We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had problems but GM dealt with them very well, excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Ranked #8 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Had problems but GM dealt with them very well, excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

When we checked in to the hotel we were very impressed with the service we received from the staff, the room was large with some very unique features, the bathroom had just about everything you could imagine a bathroom could have and more, the bed was extremely comfortable as was the pillows, the air con worked very well and the mini bar was well stocked, the room was also very quiet, but I have to say the room was a little dull with poor lighting, we did have some problems with the room tv which at first was not dealt with very well, but then the General Manager Alexander became involved and was extremely helpful and efficient in dealing with our problem, our faith was totally restored in the hotel again, Alexander showed he was very much in control and demonstrated the high quality experience he expects his clients to receive, thank you for your help Alexander it was a pleasure to deal with you.
The food that we had in the hotel was outstanding, the service in the restaurant was first class, the club bar was excellent again with brilliant service.
The help and advice we received from the concierge was well above and beyond the call of duty, he was amazing, again thank you.
We are planning on staying in this hotel again in a few weeks time, which we are looking forward to, well worth the money and well worth the experience.

Room Tip: The club room gives you access to the club bar which is well wort paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Montcalm London Marble Arch, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ahfd,

Thank you very much for having taken to Tripadvisor to share your feedback following your recent stay with us, and even more so for your kind words. I am thrilled that we managed to turn your stay around so that you have been left with a positive impression of the Montcalm and the service we strive to provide.

I look forward to meeting you again on your next stay with us, and wish you a lovely week ahead.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    228
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
330
761
70
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I think this was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The customer service pre, during and post stay was exceptional. I was upgraded to the WOW suite which really was wow. I will only ever stay in a Montcalm hotel now - superb and thank you for looking after me and making me feel special

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirriemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Montcalm London Marble Arch, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Mirriemm,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share this lovely review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the upgrade to the WOW suite was well received; it really is quite the room isn't it? From the four poster bed, the complimentary Nespresso machine, all the way through to the magic glass in the bathroom, it is fully equipped to provide our guests with a truly once in a lifetime experience!
I am thrilled that we have managed to convert you into part of 'The Family' and greatly look forward to welcoming you back and meeting you in person; should you require any assistance at all with the making of future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Our only disappointment with the Montcalm was only staying one night! We found the staff very accommodating even before our arrival. Laura the customer experience manager delivered a very personal service, was kind enough to give us an upgrade and we were even surprised with a delivery of some delicious complimentary non-alcoholic drinks (as I'm pregnant) which was a lovely touch. The room was spotless, well appointed and modern (a club twin), and the location is simply excellent. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natlefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Montcalm London Marble Arch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Natlefox,

On behalf of Laura and the rest of the team here at the Montcalm, thank you so much for having shared your feedback on Tripadvisor! Rest asured your kind words will be shared and celebrated amongst the team. I wish you all the best in the upcoming months and look forward to welcoming you and the new addition to your family back when the time is right!

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was taken here for a birthday treat by my son and his partner and it was a fantastic experience . My room was perfect and they were upgraded to the 'Wow Suite' which certainly lived up to its name , I had a birthday cake waiting in the room when we arrived and all the little extras made it very special. The staff were polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble , We had afternoon tea as well which was perfect . The location is very convenient and would hightly recommend it to anyone needing somewhere special to stay in central London

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janflo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Montcalm London Marble Arch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Janflo19,

Please allow me to hereby wish you once more a Happy (albeit belated) Birthday! I am glad that the upgrade to the Wow suite was well received and contributed positively to the experience. Thank you very much for having taken the time to share this fantastic review, and I greatly look forward to personally welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future!

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were very pleased with the Montcalm. The staff are uber friendly and the rooms are brilliant. Location is vey central. Its is definitely a place to return to as we will be doing. Its well worth staying

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Montcalm London Marble Arch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Rob S,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you feel comfortable recommending our product and services; whenever your travels next take you to London, please do not hesitate to contact any member of our team and we will ensure another fabulous experience!

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

It is abundantly clear that everyone in this hotel is working together very hard to ensure nothing but an excellent customer experience.
We only stayed one night simply out of convenience as we have an office not too far away which we were working from the next day. My wife and I arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were met with a very friendly welcome.
During our short stay we sampled the restaurant for Afternoon Tea and breakfast. On both occasions it was superb in terms of quality and service.
The hotel itself is spotless and well appointed. We had the most basic of room types but this did not disappoint in any respect and was very comfortable and came complete with a range of complimentary items.
Best of all, however, was customer service - nothing was ever too much trouble and, without exception, all staff appear to leave no stone unturned when dealing with guests.
Given all this, the room rate represented excellent value for money.
There's no doubt whatsoever that we'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Montcalm London Marble Arch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear MikeHibb666,

Oh wow, what an amazing review! Rest assured that your lovely comments will be shared and celebrated amongst the entire team as an example of what can be achieved if we work together to create truly unforgettable guest experiences. I hope that your recent experience has enticed you to visit us once more when you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of hectic London life; should you require any assistance at all with the making of future bookings, please do contact me direclty and it would be my pleasure to personally assist in any way possible.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I went to London to meet my parents who were staying 2 minutes down the street from us at The Cumberland. We originally tried to get a room at the same hotel as my parents so that we could be in the same place but found it to be a little out of the price range we were willing to pay. I went on line and found The Montcalm at the Marble Arch. I was magnificent!!! The staff was just wonderful and a pleasure to talk to, everyone was more that accommodating and very friendly. The room was small if you are comparing it to the rooms you see in the states but it was just fabulous. The bed was comfortable, there was complementary bottled water and more than enough variety in the mini bar. This hotel was rated as a 4 start and The Cumberland is rated as a 5 star. As far as I am concerned that is backwards. The staff at The Cumberland was very short and rude when we tried to see if my parents checked in there and the room they were in was like a small box with a table and chair. Not much at all to look at I don't understand how this hotel is rated a 5 star. My husband and I will definitely stay at The Montcalm at the Marble Arch anytime that we are in London from this point on. Well Done!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Montcalm London Marble Arch, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear SRSpencer,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a lovely review on Tripadvisor! I am thrilled that the service provided by our Team has exceeded your expectations and managed to turn you into part of the 'Family'; I would like to mention however, just to avoid any confusion, that we are in fact a five star hotel, not a four star. Therefore exceptional service is the least you can expect from us! I very much look forward to personalyl meeting you on your next stay with us and remain entirely at your disposal should you require any assistance at all with the making of future booings.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm London Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm London Marble Arch

Property: The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Address: 2, Wallenberg Place | Top of Park Lane, Marble Arch, London W1H 7TN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#10 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Family Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm London Marble Arch 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montcalm London Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm London Hotel London
Montcalm Nikko Hotel London
London Montcalm Nikko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing