We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic afternoon tea experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #11 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon tea experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic afternoon tea experience. The reception welcome was the warmest we have received from front of house staff. Quality of food, attentive staff and excellent location all went towards a very enjoyable afternoon in great surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your afternoon tea at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted that you chose to join us at The Chesterfield Mayfair for our memorable, award winning afternoon tea. My Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef will be happy to hear your description of our delicious afternoon tea offering. Thank you for your compliments about the outstanding service you encountered and I will be sure to share your kind words with all my team.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,496
    404
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
585
1,309
180
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights before a British Isles Cruise. The location is a 5 minute walk from Green Park Station and it's a short walk to Hyde Park. The National Gallery, Buckingham Palace and many other sites are within a 30 minute walk from the hotel. The room was small but had all the emanities we need. We booked the breakfast and afternoon tea package and were delighted by both. We were also supposed to get a bottle of champagne that they forgot to deliver but gladly posted a credit to our final bill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ophir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to write this great review of your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you had a pleasant two night stay with us before you headed away on your cruise. Thank you for high lighting our central Mayfair location with Green Park a short walk from the hotel as well as many London’s main attractions. We take great pride in our attention to detail here at the hotel and I am thrilled that you found the room to be well appointed with our complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and stationery supplies. I am delighted to learn that you had the opportunity to join us in Butlers Restaurant for breakfast and afternoon tea and that you thoroughly enjoyed them.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in The Chesterfield Mayfair the last weekend in July, we were staying for 1 night. It was our anniversary and we were greeted in the room with 2 cards congratulating us on our anniversary, one from the general manager and the other from members of the team working in the hotel. I was nicely surprised to see that detail was remembered and thought of. Our room was lovely and the beds so comfortable, I wished we were staying longer! The bathrooms are a really nice size and they are generous with the bathroom toiletries provided, along with bath robes and very comfy slippers!
We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant that evening and the service was really excellent. We were made to feel so welcome and important. The food was really incredible, topped with the excellent service, I would go there time and time again! I have eaten in many restaurants in the Mayfair area and would question the service in some restaurants but in this hotel you are a person and a very important one at that!
For breakfast, there was a array of food to choose from along with the menu for a cooked breakfast, it catered to both our needs.
I must say the professionalism demonstrated in this hotel was excellent, clearly the staff are trained to a high standard and not once did I see this slip. Would I go back? Most definitely!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and that we were able to make your anniversary even more special with our added touches. My Executive Housekeeper will be thrilled to learn that you found the beds so luxurious and that you appreciated the attention to detail in your room, especially the toiletries and the comfortable slippers and bath robe.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you joined us for dinner in Butlers Restaurant and that you found the food to be delicious and the service to be outstanding. I am thrilled that you recognised the dedication and professionalism of the staff throughout the hotel; I will be sure to thank all of my team on your behalf for taking such good care of you.

I look forward to welcoming you once again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

When I was searching for a hotel for our six night stay in London, I was a little hesitant to choose the Chesterfield Mayfair, because it looked a little stodgy in some of the pictures. But numerous people had recommended it as a great option in Mayfair, so I decided to take a chance and, boy, am I glad I did! What a great stay! We were assigned a room that had been recently updated. It was really lovely, with modern bathroom fixtures, including a heated bathroom floor which was really nice to have, even in the summer. The bed was extremely comfortable and between that and the very effective air conditioning, we slept very well. The staff was very helpful and gave us great advice on the best way to see the sites during the busy summer season. Breakfast was included and excellent. And the location is fabulous. Within walking distance are lots of great cafes and restaurants, plus easy access to the tube. The Chesterfield Mayfair was not at all stodgy....it was modern, yet traditional. A gem of a hotel in London!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your time at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and our central location was perfect for all the landmarks of London. As a boutique hotel created from a row of 18th century townhouses, we ensure that each room has everything that you will need and I am glad to hear that you found the bed comfortable, the bathroom well laid out and that you appreciated the attention to detail with the heated bathroom floor.

My Restaurant Manager will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and that it set you up for the day. It gives me great pleasure to read that my staff made you feel welcome and provided for all of your needs during your time in London and I will be sharing your kind words with everyone here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at the Chesterfield for 5 days with our 10 year old grandson. Rented a Junior Suite. Service was excellent as was the value (one free day) in an area (Mayfair) where there is not much value to be found. Room was a bit tight especially by American standards. Continental breakfast was good not great. Overall experience, driven by the service, was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbanucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your heart felt review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you joined us for a long stay with your grandson and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Located in the heart of affluent Mayfair, I am delighted that you found the hotel’s location to be ideal during your stay. I am glad to see that you experienced the excellent service from my friendly and helpful team, I will be sure to pass on your word of thanks to all of my team here.

We greatly anticipate your next visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

A charming hotel with lovely staff and very welcome air con! An anniversary treat we stayed for one night and it's location was perfect. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The full breakfast was excellent. A good price as a late booking, deservedly popular. Only negative was bathroom was a little cramped.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oscartime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

I am delighted to see that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us at The Chesterfield Mayfair and that we were able to add to you special occasion with an anniversary treat. My Restaurant Manager will be glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you were impressed by the wide range of fresh food on offer. Thank you for highlighting the comfortable beds and I am thrilled to learn that you had a great night sleep with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I attended a wedding celebration at this lovely hotel and was very impressed with the overall experience.

Friendly attentive staff, wonderful setting and excellent food.

The level of professionalism shone through and would give me the confidence to book an event here.

I did not stay overnight but would be very happy to should I require a hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Cannot help here as I did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing great feedback of your recent visit to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you recently joined us for a wedding celebration and that your experience at The Chesterfield Mayfair has exceeded your expectations. My Executive Chef will be thrilled to learn that you found the food to be delicious and that it complimented the beautiful traditional setting. We take great pride in our service here at The Chesterfield and I am thrilled that you experienced our friendly and helpful staff; I will be sure to share your review with all of my team here.

I hope to welcome you again to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Oliver

Oliver Raggett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing