We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly reasonable; but nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #475 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly reasonable; but nothing more”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Washington Mayfair is just fine. No more. No less.

The rooms are a reasonable size for London, and appointed to a reasonable standard. But the wifi was pretty much non-existent in my first floor room, and the TV was attached to a wall with no movable hinge and so could only be viewed by rearranging the furniture or perching right on the edge of the bed.

Breakfast was similarly average. Nothing wrong with it, perfectly ok. But nothing to write home about either.

There are two things above average about this place: the location; and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike1066188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    401
    216
    85
    80
See reviews for
130
380
53
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have worked in London for a long time and have probably passed this hotel hundreds on times. I have never really paid it much thought until last week and I wasnt disappointed!

Service was excellent! The room I got was superb. The Concierge was incredibly helpful and really helped me out.

I have read a couple of other reviews where there is comments on it being pricy? This is in the centre of Mayfair and for that I thought it was actually pretty reasonable. If you want to be 10 minutes by tube or can there is obviously cheaper but then you have that travel cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

When we booked the hotel on expedia.co.uk the rooms looked modern, clean and comfortable. However upon check-in we could tell that the hotel was old and had not been refurbished in a long while. As we made our way to our room, we noticed that the carpeting in the hallways hadn't been cleaned a while and the walls were in some places chipped or had stains on them. When we finally walked into our room, we were greeted by the musky scent of days old cologne lingering either from the previous guest or perhaps a hotel staff. Closer inspection showed that the furniture had dust which had clearly been accumulating for a couple of weeks at least and the bed linen and towels looked dull and tattered. The bathrobes were so old and worn that they were literally falling apart.
My husband and I were so appalled with the state of the hotel that we stayed all of 20 minutes before promptly checking out to seek accommodation elsewhere despite the fact that we had already prepaid for a two-night stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SShenkute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Rotterdam
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a night in June, on a business trip. Location is good, couple of minutes from Green Park station. Received an upgrade to master suite upon arrival, always a pleasure.
Attended a black tie dinner, but was struggling with bow tie. Neeva from front desk was a life saver, and very helpful....
Like the location and boutique atmosphere. Breakfast in morning was included, decent selection of healthy stuff and usual English eggs and sausages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elevation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights early July. Check in was a little complicated as the reservation was to include breakfast per my travel agent but staff insisted it was not (agent will be following up), then the door lock system literally fell out of the wall as I attempted to access the room. The manager on duty came right back up & re-inserted it and we had no further issues accessing room. One of the 2 guest elevators is out of order for "upgrades" per the noticed dated from April hanging next to it.

Room was clean and water pressure fantastic in the shower. Bedding is just as wide as the single beds in the room - literally no over-hang so every time either of us rolled at all we lost our blanket - they should consider purchasing wider comforters/duvets.

Location was perfect for touring - we were able to walk with ease to all of the locations we visited. Gentleman at concierge was wonderful: recommended great pub for watching football games, breakfast nearby, provided maps of the city, and arranged for transportation back to airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakohls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

London is an expensive city but I don't think the price is justified for this hotel. It is in a good location, but other than that, nothing special. The room was clean and comfortable. It was down a maze of hallways from the elevator, however. If your breakfast is not included, eat out. There are places just outside the door much cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Out of date hotel, kind of stuck in the nighties. First impression was a reception staff answering the telephone as she checked me inn. Dealing with a angry customer on the phone as she neglected me was kind of a bad start. In the room the Pringles box in the mini bar was half eaten. Morning after in the shower I discovered that the soap was well used.
Breakfast restaurant dirty cloth, and really poor display of food. Half baked bread, no tomato or greens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaardS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#588 of 1,069 in London
2,259 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,069 in London
2,185 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#382 of 1,069 in London
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#158 of 1,069 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing