We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #13 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We have just had a very good three night stay in the Hotel, we were very happy with every aspect of the experience, from the initial contact and booking to the car parking and porter service.

Various people have praised the staff, I can only add to that praise, it is quite refreshing to visit a Hotel that have staff that really care.

The only minor grumble was that the shower in the room was fairly useless.

We will use the Hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank northwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,668 - 2,674 of 3,296 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2009

taking into account the rates, simply the best hotel in london. period! from the location, to the wonderful staff, to the rooms, the food, the ambience, the price, the englishness!!! why stay anywhere else in london.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so we were treated to complimentary drinks in the bar. Our room had everything we required even a little note saying we could request fresh milk from room service, we did this and within the time it took for the kettle to boil our fresh milk had arrived, a small but very welcome detail. We were celebrating our tenth wedding anniversary and decided to eat in the Butlers restaurant on the 30th, the a la carte menu was unavailable due to the fact that much preparation was required for the following night but that didn't detract from the tasty dishes we chose from the set menu. Time constraints meant that unfortunately we couldn't try their Afternoon Tea, voted bested Afternoon Tea two years running by the Tea Guild, this alone will make us return. Every single member of staff was pleasant and courteous and seemed proud of the fact they worked there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VetBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I stayed at The Chesterfield with my husband during the Summer and found it disapointing. Having reviewed their website I was very excited about our stay especially when they sent me a form to fill in prior to arrival listing all of our likes and dislikes - it really set the expectations high.

The hotel is beautiful, and farily exclusive, and all the staff are very polite and attentive but the wow factor that I was expecting just isn't there. We were in a suite which was beautiful, but after all the hype of the website and the guest preference form the fact that it was just an overgrown hotel room was a massive disapointment. The room had two ensuite bathrooms, a huge bed and the usual bathrobes and slippers but that was pretty much it. All of the gifts and modern technology that you were set up to expect just weren't there, I dont think they even had satellite television.

My husband and I dont eat fish as we stated on the guest preference form so were disapointed when the (small) tray of complimentary evening canapes was brought up and was both cold and 50% fish items. The list of drinks, films and music we liked that we were asked to give to them was a complete waste of time.

We had afternoon tea while we were there which was lovely, the 'chocolate lovers' tea was especially good though the room it is served in was cold and lacked atmosphere. Compared to other afternoon teas in Mayfair, such as at the Lanesborough, it really wasn't a grand affair.

Overall it was a pleasant hotel and we had a nice stay, but I would definitely choose the Grosvenor or somewhere a bit more flashy if I was looking to be wowed, especially at Mayfair prices.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We have stayed at this hotel on two occasions and have just booked to stay again. The location is fabulous - within a 10 minute stroll to Oxford Street but situated on a blissfully quiet street. The staff are charming and professional - you genuinely feel like a valued guest and nothing seems to be too much trouble. We were up graded to a superb ( recently refurbished ) room on our first stay - a large , beautifully decorated room, exceptionally quiet, clean and comfortable. On our second stay the standard room was smaller but still adequate, clean and quiet. We have only eaten breakfast in the restaurant( - the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were superb ) but look forward to the opportunity of eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BeanJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We are on a mid-winter trip to Europe with 5 nigts in London. I booked the Mayfair directly with the hotel - they had a very reasonable price for a 5 star hotel (just under 200 UKP / night). The hotel is 'old world bijoux' with al the usual amenities for a hotel of this caliber. The rooms are not large -- and just a bit cluttered -- but very comfortable indeed and well placed just 2 blocks from the Green Park underground station. Berkeley Sq. is a block away (you can go see the Bentlys there). All the public parts of the hotel are finished in dark wood and they give the appearance of quiet refinement. As an example of what to expect at the Chesterfield, I had a strange yearning for hot incemeat pie all day (having seen an ad for this somewhere in London),l and at the bar last night, over a Pimms cup, I asked if they could bring me a slice. After some scrambling around, they did indeed produce a slice of hot mincemeat pie.

Tom and Bob
Scottsdale AZ

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Booked this wonderful hotel for a weekend break in December - from the moment my wife & I arrived we were treated like royalty. I had booked the hotels "weekend package" which included a bottle of champagne and complimentary afternoon tea. To our surprise and utter delight we were upgraded to a suite. The standard of the room was exceptional and all that you could need was provided.

Dinner at Butlers was a quality experience and throughout our stay the staff were extremely helpful, courteous and professional. For a real "treat" would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

Luxury at its best!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pclarkBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,838 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £187 - £747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing