We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
HUNGARY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic as usual”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Annual weekend in London with my wife. Stayed at the Chesterfield again ... essentially it's always the same, nothing really changes .... a very positive experience.

Booked the special weekend package where breakfast and afternoon tea are included...for London, and especially Mayfair area, this really is a very good deal (especially with breakfast being so outstanding).

The only negative with the Chesterfield are the bathrooms...even for London they are small and with the shower, it's almost impossible not to soak the floor each time you use it! That said, the positives far outweigh this one negative.

Will continue to take my annual weekend London break at the Chesterfield!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPHILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,599
    420
    80
    28
    12
See reviews for
615
1,368
184
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Went with my hsband to celebrate our 5th anniversary. From the moment we checked in...and were given an upgraded room to a suite :)...... we were looked after and taken care of. The staff were friendly and seemed to genuinly care about us, the hotel was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, the room was amazing - it even had two bathrooms. The only thing I was a little disapointed with was the romantic turndown - just petals which stained the covers and footcream, not worth the £15. Didn't have breakfast but it was a super stay. Would definately go there again. We have stayed in many London hotels and this has been the best by a ong way so far.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We llke to stay iin the Mayfair section of London and have stayed at a number of hotels there. I think we will stick with the Chesterfield Mayfair now that we have found it. It has a lovely "old London" feel in atmosphere but the rooms are modern, very comfortable and very clean. From the moment we were greeted by the doorman and reception staff, until the time we left with a fond Cheerio, we felt at home. A number of the staff remembered our names from arrival on. As Americans, we are used to larger beds than most European hotels provide. Our choice of a superior king was perfect for us - in reality it is slightly larger than our definition of a queen bed - and very comfortable. The air-conditioning is excellent, necessary sometimes in the summer months and for the fact that the windows are unable to be opened. We purchased the Mayfair Weekend Package for 3 nights and thought it was an excellent choice for us as it included full Engllsh breakfast and an Afternoon Tea which we enjoyed. Also included was a bottle of champagne which we enjoyed sharing with friends in the bar - it even tasted really good. Certainly the star of the hotel is it's staff. We had dinner one night in the restaurant, Butler's, the food was excellent and price comparative to any nice restaurant in a large city. Green Park tube stop is a short walk, there are restaurants in the area, we recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Excelent hotel one of the best for service, location and quality. Highly recommend the afternoon tea too.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My stay was exceptional. I've been a frequent traveler to London over the past 20 years and have stayed extensively in the Mayfair area. The Chesterfield was by far my best experience and value. The area is great for walking and easy access to underground. Many execptional shopping and dining locations nearby.

This was my first time with The Chesterfield. It was FIRST CLASS. I had a business meeting at the hotel on my day of arrival and we did so while enjoying tea in the garden area next to Butlers restaurant.

Very professional and supportive staff. I was pleasantly surprised to see complimentary towels and water bottles in the lobby for joggers after my early morning run - an unexpected but very welcome touch of hospitality.

The Chesterfield will be my only choice of hotel for London in the future.

Too many people to thank - every aspect of my visit was WELL DONE!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My wife and i thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at the Chesterfield Mayfair during a visit to the UK in June. The location is a major plus - close to many attractions, in a quiet area, and close to Green Park tube station. We have stayed in a number of different hotels in recent years in different parts of London, but found this the best so far. The hotel is in the older but elegant style, with first class service at every turn. Staff were very attentive and helpful. The meals (breakfast and dinner we experienced) were excellent quality and service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This was an exceptional experience as we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. This is a most elegant hotel where one feels you have entered an atmosphere that ehibits the opulence, charm and warmth of a bygone era, the hotel exhibits a distinct feeling of being loved.
Management should be congratulated for creating a feeling of genuine friendship , this was evident from all who looked after us. Their attentiveness, responsiveness and willingness to make our stay a special experience was unique. Management have found the secrect ingredients for combining all of these atributes with consumate professionalism. I am not sure how they have done it but they should bottle it and sell it to some of the big brand establishments we stay at around the world.
Located near Berkley Square in the middle of Mayfair, within close walking distance to the Green Park Underground Station and all the tourist bus routes on Piccadilly. The hotel is within short walking distance to all the options of West End shopping, Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace and many more tourist destination, it is perfectly located.
My business activities are all within the city and access to these via Green Park Station means this hotel is perfect for both the business person and tourist alike.
The Chesterfield is also approximately 100 metres from the quirky restraurant and pub precint at Shepherd Market in Curzon Street providing a wide variety of cuisine options.

The best compliment we can provide is that we cancelled a week we were intending to spend travelling to other parts of the country, in favour of coming back for an extra week at The Chesterfield.

Our tips for making your stay as good as ours, one,be prepared for and open to the friendliness of the staff, have a chat with the concierge team, they have some great advice and love a laugh. Two, remember hotel staff like most of us respond positively to a smile.

Will we continue to come back to the Chesterfield, of course we will, it's our London home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,067 in London
3,671 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing