We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #490 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I stayed at the Washington this October with my elderly parents, and it was a lovely experience.

The location of this Hotel,in the heart of Mayfair and just a few walking minutes away from the underground, is superb. The staff who handled our check in were friendly and very forthcoming about our request to have two adjoining rooms, which I had not specified when making the reservation.

The rooms themselves are very comfortable and stylish and have obviously been refurbished only recently. The one letdown was a leak in my parents' bathroom. However, when we reported this staff were once again very pleasant and arranged for an engineer to resolve the issue almost immediately.

Should I need a hotel room in London again I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank canadiantraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
There are newer reviews for Washington Mayfair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2008

Loved the Washington!
There was nothing too much trouble for the staff, and although check in was a bit slow due to the arrival of conference delegates the check in staff were very apologetic for the delay- which makes all the difference!
The entrance area is not up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel but do not be put off- the rooms are very stylish (newly renovated and not bashed like some hotels) and I would definately stay here again. The hotel is about a block back from Park Lane and is in easy walking distance of green park & hyde park corner tube stops.
We stayed during the week and ate at the hotel too and although it was very quiet in the restaurant the food was fantastic- would recommend the chick pea tagine!
Free internet access in rooms and PCs provided in reception free also!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Helpful concierge and check-in.
Refurbished room delightful. No extra charge for internet a bonus.
Room service excellent, food very good.
Overall, excellent well priced hotel in a good location.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hapie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

I highly recommend this hotel! I tend to visit about twice a year, and have done ever since 2005, and am yet to find any significant fault.

The location of the washington, situated in the heart of mayfair, is very good, being only a 5 minutes walk to green park, 10 minutes to buckingham palace and 20 minutes to piccadilly circus.

Aside from the location, the hotel itself never fails to please. The staff are always very helpful, and do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The rooms, which previously used to let the hotel down somewhat, have all been refurbished, and are now very impressive.

There is always a good selection at breakfast, and the few times I have eaten in the restaurant for dinner, I have been very impressed.

I have always been very pleased with this hotel, and even more so more that the rooms have been upgraded. This is without doubt one of the best hotels in the mayfair area.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hen2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Do not, I repeat DO NOT, check into the Washington Mayfair. We reserved a room after being in the Marriott Maida Vale for a week, which was a beautiful hotel but was located far from the city center in a dangerous district. As soon as we walked into the Washington Mayfair we could see that the information on the website was utter fabrication. Third-rate at best, it smelled awful, the staff was condescending and practically badgered you for tips and the rooms looked NOTHING like what was promised online. We had been given a non-smoking room; three people were smoking just outside it. The bedding was torn, the curtains did not close properly and the television had about five channels. The furniture was absolutely ghastly, the type you would expect in a cheap hostel, not a place where the cost of a room was equivalent to a junior suite at a Marriott hotel. At first we were prepared to stomach it, but the smell in the room was actually suffocating a member of my party with asthma and there were cockroaches in the tiny bathroom, so we checked out an hour after we arrived. The staff tried to convince us to change rooms, but upon going up to see the room we were offered we discovered it was exactly the same as the other one and even less wheelchair accessible, which we needed as a member of my party was in a wheelchair. We were told that we would be charged for a night's stay as the check-out time had been fifteen minutes ago, but we were so desperate to leave that we agreed to pay, upon which we discovered that they had charged us an extra 45 pounds for a rollaway bed - a practise none of us have seen in any four or five star hotel. Instead of arguing, we left. The Marriott Marble Arch, even closer to Oxford street and of far superior quality, had a larger, wheelchair accessible room and charged us less than the Washington Mayfair, and it had the room ready five minutes after we arrived even though we had booked it half an hour previously, whereas at the Washington Mayfair we waited for two hours in the lobby, which was shoddily and sparsely furnished, staffed by unfriendly unpeople and offered small dishes of cheap Chinese nuts.

Utterly horrendous. I have stayed in Mayfair hotels many times and this one does not deserve to be associated with the area at all. Even though I usually dislike staying in brand hotels, the Marriott thoroughly won out on this one considering the short notice at which we were making bookings.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FrequentFlyer171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

The Washington Mayfair is a decent Hotel, I would say the equivalent of a very nice Hampton Inn in the U.S. It is very pricy as all hotels in central London are but it is in the BEST location I have seen. Walking distance to theaters, Piccadilly and the shopping district. Close to Green and Hyde Park, Buckhingham Palace and the tube stations. (Green)

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juniorbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Disgusting service. Probably the worst hotel in London.

No one on reception seems to posess a memory cell. They forget everything and anything. When reminded for perhaps the 5th time, still the apologies do not come.

They promised us a free bottle of champagne with our room after forgetting to put one in there as we had prebooked, and a basket of fruit. The fruit never arrived. The champagne had to be chased 4 times, it took 45 minutes to arrive.

They then decided to charge us for the "free" bottle of champagne, this was after being told 3 times that it was complimentary. But we were told we wouldn't have to pay for the non-existent fruit basket, wow how generous is that!

After waiting 10 minutes to be seated at breakfast, we decided to find our own table. We were then approached by an acidic waitress who repromanded us for seating ourselves. No breakfast menu was offered. The food was disgusting.

Checking out took sooo long too. We were even asked to take a seat for "3 minutes" whilst the receptionist worked out what to do. She then proceeded to keep us waiting for 15.

I very strongly recommend that you do not stay in the Washington in Mayfair. There really are some very nice hotels in London, so please go to one of those.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happytraveller16Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#614 of 1,072 in London
2,304 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#387 of 1,072 in London
2,228 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#377 of 1,072 in London
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#139 of 1,072 in London
1,747 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £162 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing