We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - Beyond our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nichols Hills, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful - Beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Being able to stay at the Chesterfield in Mayfair is an indulgence in luxury. While the rooms, elevator, and lobby are small, they utilize every square millimeter to perfection. Every detail has been thought out and designed with the guest in mind. Other than space and a proprietary view, I do not know how any hotel in London could be better.

The location is perfect and well, it is Mayfair. What else can one say? A great area to take a walk and enjoy life. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative review of your stay at The Chesterfield.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found
our hotel to be luxurious. We take great pride in our attention to detail here at the hotel and I am glad that you appreciated the small touches throughout. Our quaint Mayfair neighbourhood is beautiful to enjoy a stroll and I am glad that you took advantage of our fine surroundings.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,599
    420
    80
    28
    12
See reviews for
615
1,368
184
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Chesterfield and it was just as good as the first time.

It really is a fantastic Hotel.

Excellent location, close to Piccadilly, Mayfair, Green Park etc.

Everything is thought of and supplied in the Hotel - Bath Robes, Tea and Coffee making facilities, luxury bath products, iron in the room, super tasty strawberries left on the room on turndown, even needle and thread and stationery supplies.

Most of all the Staff are magnificent - perfect service !!

If you visit London, you must consider the Chesterfield
, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 426 - The Study
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulwiganttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you have returned to the Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel and that you had another fantastic stay with us and that our Mayfair location was ideal for you. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail here at the hotel; I am delighted that you found the room to be well appointed with bath robes, tea and coffee making facilities and have everything that you may need.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding the perfect service you received during your stay; I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of my team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I don't normally use superlatives but the Chesterfield earned the praise. The staff were exceptional in their friendliness and helpful service. We needed a restaurant on a Friday night and Tony, the concierge made two phone calls and got us a reservation at a very good Thai restaurant. Other nights we had already booked at nearby restaurants in Shepherds Market (one block away).
The location was just perfect for us as we like to visit Green Park (2 blocks away) and Berkeley Square (one block) as well as spend a lot of time shopping on Piccadilly. We had a breakfast package included with our room, again something we appreciated because we don't like wasting time wandering around for a morning meal. The Chesterfield's breakfast was perfect for our tastes ... fresh orange juice, very good coffee, 3 or 4 small, thin pancakes (very light), smoked salmon with a toasted bagel, eggs cooked exactly to my wife's order. Restaurant is beautiful. One thing I noticed .. of all the small light bulbs in the restaurant, not a single one was burned out. Indicates attention to detail.
Our room was small with only one good chair to sit in but we spent most of our time outside. I also had to adjust to the air conditioning ... it can be quite strong. Even so, my high metabolism caused me to sweat under the sheets/blanket combination until I figured out how to separate the two components.
The bathroom was ample in size. The shower put out water at an amazing rate .. great way to start the day.
One convenient touch that I haven't always found in London ... electrical outlets were for both UK and US plugs. No need for a converter when charging phones or using a hair dryer.

I visited the bar a couple of times; if you like Gin & Tonics as I do, make sure you specify with a lime as the bartender was inclined to use a lemon slice. The drink was great (but expensive) and the accompanying nuts and olives were a good snack to hold me until dinner. The bar was quiet enough to watch the World Cup in peace.
In summary, the Chesterfield compares favorably to other hotels in Mayfair and is at the top of my list for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this fantastic review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.
It gives me great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our location to be ideal with Green Park, Berkeley Square and Piccadilly all a short walk from the hotel. My Restaurant Manager will be delighted to know that you found the breakfast offering to be delicious and varied and that it set you up for a day of exploring London.

We take great pride in our attention to detail here at The Chesterfield and I am thrilled that you appreciated the small touches throughout the hotel, including all light bulbs in working order and our multi electrical outlets. I am glad to hear that you found our bathrooms to be well appointed and that you were impressed with our rain showers and how they helped to wake you up every morning.

I am pleased to learn that you found our staff to be friendly and obliging. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to them, especially to our concierge Tony who assisted you with restaurant reservations, we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication.

Thank you for recommending The Chesterfield Mayfair as a wonderful place to stay in London, I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a small charming, full service hotel, with excellent service and friendliness. Located on a quiet street not far from points of interest where you can walk or find transportation to.. The room was well appointed, but small, however, there are several lovely spaces to enjoy on the ground floor for tea, drinks, or just reading the paper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your terrific review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel and I am glad that you appreciated our excellent location and how the delights of London are easily accessed by foot. It gives me great pleasure to know that you found our traditionally decorated rooms to be well appointed. Our boutique hotel offers many quiet spaces, such as the library, where guests can sit and unwind and I am thrilled that you made took advantage spaces to relax and enjoy a cup of tea and read the paper.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Oliver Raggett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice location; near plenty of eating and drinking establishments in Shepherd's market. Concierge helpful; arranged barber shop appointment for me. Rooms small but well-done, clean and comfy.
Definitely worth a return visit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFWSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that our location was ideal for you with a great choice of restaurants and bars in the Mayfair area. I am thrilled that you found our rooms to be well appointed and immaculate and that you had a great night’s rest in the comfortable beds. Thank you for your kind words regarding the kind and helpful concierge staff that you experienced and I am thrilled that we will continue to welcome you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first trip to London and I have to say that this little jewel of a hotel was the highlight of our trip! From the time we arrived we were treated with the kind of TLC that other hotels only talk about and never deliver. The small but well-appointed rooms and restaurant and bar were all great, what really impressed me the most was their staff. They treat you so well, you feel like you're their most important VIP! I definitely recommend you try this property the next time you're in London .. you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thednadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you chose to stay with us for your first ever trip to London and that you had a fantastic stay with us. My Executive Housekeeper will be thrilled to hear that you found our rooms to be well appointed and that you appreciated the traditional decor. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service that you experienced throughout your stay and I am glad that you felt welcomed from the moment your arrived with us. I will be sure to share your review with all of my team here and thank them on your behalf.


As always, I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

perfect service, what you expect from staff in top hats. gorgeous, ingenious redo of small bathroom--making the most of space, teeny, tiny very clean room with too much furniture and a view of a brick wall. disappointing breakfast (there are lots of places around the corner since it is in the City), definitely has the feel of the old neighborhood.

Room Tip: if you have an opportunity to upgrade, it's probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair. My Executive Housekeeper will be happy to hear that you found the rooms to be immaculate; I have added to your notes that you prefer less furniture in your room for future stays with us. I appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast offering, as it is only through feedback that we can improve and we are currently working on developing our breakfast menu and buffet. I am thrilled to learn that you found the service to be perfect during your stay, we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,067 in London
3,671 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing