We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a broad smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #11 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service with a broad smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Having stayed at this hotel for one night only I wasn't able to experiance the full quallity of the staff and accomodation. However, the service we received during our stay was the most pleasurable experiance of the year so far. You are greeted by a doorman with a very large smile and from then on it just got better. There is no parking at the hotel but they will take your car from the front door to an NCP car park, all you have to pay is the rip off NCP overnight charge. we arrived at 5.15 and were advised that parking is free on single yellow lines after 6.30 and it would be cheaper if they parked my car on a meter then moved it oposite the hotel at 6.30. This free service saved me over £32.00, thank you whoever moved my car

The room was spotless when we arrived and after rushing to get showered and changed for the theatre it looked like a bomb had hit it!!! Upon our return and night cap in the bar we were greeted with the room completely restored to pristine condition

If you are going to a show in the west end you can easily walk to theatre land, we didn't realise how close we were and took a cab. Because of the traffic it took 25 minutes to go about 1 mile, therefore we decided to walk back which took about the same length of time

If anyone reading this revue has booked to stay I AM VERY JEALOUS, enjoy yourselves x

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0ttenhamSpurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,498
    404
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
586
1,310
180
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

The kindness, helpfulness and courtesy of the staff is equalled by the first rate dining room and the hopitality of the Bar, having tried many London hotels we have at last found a place which of itself would be a good reason to visit London

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUNGARY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

My wife and I spend a long weekend in London every year. We have stayed at the Mayfair for the last 3 years. I would highly recommend the hotel...summary points below:

1. Great location, easy walking distance to shopping, theatres and restaurants. The green park tube station is 5min walk away also.
2. Website has summer weekend promotion...175 pounds inclusive for double room with breakfast and afternoon tea...a great in London for such a high quality hotel.
3. Reception and service in general is first class. They know how to take care of guests.
4. Breakfast is awesome...big selection and again, service outstanding.
5. Rooms, while small, are neat and have all basic amenities (ex minibar). The only downside to the room and hotel in general are the very small bathrooms.

Perfect stay every time. Highly recommended.

Phil

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MPHILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We booked this hotel using the weekend package deal, more expensive than we would normally have paid for a weekend trip to London, but the extra money was worth the extra treatment we received. We had a free bottle of Champagne and an afternoon cream tea also inlcuded in the price. The food and the service at this hotel was excellent, the best breakfast I have eaten anywhere. My only 'gripe' was the size of the bathroom, very small, including the width of the bath which meant that water from the shower went everywhere. Also drinks were on the expensive side, £9 for a vodka and diet coke which does seem a little excessive to me, but hey we were in Mayfair. Apart from those two things our weekend experience was fantastic and we will seriously consider other 'Red Carnation' hotels in the future. Thank you The Chesterfield.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

My wife booked us into the Chesterfield for a short stay to coincide with a theatre trip. This was her surprise gift to me to celebrate my 60th birthday. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and we felt very comfortable and at ease during our stay. The staff are very friendly, professional and attentive without crossing the invisible line and becoming intrusive. The food is wonderful and if you can eat a full English breakfast and manage to finish all your toast, you're a better man than me. A well stocked bar is an excellent dropping off place for a nightcap before bedtime. On reaching your room, you'll find your bed has been turned down for you. The Chesterfield is a real treat, we'll be going back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

My husband and I had a two-week European vacation. We also stayed at a sister property, the Montague on the Gardens in Bloomsbury. I enjoyed our stay much more at the Montague. We had a package that included a Superior King room, a bottle of Crystal and a full English breakfast at the Chesterfield.

The room was not as nice as the pictures on the website. We were told that it had just been remodeled, but it had a musty smell.

This was the smallest room we had during our entire vacation, and it didn’t help that they tried to put too much furniture in the room. There was a rolling chair that had to be shoved under the desk (that ran the whole length of the room and included a dresser and the mini bar) in order for you to walk in front of the bed. It had a turquoise and brown color scheme that was not to my tastes.

The English breakfast was wonderful. It was served in the hotel restaurant, and there was a list of entries that you were able to choose from. We had lunch one day at the Only Running Footman Pub that is down the street from the hotel. We enjoyed our meal there and the atmosphere.

The hotel was only a 15 minute walk to Buckingham Palace and about a 30 minute walk to Hyde Park.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TulsaTraveler0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

I stayed for a long weekend in June 2009 and had the most wonderful time. From the moment the taxi drew up outside the hotel I was looked after so well.
The suite was decorated beautifully, the service was 1st class and the staff always had a smile and a greeting.
As I had a lot to do over the weekend, the only meals I had were breakfast. The breakfast menu was excellent and the food was hot (warm food is one of my pet hates).
I stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair on my own but I can't wait to go back with my husband, he will love it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoDurhamTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing