We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #487 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights business visit.

Perfectly good hotel for such purpose. Central, good access to transport/underground. Decent breakfast & adequate, though fairly small, room.

I'd certainly use again if in need of a Central London business / short stay.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank chooseANewScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Simply put, this is very good indeed. Great location in Mayfair, away from the less appealing area of Green Park. The reception is excellent, check in quick, simple and efficient. (Though not helped by self-important businessmen who think that everyone will wait for them while they send their important emails, though that is hardly down to the hotel.) Delightful room, not huge, but not minute either; everything works simply, easily and properly. Big, freshly laundered fluffy bathrobes. Wifi was fine on the first floor, by the way. Mike was just unlucky I think - see his review. Bathroom was lovely, easy to use shower, all immaculate. Good breakfast, good service in the dining area as elsewhere. I will happily use this as a regular London base. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Washington Mayfair is just fine. No more. No less.

The rooms are a reasonable size for London, and appointed to a reasonable standard. But the wifi was pretty much non-existent in my first floor room, and the TV was attached to a wall with no movable hinge and so could only be viewed by rearranging the furniture or perching right on the edge of the bed.

Breakfast was similarly average. Nothing wrong with it, perfectly ok. But nothing to write home about either.

There are two things above average about this place: the location; and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike1066188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have worked in London for a long time and have probably passed this hotel hundreds on times. I have never really paid it much thought until last week and I wasnt disappointed!

Service was excellent! The room I got was superb. The Concierge was incredibly helpful and really helped me out.

I have read a couple of other reviews where there is comments on it being pricy? This is in the centre of Mayfair and for that I thought it was actually pretty reasonable. If you want to be 10 minutes by tube or can there is obviously cheaper but then you have that travel cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

When we booked the hotel on expedia.co.uk the rooms looked modern, clean and comfortable. However upon check-in we could tell that the hotel was old and had not been refurbished in a long while. As we made our way to our room, we noticed that the carpeting in the hallways hadn't been cleaned a while and the walls were in some places chipped or had stains on them. When we finally walked into our room, we were greeted by the musky scent of days old cologne lingering either from the previous guest or perhaps a hotel staff. Closer inspection showed that the furniture had dust which had clearly been accumulating for a couple of weeks at least and the bed linen and towels looked dull and tattered. The bathrobes were so old and worn that they were literally falling apart.
My husband and I were so appalled with the state of the hotel that we stayed all of 20 minutes before promptly checking out to seek accommodation elsewhere despite the fact that we had already prepaid for a two-night stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank SShenkute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a night in June, on a business trip. Location is good, couple of minutes from Green Park station. Received an upgrade to master suite upon arrival, always a pleasure.
Attended a black tie dinner, but was struggling with bow tie. Neeva from front desk was a life saver, and very helpful....
Like the location and boutique atmosphere. Breakfast in morning was included, decent selection of healthy stuff and usual English eggs and sausages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elevation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights early July. Check in was a little complicated as the reservation was to include breakfast per my travel agent but staff insisted it was not (agent will be following up), then the door lock system literally fell out of the wall as I attempted to access the room. The manager on duty came right back up & re-inserted it and we had no further issues accessing room. One of the 2 guest elevators is out of order for "upgrades" per the noticed dated from April hanging next to it.

Room was clean and water pressure fantastic in the shower. Bedding is just as wide as the single beds in the room - literally no over-hang so every time either of us rolled at all we lost our blanket - they should consider purchasing wider comforters/duvets.

Location was perfect for touring - we were able to walk with ease to all of the locations we visited. Gentleman at concierge was wonderful: recommended great pub for watching football games, breakfast nearby, provided maps of the city, and arranged for transportation back to airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakohls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#625 of 1,076 in London
2,337 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,076 in London
2,248 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#388 of 1,076 in London
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#132 of 1,076 in London
1,816 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#313 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £162 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing