We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #15 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed 28 July 2005

Booked two deluxe double rooms for the 23rd & 24th July. Both rooms were on the 3rd floor & were of the same design throughout - very masculine 'chav' type fabric wall covering with matching bedding. Bedrooms were OK size wise but bathrooms had over-bath showers & were very tiny. I used LondonTown (who were very helpful) when searching for luxury accomodation in London & was offered a 'special' price of £134 (excl. VAT) per night, per room - which was probably a fair price for this type of accomodation in Mayfair but I don't think they should charge more. Sadly this price did not include breakfast. If you do decide on this hotel & your booking does not include breakfast, I would suggest that you go down at about 7.30am & stay until they shut & make the most of your very lovely but expensive (£18.50) english breakfast. Bar is vastly overprised - 1 measure of Baileys cost over £6 !!! On the whole it was very nice, very clean but there are better hotels in London.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,096 - 3,102 of 3,427 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
East Islip, NY
13
Reviewed 25 July 2005

I was happy with my choice to stay here I made it. After traveling all around London to look at other hotels I considered, I was even happier. I would go back there again, and recommend it to anyone I know. I found out about it from reviews on this website. A thank you to all that psoted your reviews.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
13
Reviewed 18 July 2005

Nice hotel, excellent staff, A/C during the heat wave! Would stay there again anytime. Concierges were great.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2005

I had the good fortune to stay At the Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in February with my daughter. The rooms were a nice size and very well maintained. It was convenient to have a restaurant located in the hotel and the food and service were excellant. The staff were very accomodating, making dinner reservations, giving directions and booking tours, always in a very pleasant manner. The location in Mayfair was great, we were close to the tube when we chose not to walk. If I have the opportunity to return to London I would definetly stay there again.

6  Thank bette215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2005

We booked a theatre break over the internet and chose this hotel for its position,within walking distance of the theatre,close to the many sights of London,and not far from Victoria station;as we had flown down from Manchester and took the Gatwick express train.We stayed for two nights.
On arrival,we were immediately impressed with the attractive hotel lobby and the enthusiastic reception of the staff ,and discovered that we'd got a complimentary upgrade to one of their burberry king rooms, which whilst being fairly small was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed and pleasant marble bathroom with fluffy bathrobes/towels.
The hotel was on a very quiet corner of Mayfair but within a couple of streets you joined the hustle and bustle of the city;so you could return to your quiet oasis after a hectic day doing the tourist trail!
We only took breakfast in the hotel which was very good,lots of choice and lots of fresh fruit which we love;so we are unable to comment on any other meals,however the menu looked varied and reasonably priced.We like to experience the local restaurants and would recommend the small Italian bistro,around the corner from the hotel, just down from the Tesco express.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Chesterfield and would certainly stay here again,and recommend to family and friends.You always get the occassional niggle wherever you stay and really most aren't worth mentioning so we won't.Any break away is what you make it, so for the people who have made negative comments about this hotel, you must be very hard to please,I suggest you stay at home!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 822,018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2005

This beautiful and well maintained hotel has comfortable rooms, impeccable public areas, and even gives you a choice of complimentary red or green apples in large silver bowls in the lobby! There is also a decanter of sherry for guests use also in the lobby.

The hotel is situated on a quiet street in beautiful Mayfair. When you are in your room, there is no sense that you are in a bustling and crowded city. Our room was located facing a beautiful quiet Georgian courtyard.

Small restaurants are nearby in Shepherd's Market.
Weekend rates were found on internet sources linked to this site.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lizzydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2005

After much research we picked this hotel because of consistently high reviews from multiple sources--we were not disappointed. The rooms were a good size and very well appointed with beautiful marble bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The location is great--just a 5 minute walk from the Green Park tube, central to attractions and shopping, and there are 25 pubs and restaurants within a 2 minute walk. I would recommend a room away from the street, as street noise can be a problem, just as in most city hotels. It is well priced and an excellent value. It will be our first choice for a return stay.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelerTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,081 in London
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,541 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £177 - £659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing