We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington Might Have Stayed Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #503 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Washington Mayfair is situated in an upscale area of London on a relatively quiet street. It is situated three minutes from the Green Park and underground. On the way to or from the underground station stop at Pret A Manger for a light breakfast, lunch or snack. The hotel is also three minutes from Berkley Square and another five to six minutes from Oxford Street. It is within walking distance to Buckingham Palace, St.James Park and other tourist destinations. Pubs and restaurants are close by at Shepard's Market about five minutes away.

At the hotel there is a doorman who might greet you. Being an American I am always accustomed to congeniality. However, the desk clerk will bid you welcome and assist you with any requests such as storing your luggage if your room isn't ready. (They did not let me check in until the appointed time.) My room was a classic double that was well appointed - clean, neat and spacious - much larger than rooms in New York. There was a balcony which I did not use as the hotel was conducting renovations on the seventh floor. The bathroom was spotless with lit cubicles for towels and toiletries which were replenished daily. I loved the towel warmer and the low flat sink which were great for washing clothes and drying them. The shower pressure and temperature were perfect. If there was a negative I would have to say that the bed was too firm for my taste but at the end of a busy sightseeing/shopping day I was glad to fall into it. All in all, I am looking forward to staying here on my next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room below the sixth floor if the construction continues on the seventh and also away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneoftheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annettestaunton, General Manager at Washington Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2015

Dear oneoftheds

What a fabulous review! Thank you very much. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. Guest reviews are valued by our hotel and when feedback is positive it is hugely rewarding for us all. Much appreciated.

We will always welcome you here at The Washington Mayfair Hotel.

With kindest regards,
Annette Staunton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our first time staying at the Washington Hotel Mayfair in London was a most enjoyable experience, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was lovely and it was in an ideal position to see all the sights. The room was very comfortable and room service was very efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimannie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annettestaunton, General Manager at Washington Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2015

Dear Kimannie54

Thank you for a superb review! I am pleased you enjoyed staying with us and that we were able to provide such a memorable experience. Indeed we are located in an ideal position which very much suits both business and leisure travellers!

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kindest regards
Annette Staunton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had booked a Saturday night for girlfriend birthday getaway. Was told at check in that they were upgrading us 2 levels to an Executive Bedroom so thought WOW! Short lived as when getting to the room it went down hill quite quickly. Firstly the bathroom was in dire need of refurbishment, very difficult turning shower on and off, bath was un-inviting and the next morning the bath still had 2inches of water from the night before, all the accessories were old and corroded, the ceiling had seen much better days and the sink was cracked. The main bedroom area, windows were old and paintwork very poor, remote for TV was intermittent as was the air con. Bed was suppose to be King bed when actually 2 singles put together and I can safely say the worst bed i have lept in. At breakfast the next morning, no aircon working so breakfast area was like a sauna, had to eat breakfast very fast to get out of there. On check out the only thing the girl on reception seemed interested in was taking the full £240 for the nights accomodation. Have stayed in budget hotels elsewhere with much better facilities.Took up complaint with the Duty manager who assured me he would email the same day to make a suitable offer but didn't recieve anything but would not stay there again anyway after this visit even if it were free.No where near the 4 Stars it's boast. Personally will give this Hotel a very wide birth and at that price now feel robbed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kevins808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I think this hotel is undergoing a very slow upgrade. The first impression of the hotel is its lobby, and this looks very dated and tired, which is too bad as the room was much better. Some of the room's features was very modern like the lights, but the furniture again was tired and dated. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well decorated and the shower was good (tub didn't drain well though...). Good modern temperature control so it was easy to keep the temp at a comfortable level. Very quiet room even though I was right at the elevator door. This hotel is pretty convenient to the whole Regent street shopping area and not too long a walk to Covent Garden. I'd stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizkane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here three nights for business. The hotel's best amenity is its central location. The rooms are somewhat outdated. Breakfast was fine. Two things that bothered me were both wifi-related First, the wi-fi was down or spotty the first two days I stayed there, so I had to use the ethernet cable. Second, internet access was supposed to be included, but I was charged for internet access. I was told by the front desk this was because I used the ethernet cable (apparently just the wi-fi is free), which I used because the wi-fi was down. I finally got the staff member to waive the internet charges, but only after I was annoyed. This guy seemed to be an outlier though. The rest of the staff members were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent location for getting around the city. Bit grim from the outside but was quite surprised and impressed when we walked in. Clean, modern - didnt know what to expect from some of the reviews. Room on 1st floor - nice first impressions - clean, modern, air conditioning. Then the niggles began - very noisy - the double glazed windows are less than useless at keeping sound out. Tesco express across the road, so very busy, constant noise and a beggar sat outside all day/evening. Fan not working in bathroom so it smelt very musty; grab handle over bath loose, too small, stainless steel so slippy; anti slip pattern around bath plug hole area worn and less than useless - nearly slipped a couple of times; tiled floor - again quite slippy. No iron - had to ask for one and got a cheap argo iron & board which made the job 10 times harder than it shouldve been; had to slam room door for lock to engage - everyone doing that so noisy. Breakfast - luke warm despite being in covered food warmers, scrambled eggs looked very unappetising. Mushrooms tasted sour, off even (label next morning said with lemon - who puts lemon with mushrooms). Day 1 were shown to table and then just left. Staff milling about but not looking after guests - disorganised. Had to commondere a lady with coffee pot to order tea & toast - had already decided by then after too long a wait to just help ourselves. Was slightly better service next morning. Food still luke warm. Glasses in room dirty & not replaced day after, same with milk. Kettle lead not long enough so had to put it on the floor. No welcome folder - everything's on the tv which is a right faff. TV you cant see what programmes coming next. No pricess for mini bar. Bed not made properly 2nd day, pillows uncomfortable. Had to have all 5 walls lights on or none. Bedside lamp not working. Bedside light switchs not working. Wouldnt stay again - too noisy, didnt sleep well because of it, no attention to detail, rooms obviously not being checked by staff, over priced - breakfast extortionate - cheaper cafes nearby

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Padheruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've visited for a business meeting in the foyer, and found it to be a quiet place for a discrete meeting. Fantastic facilities, helpful staff and great choice of drinks available to serve to business partners!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank OutandAbout2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#652 of 1,077 in London
2,385 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#116 of 1,077 in London
1,893 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,368 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#363 of 1,077 in London
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £110 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing