We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #12 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
224 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Loved this place. Great boutique hotel. Don't stay at a large chain hotel. The service is awesome. The staff is very very friendly, professional and willing to help. The location is wonderful and in walking distance to many great sights, including Buckingham Palace. Short walk to Green Park subway station (Underground) which is about 45 mins to/from Heathrow with all the stops, and short walks to Green Park and Hyde Park. Short cab or walking distance to good food, shopping and Central London attractions. Many of the tour buses stop a couple blocks away at the Green Park underground stop. Great English Buffet set up that you can enjoy in the garden room: fresh fruits, danishes, juices, eggs, breads, granola, cheese and meat, etc... Not a tea drinker but I'm sure they did that well. Rooms are very nice and clean (with tapestries on the wall for a nice touch) but small like most big cities. The concierge will get you tickets to most attractions to save time waiting in lines... Loved it..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home in our boutique hotel. Our Mayfair location is close to Green Park station, as well as many of the major London sights and I am glad that you took advantage of this central location.

My Executive Chef will be happy to hear that you appreciated the wide range of fresh and varied food available for breakfast, which surely set you up for your day exploring London. I am pleased to learn that you found your room to be immaculate and well appointed and that you appreciated the level of decor as well.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendly and helpful service that you experienced, especially our concierge team who were able to assist you with bookings.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,495
    404
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
585
1,309
180
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was traveling alone when I stayed at The Chesterfield hotel, before and after a cruise. It could be a home away from home. The staff is superb, the dining room and bar area are excellent, as was the bedroom. Mayfair is wonderful, you can walk through Green Park to Buckingham Palace and it seems you're close to everything. Comfy luxury is what you'll find at the Chesterfield. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdrake409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home in our boutique hotel. My Food and Beverage Manager will be happy to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the cosy atmosphere of Butlers Restaurant and our Terrace Bar. We take great pride in our service here at the hotel and I am delighted that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Chesterfield Mayfair. It is convenient to Green Park and Hyde Park, and a short walk to the Underground. It was a short subway ride to all the major attractions and easy to navigate; grab a day pass - you'll get your moneys worth. The Chesterfield staff was friendly and helpful. Although our arrival was well-before check-in, they managed to have our room ready in 90 minutes. Fabulous dinner at the Butler Restaurant - the Dover Sole is highly recommended. The room was clean and good-size considering the normal European hotel room. Perfect for a couple getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy44256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this great review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you and your husband had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the hotel’s location ideal with Green Park tube station a short walk away from the hotel. My Restaurant Manager will be delighted to hear that you had the chance to join us in Butlers Restaurant and that you found the food to be delicious, especially our famous Dover Sole. Thank you for your kind words regarding the polite and helpful staff that you experienced throughout your stay; I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of my team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I did not find any bad review of this hotel anywhere on the web. Nicely decorated in classical British club style, located on a quite street in a very center of Mayfair Close to: Hyde Park and Green Park, Oxford and Bond street shopping, Piccadilly, multiple tube stations and plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small choose King rooms they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you felt right at home in our cosy and boutique atmosphere. Thank you for highlighting the hotel’s ideal location; tucked away in a quiet corner in Mayfair, yet close to many of London’s main attractions.

We greatly anticipate your next visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a 2 nighter as we were primarily travelling via the Queen Mary 2. Met some friends and family straight off the ship and we all stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair for a few days. The morning diningroom was a bit chaotic but tea was lovely as was a late night snack at the bar. The room was plush and comfortable. Conveniently located for a walk about and most attractions close by via taxi. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skytroubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this great review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that your group enjoyed their two night stay with us and that you found the location to be ideal. My Restaurant Manager will be thrilled to learn that you found our afternoon tea to be delicious and that you also had the chance to enjoy bar snacks in our cosy bar. I am glad that you found our bedrooms to be well decorated and comfortable as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed recently at the Chesterfield Mayfair and had a fantastic time for our. Anniversary. The Superior Room was fantastic and the English breakfast could not have been better. We are looking forward to our stay this October.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to a superior room if you want some extra space and on the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you and your wife chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and that we were able to add to your special occasion. I am happy to hear that you took pleasure in the large range of fresh food on offer for breakfast and that it set you up for a busy day in London.

We greatly anticipate your visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in October and I am thrilled that you will be joining us again.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in every way: the room marvelous, the location unbeatable, the ambiance clubby but welcoming, the staff gracious. From the bell captain to waitperson in the restaurant to the footman hailing a cab -- my husband and I found everyone knowledgeable and very kind. What a find! I write this for future travelers but mostly so that a hotel so well run be rewarded for its efforts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am thrilled to learn that you found the hotel to be warm and cosy and that you enjoyed the traditional character and charm of our boutique hotel. It gives me great pleasure to know that you found the service throughout the hotel to be excellent, from the friendly doorman to the attentive restaurant staff; we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing