We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #13 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
Kansas City
15
Reviewed 24 October 2005

Just returned from London where we spent 6 nights at the Chesterfield Mayfair in London. This hotel in part of a group called Red Carnation Hotels. The room was beautiful. The service was incredible. The food outstanding. We have stayed in very nice hotels all over the world...but I have never experienced service like this. All of the staff treat you like you are the only guests in the hotel.

I would be very surprised to ever read a bad review of this hotel.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,940 - 2,946 of 3,288 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2005

Just returned from a great weekend at the Chesterfield Mayfair, it was our anniversary and I had high hopes for this hotel based upon the reviews on this site. I have to say that it met and exceeded all of my expectations. From the staff, to the rooms, the restaurant and bar everything was first class and contributed to a wonderful weekend all round. The staff were very friendly and no request was too much trouble. The hotel was in a great location and I wished I had not paid for my undergrounds tickets in advance as we were able to walk to just about everywhere we needed to go. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2005

The experience of staying at this hotel was perfect from start to finish. There were 8 of us on a weekend break. We were able to leave our luggage in the morning and some of us were even able to check into our rooms. On our return, after serious shopping, we relaxed in a very comfortable bar (the drinks were expensive but then all London hotels are the same). Our luggage was in our rooms, which had everything you needed. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were able to leave our luggage after check out and collect it just before the journey home - you were made to feel totally relaxed. The hotel was of the high standard you expect of a 4 star hotel and any request (however small) was accommodated. Excellent and well worth recommending. We will certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Birdie10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2005

We stayed for several nights at the Chesterfield Mayfair,which is located in a charming and convenient section of London. The staff was helpful but not intrusive, the beds were comfortable, bathrooms pristine and well-functioning. The luxuriously decorated rooms were a bit small, and might begin to feel cramped after an extended stay, or if one needed to spend a fair amount of time in the room, but this should not be an issue for the average tourist; it was not an issue for us. The public areas were also very upscale. Ask for special offers when making a reservation; there may be discounts or packages available.

6  Thank Ge0rgeandGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2005

We have just returned from our trip to London, and are very pleased to have chosen the Chesterfield. We arrived on foot with our bags and were immediatley greeted and our bags taken from us. The reception staff were excellent and the porters / concierge couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We had booked a standard double room @ £139 but the room allocated was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the air conditioning units etc. and it was on the small size so I asked reception if they had anything larger. We were shown two options - a king size and a mini suite - we chose the mini suite and negotiated a supplement of £45 which worked out to a very good rate - and they included breakfast as token gesture. This was all dealt with in a very professional manner. The bar has a 'gentlemans club' feel about it and there is a pianist in the evenings - again service from the bar staff is very good and prices reasonable considering it is a Mayfair location. There is a wide choice at breakfast although @ £18 this is marked up considerably. The overall experience was superb and we only wish our stay was longer.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ratman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2005

We stayed Aug 13-17 and had a wonderful experience. The hotel's location could not have been better, if you are a walker you can get most everywhere on foot. The out of the way places can be got to by tube nearby. The service was unusually warm and helpful, very genuine and friendly. After the shock of seeing our incredibly tiny room we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the bathroom. The air conditioned room came in handy and we got used to the size, we were hardly there anyway. Freshly stocked with plenty of towels daily and nice amenities. Beware, there is a wedding or party hall right next door to the hotel and the loud music can last until the wee hours. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, or on the side where the side street is, it might be quieter. We came to really love our end of the day nightcap ritual at the cozy bar in the lobby, more excellent service to be had here.

8  Thank Sildero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2005

I have just returned from an excellent two nights at The Chesterfield.
The hotel is located on a quiet street near Berekely Square. It took us 8 minutes to walk there from Green Park tube station.

My wife and I were thrilled with the hospitality and cordial atmosphere. The check-in was super quick and the concierge extremely friendly and helpful.

Our room was wonderful and the walls appeared to be covered in a soft duvet like material that we presumed enhanced the sound insulation. There was an abundance of toiletries and fresh towels along with his and hers luxury bathrobes.
During both nights we could not hear anyone else. It was though we were the only ones staying at the hotel! The room had internet connection. The bathroom had underfloor heating and the electronic A/C was surprisingly quiet.
The service at Breakfast was fast and faultless and never rushed , even on the weekend mornings the restaurant was calm with plenty of spaces for last minute arrivals. . The buffet breakfast was varied and fresh and the fry ups remarkably light.
All in all I wont be trekking through endless reviews for London hotels anymore. When in London, its got to be the Chesterfield.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank habib500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,835 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,076 in London
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £188 - £737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing