We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Hotel, full of English Charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #13 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fabulous Hotel, full of English Charm!”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our family of four, including two teenage children ages 14, 16, recently returned from our trip to England. We were fortunate to book an amazing hotel through Priceline called the Chesterfield. Not really knowing what to expect when we arrived I was really pleased to see that this hotel lived up to my expectations! We were greeted by name at our arrival and the staff went our of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We booked two double rooms with two single beds in each room. If you have heard horror stories about the small rooms in England don't be concerned with the Chesterfield, there is ample room to store your clothes and suitcases, I heavily overpacked for our two week trip and had plenty of room to hang my clothes and put away all my things. The rooms are decorated in true english style and they are lovely and clean! I'm extremely picky when it comes to hotel rooms so please take my word that this hotel is imaculate! The hotel is located very close to shopping and transportation, the district of Mayfair is upscale and a great place to walk around. The bar in the hotel is quaint, well appointed and a comfortable place to sit and relax after a hectic day of sightseeing. Would I recommend this hotel to my friends? Absolutely, in fact we plan to visit again next summer. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseFCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,652
    429
    81
    27
    12
See reviews for
626
1,403
184
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

A very warm welcome, excellent customer relations, beautifully decorated hotel, rooms were stunning, and extremely clean, a very enjoyable stay, we had breakfast served to us beautifully and tasted excellent! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbonne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Everything perfect: the room, the room cleaning, the room service, the reception, the atmosphere at the bar... I'll be back! (and not only for the excellent afternoon tea)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_journo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Only stayed for one night but it was fabulous. The service from everyone was exceptional. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed really comfy. We had dinner in the restaurant (the room is magical). Small but exquisite menu and again the staff were smiling and helpful. We ended with cocktails in the bar whilst listening to a live pianist. Breakfast in bed was prompt and hot. Could not fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickBiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We went to the Chesterfield Mayfair to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. A special weekend that was made more special by the hotel. Our trepidation at going to a luxury hotel in Mayfair was allayed within minutes of our arrival by the reception we received from the staff. Where else could you find a luxury hotel that makes you feel so at ease that you felt you were among friends who all had the same aim of you enjoying the stay. All the staff seemed to be enjoying working at the hotel and proud to be there. The afternoon tea was excellent and scones were to die for !.We were even offered the recipe they were so sure we would enjoy them. The Terrace bar is an oasis of calm that we used often for a quiet snack and a drink. Our celebration meal was everything we hoped for with champagne , supplied by the hotel, and the quality of the food was excellent. So much so that I doubt we will find its equal until we go back to the hotel. And the final action of the staff to bring out the decorated plate and small cake with a candle was typical of the friendliness of the staff and their determination to ensure you enjoyed your stay. Our room was excellent even though the bed was so big we had trouble finding each other!!
This review may seem over the top but it really reflects our feelings about the hotel. A BIG BIG thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This was our second stay in The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel, and with no doubt not the last. The pleasure starts in the moment you turn the street corner. After that, all you have to do is relax. The atmosphere in the hotel is perfect for a quiet space of time with one you prefer to join a good time with. All the staff is genuine persons who want to give you that feeling, and they succeeded. Last, but also nice, is the location. It is a short walk to “City of London”.
Thank you for a splendid stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hops57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Before staying in The Chesterfield, like most people, we researched reviews from past customers. We liked what we saw and booked for 3 nights. From the moment my wife and I walked up to the front door, we were greeted by staff and helped with our things. It didnt changed for the next 3 nights.The hotel is a mix of old school English charm, with modern touches included. All the staff were helpful, the breakfast was sensational and in a fantastic part of town. We meet the General Manager of the hotel in the bar, and he chatted to us like we were long lost friends. It wasnt necessary, but a wonderful touch. Will be back to stay again next time we are in London. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoolnoughKnowsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,069 in London
3,777 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,784 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing