We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, Not What I expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #13 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK, Not What I expected.”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

I stayed at the Chesterfield on December 26th for two nights. Check in was no problem and the room size was what I expected. The bed was a king as requested and was one mattress, not two pushed together as in so many other hotels. The bathroom was tiny also. It was difficult to take a shower as the floor all over the bathroom got soaked.

The negative things I experienced were that on the first night after my transatlantic flight I woke up at 3 am and realized there was a radio on somewhere right outside my room. I thought this unusual as the room faced the back of the hotel and just looked over the roof of the restaurant and the conservatory. But it was loud enough to keep me awake. I phoned the reception desk and was told it would be checked out. Nothing happened. After about 20 minutes I looked more carefully outside the window to try to determine the location of this radio. There were lights on in what looked like was part of the hotel's kitchen and I saw the radio placed right next to a window. I phoned the front desk again a little more persistent this time and told the clerk that I thought the radio might be in the kitchen. Again he said he would check it out and a few minutes later it was turned off. Someone evidently was careless and left the radio on. Also the remote control for the television was not working and needed to be changed.

The room was clean and the staff were pleasant but it is not in the category that some on this site have said, especially by North American standards. It looks a little worn out, especially for Mayfair. For the price though it was decent, but do not expect a luxury hotel by any means. Ate in the restaurant the first night and the staff were very pleasant and tried their best but the food was mediocre at best. All in all decent, but not worth the hype.

  • Liked — The comfort of the bed and the linens.
  • Disliked — Problem with the radio left on and the indifference of the front desk clerk.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keeptravelin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,632
    425
    81
    27
    12
See reviews for
623
1,386
184
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, MA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed for 11 nights at the Chesterfield that included New Years Eve. We stayed for 11 nights because we got an amazing deal on a website that offered a number of free nights with our booking. The fact that we had paid less than the normal rate had no bearing whatsoever on the courtesies that we received from everybody at the hotel. The service was just brilliant. Clearly, management has instilled in the staff that they are in a service business and that the customer is their lifeblood. The staff responded superbly. There was not a hint of stuffiness, and they responded to all our requests with a smile and efficiency.

Our room was small, but very functional and had many luxuries, including free coffee and biscuits; free bottled water ( a rarity in the States) and extremely luxurious bathrobes and towels. The bathroom was small, but, again, very functional. We had dinner in the very stately dining room on two occasions. The hotel and its public spaces have a very "clubby" feel. They are mostly dark woods with an old world charm. The food is well prepared, but not spectacular. Again, though, the service is top notch. They simply could not do enough for you. And, the bar area and the bartenders are extremely engaging. After watching the fireworks over the Thames on New Years Eve, we came back to the hotel for a drink in the bar. It was packed, but the bartenders on duty made sure that they found a space for us and served us without undue delay.

The location of the hotel is fabulous. It is about a five minute walk to the Green Park tube station and a ten minute walk to Oxford Street. If walking is your thing it is about twenty minutes to Picadilly Circus and about the same to Trafalgar Square. It is actually only about thirty minute walk to Harrods.

All in all, the hotel lived up to everything that we could want in a hotel. And, for Mayfair, the prices are downright reasonable for the rooms as well as the restaurant. What a great place!

  • Liked — The location and fantastic service
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dudleywysong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We have just had a very good three night stay in the Hotel, we were very happy with every aspect of the experience, from the initial contact and booking to the car parking and porter service.

Various people have praised the staff, I can only add to that praise, it is quite refreshing to visit a Hotel that have staff that really care.

The only minor grumble was that the shower in the room was fairly useless.

We will use the Hotel again.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank northwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

taking into account the rates, simply the best hotel in london. period! from the location, to the wonderful staff, to the rooms, the food, the ambience, the price, the englishness!!! why stay anywhere else in london.

  • Liked — the most helpful staff in london!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so we were treated to complimentary drinks in the bar. Our room had everything we required even a little note saying we could request fresh milk from room service, we did this and within the time it took for the kettle to boil our fresh milk had arrived, a small but very welcome detail. We were celebrating our tenth wedding anniversary and decided to eat in the Butlers restaurant on the 30th, the a la carte menu was unavailable due to the fact that much preparation was required for the following night but that didn't detract from the tasty dishes we chose from the set menu. Time constraints meant that unfortunately we couldn't try their Afternoon Tea, voted bested Afternoon Tea two years running by the Tea Guild, this alone will make us return. Every single member of staff was pleasant and courteous and seemed proud of the fact they worked there.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VetBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I stayed at The Chesterfield with my husband during the Summer and found it disapointing. Having reviewed their website I was very excited about our stay especially when they sent me a form to fill in prior to arrival listing all of our likes and dislikes - it really set the expectations high.

The hotel is beautiful, and farily exclusive, and all the staff are very polite and attentive but the wow factor that I was expecting just isn't there. We were in a suite which was beautiful, but after all the hype of the website and the guest preference form the fact that it was just an overgrown hotel room was a massive disapointment. The room had two ensuite bathrooms, a huge bed and the usual bathrobes and slippers but that was pretty much it. All of the gifts and modern technology that you were set up to expect just weren't there, I dont think they even had satellite television.

My husband and I dont eat fish as we stated on the guest preference form so were disapointed when the (small) tray of complimentary evening canapes was brought up and was both cold and 50% fish items. The list of drinks, films and music we liked that we were asked to give to them was a complete waste of time.

We had afternoon tea while we were there which was lovely, the 'chocolate lovers' tea was especially good though the room it is served in was cold and lacked atmosphere. Compared to other afternoon teas in Mayfair, such as at the Lanesborough, it really wasn't a grand affair.

Overall it was a pleasant hotel and we had a nice stay, but I would definitely choose the Grosvenor or somewhere a bit more flashy if I was looking to be wowed, especially at Mayfair prices.

  • Liked — The size of the suite
  • Disliked — The lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We have stayed at this hotel on two occasions and have just booked to stay again. The location is fabulous - within a 10 minute stroll to Oxford Street but situated on a blissfully quiet street. The staff are charming and professional - you genuinely feel like a valued guest and nothing seems to be too much trouble. We were up graded to a superb ( recently refurbished ) room on our first stay - a large , beautifully decorated room, exceptionally quiet, clean and comfortable. On our second stay the standard room was smaller but still adequate, clean and quiet. We have only eaten breakfast in the restaurant( - the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were superb ) but look forward to the opportunity of eating in the restaurant.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — we could not find anything we did not like about it !!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,715 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,757 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing