We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best we have stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“The best we have stayed in.”
Reviewed 3 September 2005

My husband and I stayed in the Chesterfield Mayfair for the second time in August, nothing is too much bother, the suite was first class and it is within walking distance for the theatres, Buckingham Palace and lots of other tourist spots. The staff are friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant which was very good. We would not stay anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,597
    420
    80
    28
    12
See reviews for
614
1,368
183
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2005

The Chesterfield Mayfair is a gem of a hotel in a city of bad hotels. The rooms are tastefully furnished and the staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried (and try they will!).

It is London so the rooms are not big but they are spotlessly clean and the marble bathrooms are stunning. Breakfast is amazing but make sure that it is included in your room price as it is very pricey (£18.50) otherwise.

Being only a 15 minute walk from Picadilly Circus, the hotel is perfectly located for getting to the West End and very handy for shopping trips as well.

I found that by phoning the hotel direct I could get a better rate than any web site could offer and they threw in breakfast as well.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2005

My daughters and I stayed at the Chesterfield in late July for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. As others have noted, the location is wonderful and all the staff consistently courteous and helpful. We ate in the restaurant twice - it was certainly the best hotel food I've had in London, with excellent service. The girls' twin room was pleasant, if just a tad 'cosy' for 2 people, while my double room was extremely comfortable, spacious and well-appointed, with a large bathrooom; both rooms were cleaned meticulously and turned down each evening. We got an online rate of £117.75 plus VAT per room (not including breakfast) which I felt wasn't too expensive, given the superb location and great service. All in all it was a delightful stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndseyHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2005

We loved our stay at the chesterfield in late July 2005. Thoughtful concierge helped plan a theater trip , including dinner. rooms were decent sized and nicely equipped. Lovely breakfast with nice staff (included in our rate). good location a few blocks from tube and buses.the street itslef was quiet, but there were restaurants nearby in Shepherd market (many of them open sunday night, which we did not find in other nearby neighborhoods).
We would stay there again in a moment.

Helpful?
2 Thank tennisalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 August 2005

Fm shopping around, London Chesterfield Mayfair was best value, so we booked and held our breath. They exceeded expectations on everything (note - we knew going in that rooms would be relatively small and London food cost would be outrageous). Outstanding visit. Stayed for entire week with wife and a 21 and 18 year old. Two rooms. Can't emphasize enough how important location was. Could easily get to most anything. Staff was consistently courteous, helpful and responsive. July terrorist incidents became a distant memory. Will definitely stay here again upon return to London.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2005

We stayed at the chesterfield based on the reviews from this site. Its not the cheapest place to stay in, but is by far the best hotel i've stayed in. The room was superb,quiet,well furnished (Queen sized bed, desk, comfy chairs) and a nice size for London. Bathroom had good water pressure, and the hotel provides superb bathrobes. The location of the hotel is superb, with Picadilly Circus only a 15 minute walk away. But the main reason to stay is the service. I've stayed in good hotels before, but the service at the Chesterfield beats all. From the moment you walk in your treated as an individual, and not just a customer. The staff are gracious, extremely helpfull and always there to help you. The bellhops even remember your name! I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kysersoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLYMOUTH, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2005

Stayed at the Chesterfield Hotel during August, for 5 nights. The hotel was very clean and a good sized room. Great location, near to most shops and attractions. A very quiet location, could not hear anything during night time, which is great for being in london! Staff were pleasant too. The only thing i would change was the size of the bathroom - very small! However, it had everything you would need and a nice sized bath. The only other thing was that the pillows were feathers (just my personal preference that i don't like them) and that the TV played up a couple of times. However, this would not put me off staying at this great hotel, we will certainly go back to this hotel. Great hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMMAJANE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing