Lane). The Chesterfield has consistently provided us with the best experience in London. The staff's attitude and the overall level of service is beyond even what you might expect in a much more expensive property. This is not only the best value for your money but also is outright the top service hotel you can find. Also a great location. Go for the junior suites - charming and very spacious rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the hotel has left a lasting impression with you. I am delighted to work with such a dedicated and willing team and I am proud that they have warmly welcomed you to the hotel and ensured that you had a memorable stay with us.

I look forward to you joining us again at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.


Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,561
    415
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
602
1,352
182
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel....by far one of the best experiences we've had at a hotel. The staff was great, our room was beautiful, location was perfect and the service provided was above and beyond expectation. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the doorman Michael who was amazing. He was immediately ready to help us plan our four day visit by mapping sights out on a map for us. Next we experienced Englebert who was equally wonderful and never tired from our constant questions and genuinely wanted to help. I have to mention Abigail who greeted us every morning with a smile as we entered the restaurant for the breakfast buffet. She made us feel very welcomed as she asked us our plans for the day.
The hotel is close to many of the cities attractions but is located on a beautiful quiet street. Our room was decorated in proper English style and was very spacious. Such service and surroundings made it hard to leave, but will definitely stay there again when in London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Newbythrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair and that it was a wonderful experience for you. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel’s location to be so convenient for you and that you appreciated the high standard of decor in our rooms.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding the excellent service that you experienced throughout your stay, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team, especially to Michael, our welcoming doorman, to Englebert our helpful porter and to Abigail, our friendly breakfast hostess. I am delighted that we were able to make your stay with us so memorable.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Live in NYC where most hotels are top shelf. The Chesterfield Mayfair holds that standard. I do not like comparisons and this hotel is the best. Staff is so accommodating and helpful. Bed was THE most comfortable in my 64 years of life. The staff is so knowledgeable.
I will go back next year, yes it is that good. The staff always works the hardest to make sure any problem is addressed and fixed. Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone. I give special thanks and commendation to Hani, Edmund, Damien and in the delicious Butler restaurant William, and Biagio. You gentleman, all, are a credit to your company. Bravo!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meeker535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that The Chesterfield Mayfair has left such a lasting impression on you. My Executive Housekeeper will be delighted to hear that you found the beds to be extremely comfortable and that you had such a great night’s rest. We take great pride in our service here at the hotel and I am thrilled that you experienced our friendly and welcoming staff. I will be sure to personally thank Hani, Edmund, Damien, William and Biagio on your behalf.

I look forward to welcoming you to again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Chesterfield in mid-April 2014 and we'd recommend it. It's a pretty building (a series of joined-together town houses) on a very attractive and quiet side street in Mayfair (one block off Berkeley Square) and is well situated for walking to a lot of places one might want to go. The Tube also is nearby. Its public rooms are very attractive, including its pleasant bar, which stays open late and serves food (overpriced, but this is London). The dining room has a pre-theater fixed-price dinner that is a pretty good deal -- generous helping of food that is not gourmet but just fine. Very generous breakfast that can be buffet or served; your choice. Our room was small (again, this is London) but had all the amenities one could ask for and was very attractively furnished. The rooms appear to be different, not cookie-cutter. But the most attractive feature was the universally pleasant and helpful staff -- they really do a good job in that area. We will go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRMWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this terrific review of your recent experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to know that you found the hotel to be ideally located on a peaceful street within walking distance to Green Park tube station and all the major attractions in London. Butlers Restaurant serves delicious, traditional British cuisine and I am glad that you took advantage of our pre theatre dining menu before you headed out for the evening.

My Executive Housekeeper will be delighted to hear that you found the room to be well appointed and that you appreciated the room’s high standard of decor. Thank you for your kind words regarding the remarkable service you experienced throughout your stay, I will be sure you pass on your thanks to all my team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Simply excellent. The best London hotel we've stayed in. Staff welcoming and helpful, room lovely, the style of the hotel is quintessentially English and finished to a very high standard. Best cosmopolitans we've tasted in a long time, compliments to the waitor who made them!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 957NCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest
,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your brilliant experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a remarkable stay with us and that The Chesterfield has earned the title of your favourite hotel in London. I am thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy a drink in our Terrace Bar and I am sure your bar waiter will be delighted to hear that they were the best cosmopolitans you have tasted in quite some time. We pride ourselves on our excellent service here at The Chesterfield Mayfair and I am glad to see that you experienced this from our friendly and helpful staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our second visit in December and it was once again very good and enjoyable. Service was good and very clean and tidy. Parts are looking a little dated perhaps but so far this hasn't detracted from our stays. Breakfast appeared a lot more efficient than our stay the previous December and we didn't have any problems.

The hotel is perfectly situated for the main tourist and shopping areas and only a few minutes walk from Green Park tube station if you don't wish to walk to Oxford street.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing great feedback of your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you chose to return to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel and that your stay with us has left such a lasting impression on you. I am glad the hotel’s location was so convenient for you and that you were able to take advantage of the many shopping areas close to the hotel. We take great pride in our service and I am glad that our professional and friendly staff made you feel at home; I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of my team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was not only welcomed as a guest but also as part of the Chesterfield family!

A fresh birthday cupcake was left daily in my room ! And I was overwhelmed by the signed Birthday Card from the staff!

Last but not least while on my way to the airpor the hotel called the taxi driver to check whether I was dropped on time!

Amazing stay ! Thank you !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our boutique hotel and that you felt warmly welcomed by all of my team. We take great pride in our attention to detail here at The Chesterfield Mayfair and I am glad that our extra touches of a birthday cake and card added to your special occasion. I am thrilled that you felt well looked after by my wonderful staff during your stay and that they even made sure you arrived safely to the airport.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing