We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccible service as only the British can do it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
604 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Impeccible service as only the British can do it.”
Reviewed 15 November 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair for four nights in a junior suite. My son and his wife joined us for the first two nights when we dined at the hotel's Butler's restaurant. Every aspect of the hotel service was outstanding from the moment our taxi pulled up and the doorman helped us out, to the desk staff and through to every aspect of our stay. The neighborhood is quiet and charming. They serve a true English breakfast and dinner for my wife's birthday was quite special. The reputation for their Dover sole is well deserved. We have been to London many times and stayed in fine hotels but the Chesterfield is our new first choice for our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,564
    415
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
603
1,354
182
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed at the Chesterfield Hotel as part of a weekend theatre break package. We had booked a King Room and were upgraded to a Suite on arrival - what luxury. It was my birthday and I received a signed birthday card from all the staff - nice personal touch. Although the hotel was busy, it didn't feel like it - very calm. Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent with great service. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugalug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel and will recommend thehotel to friends, family and business partners. The Chesterfield Mayfair is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at in London. Although the rooms are small, the attention of the staff, the unique surroundings and the general perception of luxury and calmness made the stay really memorable. Every positive review you have read about The Chesterfield Mayfair is absolutely true. I always spend a lot of time to find the best hotel when I'm travelling, and after some hours of search I found this hotel. It absolutely lived up to my expectations and standards. Loved it! Book it!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boardergirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

This hotel is a hidden gem. The service is top notch and the Mayfair location is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath south wales.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2009

From the moment we arriived the staff were wonderfull. Knowing it was my birthday Chris would bow and kiss my hand whenever he saw me,"now i know what royalty feels like".Thanks to all the friendlly staff {who all signed a birthday card for me} Myself and all my friends had a fantastic weekend. Hotel location was within easy reach of many famous attractions but situated in a quiet area where traffic noise was minimal.We all had english breakfasts ordered and cooked to each individual taste.Each of the 3 rooms were luxuriously furnished.I will most definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

When we checked in, we were given an upgrade to a suite. This was awesome because we were travelling with our two daughters, so it made our stay much more comfortable than staying in two rooms. Our daughters were delighted with the Wi included in the room and with the nightly gifts that the hotel left on top of their beds. At night when we all went back to the hotel, our daughters would run to their room anxious to find which little surprise was waiting for them. The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. It is easy to find in every hotel one particular employee who has provided exemplary service. It is rare to find a hotel like the Chesterfield where every single employee provides exemplary service. They all made us feel welcome and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The location could not be better. Very near Hyde park, right next to amazing shopping and great restaurants. Overall, a wonderful experience. Would not think about going to another hotel in our next London trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2009

My wife and several family members and friends have stayed several times at the Chesterfield Mayfair over the past five years. It's not the cheapest hotel in London, but if you're looking for quintessentially British impeccable service, luxurously appointed rooms, great bar and restaurant, and a great location in Mayfair with easy walking to Shephard Market and Oxford Street be sure to stay at the at the Chesterrfield.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing