We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #479 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here three nights for business. The hotel's best amenity is its central location. The rooms are somewhat outdated. Breakfast was fine. Two things that bothered me were both wifi-related First, the wi-fi was down or spotty the first two days I stayed there, so I had to use the ethernet cable. Second, internet access was supposed to be included, but I was charged for internet access. I was told by the front desk this was because I used the ethernet cable (apparently just the wi-fi is free), which I used because the wi-fi was down. I finally got the staff member to waive the internet charges, but only after I was annoyed. This guy seemed to be an outlier though. The rest of the staff members were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    374
    194
    79
    77
See reviews for
117
342
51
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent location for getting around the city. Bit grim from the outside but was quite surprised and impressed when we walked in. Clean, modern - didnt know what to expect from some of the reviews. Room on 1st floor - nice first impressions - clean, modern, air conditioning. Then the niggles began - very noisy - the double glazed windows are less than useless at keeping sound out. Tesco express across the road, so very busy, constant noise and a beggar sat outside all day/evening. Fan not working in bathroom so it smelt very musty; grab handle over bath loose, too small, stainless steel so slippy; anti slip pattern around bath plug hole area worn and less than useless - nearly slipped a couple of times; tiled floor - again quite slippy. No iron - had to ask for one and got a cheap argo iron & board which made the job 10 times harder than it shouldve been; had to slam room door for lock to engage - everyone doing that so noisy. Breakfast - luke warm despite being in covered food warmers, scrambled eggs looked very unappetising. Mushrooms tasted sour, off even (label next morning said with lemon - who puts lemon with mushrooms). Day 1 were shown to table and then just left. Staff milling about but not looking after guests - disorganised. Had to commondere a lady with coffee pot to order tea & toast - had already decided by then after too long a wait to just help ourselves. Was slightly better service next morning. Food still luke warm. Glasses in room dirty & not replaced day after, same with milk. Kettle lead not long enough so had to put it on the floor. No welcome folder - everything's on the tv which is a right faff. TV you cant see what programmes coming next. No pricess for mini bar. Bed not made properly 2nd day, pillows uncomfortable. Had to have all 5 walls lights on or none. Bedside lamp not working. Bedside light switchs not working. Wouldnt stay again - too noisy, didnt sleep well because of it, no attention to detail, rooms obviously not being checked by staff, over priced - breakfast extortionate - cheaper cafes nearby

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Padheruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've visited for a business meeting in the foyer, and found it to be a quiet place for a discrete meeting. Fantastic facilities, helpful staff and great choice of drinks available to serve to business partners!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutandAbout2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peoples republic of caledonia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights business visit.

Perfectly good hotel for such purpose. Central, good access to transport/underground. Decent breakfast & adequate, though fairly small, room.

I'd certainly use again if in need of a Central London business / short stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chooseANewScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Simply put, this is very good indeed. Great location in Mayfair, away from the less appealing area of Green Park. The reception is excellent, check in quick, simple and efficient. (Though not helped by self-important businessmen who think that everyone will wait for them while they send their important emails, though that is hardly down to the hotel.) Delightful room, not huge, but not minute either; everything works simply, easily and properly. Big, freshly laundered fluffy bathrobes. Wifi was fine on the first floor, by the way. Mike was just unlucky I think - see his review. Bathroom was lovely, easy to use shower, all immaculate. Good breakfast, good service in the dining area as elsewhere. I will happily use this as a regular London base. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Washington Mayfair is just fine. No more. No less.

The rooms are a reasonable size for London, and appointed to a reasonable standard. But the wifi was pretty much non-existent in my first floor room, and the TV was attached to a wall with no movable hinge and so could only be viewed by rearranging the furniture or perching right on the edge of the bed.

Breakfast was similarly average. Nothing wrong with it, perfectly ok. But nothing to write home about either.

There are two things above average about this place: the location; and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike1066188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have worked in London for a long time and have probably passed this hotel hundreds on times. I have never really paid it much thought until last week and I wasnt disappointed!

Service was excellent! The room I got was superb. The Concierge was incredibly helpful and really helped me out.

I have read a couple of other reviews where there is comments on it being pricy? This is in the centre of Mayfair and for that I thought it was actually pretty reasonable. If you want to be 10 minutes by tube or can there is obviously cheaper but then you have that travel cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#558 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#360 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#386 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#171 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#203 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing