We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Mayfair Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #483 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night here for a show. Fantastic location, superb room & courteous staff. Just across street from Shepherds Market & great "street corner" pubs, restaurants. Best of all considering you are in Mayfair, very reasonably priced. Area doesnt feel " touristy" so you dont get ripped off!! Def be going back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daverawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    375
    194
    79
    77
See reviews for
117
342
51
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I chose this hotel because of its location. Stayed for one night and was out during the evening. The room and bed was comfortable. The entrance door was slightly damaged as if someone had tried to break in!! I had checked, upon arrival, that breakfast was included in my room rate and that I could have it served in my room. Yes was the answer. I duly ordered breakfast in my room which was very enjoyable. However, on checking out I was asked to pay an additional £5 for this service. This was not made clear to me when I asked the question so, although not a great sum of money, was very annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annej18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Location is prime / in central Mayfair so is handy for central offices and all major attractions. The hotel is under renovation and the new rooms are very nice. The lobby and bar/restaurant are a bit tired so could also do with an upgrade. Breakfast is what you would expect in London and all staff were willing to assist. In all I was satisfied given the prime location, quality bed and decent rate

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djenk_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I seem to be on a bad run with hotels at the moment as this is the second way below average hotel this week.

For £250 a night you should expect more than just a good location.

However the hotel is very tired with scuffs, scrapes and broken fittings in both the common areas and the bedrooms. The key system is seriously antiquated and it seems to be totally hit and miss when the door opens.

I also had a non-smoking room that someone had clearly been smoking heavily in the night before. When I complained I got a perfunctory apology and a housekeeper came and sprayed a bit of air freshener around. Unfortunately it wasn't possible to move rooms so I just had to put up with the smell.

Breakfast was the usual buffet but service was poor with only one small, weak cup of coffee offered.

Overall not recommended - there are plenty of other good hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

When we stayed here the service at check in was slow but after checking in the service sped up. The concierge was helpful in finding a doctor and he was very friendly and helpful towards the disabled. I went back to retrieve an item one time and the woman cleaning the room made sure that it was our room by having me swipe the key card. The eating area is rather small but we found that they still had a lot of breakfast foods very close to the noon meal take over. Clean seemed to be the motto and it is a very short walk through Green Park to Buckingham Palace.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good location but that's about it. Doorman and reception staff didn't bother as we arrived. They just kept staring at us even though they were not attending anyone else. Stayed in a suite but expected at least an ironing board and an iron. When we asked for one we got one that was burnt and not in a good state. The mattress wasn't great either so didn't have a good sleep. Decor wasn't impressive but was generally clean. Bathrooms need desperate renovating. Room service menu and quality of food not great either. Overall not impressed!

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I like this hotel because is clean , modern furniture , perfect place and friendly staff plus price is reasonable . I had stays few times and I always liked the place. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who travels to London

Elham

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#556 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#350 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#384 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#207 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing