We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations Exceeded 1-2 September 2007”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expectations Exceeded 1-2 September 2007”
Reviewed 9 September 2007

To be spoilt was our quest when we went to stay in London for a weekend of sightseeing, and we were not disappointed in anyway. In fact our expectations were exceeded, from Ben and Darih in Reservations who made the process so straight forward and were so nice, Chris our concierge, who was charming and extremely knowledgeable, sharing the old joke that you can even get an elephant from Harrods, and he would try if I really wanted one, to Armand who searched high and low for a cocktail recipe for my friend even ringing the establishment where she had last drank it. The receptionist was also lovely, unfortunately I did not get her name, but she remembered ours when we returned from our sightseeing and were so tired. So many hotels talk the talk but very few walk the walk, The Chesterfield walks to walk. Thank you to all at The Chesterfield for making our stay so special, from being able to request feather pillows and duvets to lovely club sandwiches from room service. It was like staying in a lovely country home with old friends as hosts. Will definitely stay there again.

Adrienne

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golightly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,594
    420
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
612
1,367
183
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We chose this hotel, for a two night stay, based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were very pleased we did.
The location is central in itself but is less than 10 mins from the Underground, with major tourist sites then only minutes away.
The hotel was very welcoming and the room, was good with plenty of space for clothes and luggage although a large desk and TV cabinet meant space for easy chairs was restricted.
The en-suite was nice but the design meant water was too easily distributed in the rest of the bathroom, when using the shower. The criticisms however, are very minor compared to the experience as a whole.
We ate in the hotel's restaurant the first evening. This was expensive but very good and came with a complimentary glass of champagne after we had been asked on arrival, at the hotel, if we were celebrating anything and we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We ate early before going to a show and although the staff were excellent and aware of our tight schedule, they took so long to serve the food that we almost missed our show, despite the fact we were their only customers! On any other night though, the experience would have been appreciated!
The room came with a complimentary english breakfast at the weekend, very expensive otherwise, although you could eat plenty and it was of good quality. A complimentary newspaper was also provided each morning, which was appreciated!
Overall the the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is quiet and in a good location, a recommended stay!

  • Liked — The staff, the room, the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themorrisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorCal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Wife and I stayed here 8/20/07 - 8/25/07. Very centrally located. Closest tube station is Green Park which is less than 5 minute walk. Tube was our primary mode of transportation - would have liked it to be closer, but it's not bad. Green Park is on multiple lines so it's convenient. There's a Sainsbury market along the way which allowed us to pick up food/ supplies. Service was very friendly and appeared to be very responsive even though we didn't take much advantage of it. Initially received a room towards front of hotel but there was noise from construction in nearby buildings. Got moved to a quieter room which was towards back of hotel. Having been used to American/ Asian standards, my biggest complaint is that the room is on the small side as is the bathroom, but kept clean. Did not get a chance to try the on-site restaurant nor did we take advantage of any on-site amenities. (Not really sure what amenities there were.) Room could have used a mini-fridge. For the price, it should also include internet access.

  • Liked — Central location.
  • Disliked — Room size.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SJ_tramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

My wife and I just returned from a 7 night stay in London. We chose the Chesterfield based on online searches and the clincher was the high rating on Tripadvisor. We were NOT disappointed!!!

The hotel is located just off Berkeley Square in the Mayfair district. This is one of the best features of the hotel since if you like walking, you can get to almost all the major attractions on foot. There is also a tube station (Green Park) just a short walk away.

The hotel staff are extremely eager to please. We booked a promotion which included full english breakfasts every day as well as a complimentary bottle of champagne and one classic engish tea.

The breakfasts were excellent as was the service. The tea was fun too although they serve so much food you can't possibly finish!

The rooms are exactly as they appear on the website as are the common areas of the hotel. Unlike other hotels, their website is not edited to look better than the real thing.

Our room on the 7th floor was not huge, but was very comfortable(see the picture below). The small feature such as the turn down service and bottle waters, etc. show a level of service that matches the price of the room. The hotel is not cheap, but was well worth the price charged.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family and would definitely return.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Montreal_Foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

This is a "boutique" type hotel that my husband and I booked quite randomly. It was an unexpected delightful surprise. If you like everything about beautiful hotels except their assembly-line size than this place is for you. It's just the right size for more personal service and the location is unbelieveable. It's a nice walk through Green Park to Buckingham Palace and Mayfair is the Beverly Hills of London. Full English breakfast was included in our room rate and it was excellent. There are high end shops on Bond Street (a couple of blocks away) and cute small cafes all around. Bus and tube stops are a few blocks away. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mayflower57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary for a romantic weekend away. I had completed one of the preference forms before going and told them it was our anniversary as it asks you on the form. As soon as we checked in we were wished a "Happy Anniversary" and were told that we had been given a free upgrade to The Music Suite. The room was small but fantastic with a huge four poster bed and the most amazaing bathroom I've ever seen. The bath was a stand alone one that could have fitted 4 people in it!
Because we were in a suite we got canapes delivered to our room early evening and chocolates left on the bed at night which was a lovely touch.
The staff couldnt do enough for you and took an interest in you. Breakfast was fab. There is nothing bad I can write because the hotel was ace!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

My teenage daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights in July. This is an excellent hotel in a classy, lovely residential neighborhood (Mayfair), convenient to everything. The rooms are generous and the bathrooms are beautifully appointed and spotless. The hotel staff are just fantastic - very helpful and pleasant in every respect. I was very wary of London hotels, having read many with bad reviews on hotels.com. I chose this hotel because it had uniformly good reviews on tripadvisor.com. I booked my stay on hotels.com and got an excellent price (for London!), including a "full English breakfast" every day (in the room or in the restaurant). Overall this was an exceptionally good value in every way. Next time I go to London, I am staying here - no need to look any further!

  • Liked — Location, hotel staff, rooms, bathrooms
  • Disliked — internet on TV was cumbersome and they ran out of Internet cards for other computers - minor problem in my mind as this was not a business trip.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank clc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing