We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - but has some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #476 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK - but has some flaws”
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Location of this hotel is great - very close to Green Park tube, and our stay was not unpleasent, the decor and cleanliness of the hotel and rooms were very good however there are a few things to note... In a four star hotel I do not expect to find my window cracked and held togther with sticky tape. Other points to note are the heating is difficult to control, the room was for the most part like a sauna which made sleeping difficult - the alternative was to put the cold blower on which made whoever was sleeping next to it too cold. On the subject of temperature - cold water seemed to be non existent in the basin - the cold flow from the mixer tap was mostly hot and I mean HOT we did on the odd occasion manage to get cold water. The fridge was designed in such a way that to open and close it you had to battle with the wardorbe door to force it past - this appeared to be due to the fridge being too big for the wardrobe it was in. Talking of the wardrobe - no long hanging space as the rail was above the afore mentioned fridge. One other failing for me was that there was no tea and coffee facilities - drinks had to be ordered from room service at what appeared to be an additional cost. On the plus side - best shower I have come accross in a long time and wonderfully soft dressing gowns. My only other point to mention is that if you use the bar note that they serve doubles as the norm

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floella-Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    392
    204
    83
    78
See reviews for
121
361
52
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We couldn't fault any aspect of the hotel - friendly and helpful staff, lovely room with a balcony. Really smart decor and a nice sized room. When we asked for extra tea and milk for our room as we left the bar at midnight - the porter gave us a huge handful! The breakfast was really good and the rooms very quiet so we really enjoyed our stay. Its a very good location very close to the tube and only 10 mins walk to Oxford Street. We booked last minute and only paid £130!

  • Liked — The room decor and balcony
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I stayed at the Washington this October with my elderly parents, and it was a lovely experience.

The location of this Hotel,in the heart of Mayfair and just a few walking minutes away from the underground, is superb. The staff who handled our check in were friendly and very forthcoming about our request to have two adjoining rooms, which I had not specified when making the reservation.

The rooms themselves are very comfortable and stylish and have obviously been refurbished only recently. The one letdown was a leak in my parents' bathroom. However, when we reported this staff were once again very pleasant and arranged for an engineer to resolve the issue almost immediately.

Should I need a hotel room in London again I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank canadiantraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Loved the Washington!
There was nothing too much trouble for the staff, and although check in was a bit slow due to the arrival of conference delegates the check in staff were very apologetic for the delay- which makes all the difference!
The entrance area is not up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel but do not be put off- the rooms are very stylish (newly renovated and not bashed like some hotels) and I would definately stay here again. The hotel is about a block back from Park Lane and is in easy walking distance of green park & hyde park corner tube stops.
We stayed during the week and ate at the hotel too and although it was very quiet in the restaurant the food was fantastic- would recommend the chick pea tagine!
Free internet access in rooms and PCs provided in reception free also!

  • Liked — Room Decor
  • Disliked — Check-In Area Decor
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford on avon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Helpful concierge and check-in.
Refurbished room delightful. No extra charge for internet a bonus.
Room service excellent, food very good.
Overall, excellent well priced hotel in a good location.
Will definitely return.

  • Liked — Overall everything good quality. Staff helpful. Room very good.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hapie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, UK
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2008

I highly recommend this hotel! I tend to visit about twice a year, and have done ever since 2005, and am yet to find any significant fault.

The location of the washington, situated in the heart of mayfair, is very good, being only a 5 minutes walk to green park, 10 minutes to buckingham palace and 20 minutes to piccadilly circus.

Aside from the location, the hotel itself never fails to please. The staff are always very helpful, and do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The rooms, which previously used to let the hotel down somewhat, have all been refurbished, and are now very impressive.

There is always a good selection at breakfast, and the few times I have eaten in the restaurant for dinner, I have been very impressed.

I have always been very pleased with this hotel, and even more so more that the rooms have been upgraded. This is without doubt one of the best hotels in the mayfair area.

  • Liked — The really new and modern style
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hen2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle East
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Do not, I repeat DO NOT, check into the Washington Mayfair. We reserved a room after being in the Marriott Maida Vale for a week, which was a beautiful hotel but was located far from the city center in a dangerous district. As soon as we walked into the Washington Mayfair we could see that the information on the website was utter fabrication. Third-rate at best, it smelled awful, the staff was condescending and practically badgered you for tips and the rooms looked NOTHING like what was promised online. We had been given a non-smoking room; three people were smoking just outside it. The bedding was torn, the curtains did not close properly and the television had about five channels. The furniture was absolutely ghastly, the type you would expect in a cheap hostel, not a place where the cost of a room was equivalent to a junior suite at a Marriott hotel. At first we were prepared to stomach it, but the smell in the room was actually suffocating a member of my party with asthma and there were cockroaches in the tiny bathroom, so we checked out an hour after we arrived. The staff tried to convince us to change rooms, but upon going up to see the room we were offered we discovered it was exactly the same as the other one and even less wheelchair accessible, which we needed as a member of my party was in a wheelchair. We were told that we would be charged for a night's stay as the check-out time had been fifteen minutes ago, but we were so desperate to leave that we agreed to pay, upon which we discovered that they had charged us an extra 45 pounds for a rollaway bed - a practise none of us have seen in any four or five star hotel. Instead of arguing, we left. The Marriott Marble Arch, even closer to Oxford street and of far superior quality, had a larger, wheelchair accessible room and charged us less than the Washington Mayfair, and it had the room ready five minutes after we arrived even though we had booked it half an hour previously, whereas at the Washington Mayfair we waited for two hours in the lobby, which was shoddily and sparsely furnished, staffed by unfriendly unpeople and offered small dishes of cheap Chinese nuts.

Utterly horrendous. I have stayed in Mayfair hotels many times and this one does not deserve to be associated with the area at all. Even though I usually dislike staying in brand hotels, the Marriott thoroughly won out on this one considering the short notice at which we were making bookings.

  • Liked — Free internet access
  • Disliked — Room, view, everything.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentFlyer171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#564 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#379 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#374 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#175 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
Park Lane Mews Hotel
Park Lane Mews Hotel
#702 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Mayfair Hotel

Property: Washington Mayfair Hotel
Address: 5-7 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Mayfair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central Mayfair location speaks for itself with Piccadilly minutes from the front door, Hyde Park and St James Parks less than 10 minutes away and the Bond Street shops and theatres of the West End within walking distance. Constructed in 1913,The Washington Mayfair's decor has echos of its Art Deco heritage while the upgraded rooms offer new air conditioning, sleek new bathrooms with power showers and well equipped accommodation. Rooms are of a good size, especially for central London and decorated in warm and welcoming earth tones. Free WiFi, fluffy bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, hairdryers, laptop safe, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided as standard. In house valet service or iron & ironing board available on request. 24 Hour Room Service and a relaxed and welcoming Bar Lounge and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Washington Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Mayfair London
Hotel Washington Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing