We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Elizabeth Hotel
Ranked #732 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed a second time at the London Elizabeth, mainly because of the good location close to Hyde Park and the Lancaster Gate tube station. This time we got a room i the basement that had a bad odor from mold. The room was quite large but was worn down. The breakfast was poor mainly consisting of bread and jam.

When we checked in there was a really nice and helpful guy in the reception but when we checked out we had our bags stored at the hotel of a few hours before leaving for the airport. When picking up the bags the man (and woman) in the reception did not care about us. We asked about our bags several time but the staff were busy with som paper work and didn't care about us. After a long time we finally got our bags and could leave for the airport.

We will certainly not stay at the London Elizabeth a third time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
There are newer reviews for London Elizabeth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had the 'deluxe' room, good value for money considering the size. The room and bath room was clean and cozy and had aircondition (which we didn't use), free wifi and a safe. It had a trouser press, but a fridge would have been nicer, though.
The location is great, just across the street from Hyde Park, and right next to the tube and lots of buses.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Breakfast was okay but some cheese would have been nice.
We definately would not mind staying here again. :-)

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room - it is nice to have more space than in average London hotel room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birgit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It is a good match between price and quality. Despite the interior aiming to be decorated in an older vintage style, which I found very homey and welcoming, quite a few fittings are actually contemporary Laura Ashley home products. We stayed at a classic twin room which had some good view so don't get discouraged but the lower price. Advantages: very clean, the temperature of the room just ideal for me especially now that we are in the warmer months of the year, organized, perfectly located with fast and free wifi as well as free printing service. Disadvantages: no liner in bathroom bins, no fridge or complimentary water, very very rough sheets and you can get the odd squeaky chair on the breakfast area. Breakfast was also tricky as the couple sitting next to me which arrived a few moments after myself was treated most luxuriously bringing them coffee, juices and taking the order most kindly while I was having breakfast on my own and wasn't offered anything or ever asked whether I need tea or coffee let alone be offered poached eggs which I would have enjoyed had I known I could have them. I didn't like this preferential behavior from the waiters. Other than that I would stay here again. If they improved on those very minor points I mentioned it could become a 4*.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiling890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked this hotel as a weekend break for my daughter and my self. Perfect location only steps away from the tube and just across the road from Hyde park. Perfect after a busy day to just sit in the park and watch the world go by. Plenty of places to eat in nearby bays water.

Now for the hotel it's self. From the first welcome to the final goodbye. The staff couldn't do enough. My dgt was delayed at work and was unabl to join me until the next day. When she did finally arrive hotel staff knew of her delay and long drive and offered to make her some breakfast as soon as she arrived. Unfortunately while we was there the hotel had a problem with the hot water supply. This was totally beyond there control. But they went over and above to try and make our stay comfortable. The hotel is full of old charm and good old fashioned customer service. Something that is sadly missing in many city centre hotels. The beds are comfortable and the rooms surprisingly roomy for such an old building. We had the full English breakfast. I'm a little fussy about quality sausage and worry about what goes into them. No worry here as the sausage had a very high meat content and every thing was cooked to perfection.
Once again thank you so much to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ca5_la55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at Elizabeth hotel in February 2014; the room was lovely and rather spacious considering the usual small-ish size of London hotel rooms; the bathroom was very clean and with all the amenities needed. My window overlooked the Kensington Gardens entrance which was very delightful. The location is great - you can take morning walks in the park, and all the main sights are at a walking distance as well (I'd say about 30-40 mins to Westminster, and 10-15 to Oxford street which offers all kinds of shopping imaginable). The subway station is literally just around the corner which is very convenient.

Breakfasts were fine and served in a very pretty dining room; the staff were friendly and the ambience was very Victorian - I guess it was just what the average tourist is picturing when thinking about a traditional British hotel. The prices might be quite high during the peak season, bit as I stayed in February it was a very good deal considering the room quality and location.

All in all, I enjoyed the stay immnesely and will definitely stay again whenever I have a chance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera_Kudrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Visited for first night ever in London place is very old we where given basement room which has a view of doors from the window it was a gorg summers day and at night we saw nothing am not pleased!

The doors outside must be stock cupboards as staff chatting loudly woke me up twice and banging doors behind then before 8am not acceptable

Some of the fittings like hairdryer are very out of date when trying to dry my shoulder length hair the hairdryer heated to a temp that was burning my hand!

Hotel needs to upgrade its facilities and I'd advise not agreeing to the basement level ever!

Staff are nice but apart from that I won't stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank huneyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean, well priced and the staff are by and large lovely, polite and helpful. However the old world charm is also a curse at times, some good to really awful decor. The mural in the dining room for instance, is so tacky it's laughable! However some of the furniture, mirrors, lamps etc; work extremely well for the period of the building. No tea and coffee facilities in the rooms is an old fashioned mistake and having to hand in your key each time you leave is a very stupid relic if the past! In summary a great, budget venue, clean and comfortable but with some modern thinking and investment this place could be amazing!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HonestNursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Lancaster London
#234 of 1,072 in London
3,497 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#420 of 1,072 in London
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,072 in London
1,049 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#154 of 1,072 in London
1,414 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#409 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Elizabeth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Elizabeth Hotel

Address: 4 Lancaster Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #732 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £120 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — London Elizabeth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Elizabeth hotel is a privately owned property with 49 rooms and suites ajacent to Hyde Park. With its central location you are within easy reach of major tourist attractions and shopping in Oxford Street and Knightsbridge. For the business traveller there is a direct link to the financial centre. The decor is traditional old English style with an open fire in the lobby and a cosy bar with leather furnishing. The restaurant serves breakfast,lunch, and dinner. Traditional English afternoon tea with home made scones are served daily either in the lobby or in the rose terrace garden open weather permitted. The hotel has got a private car park and offers free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your London Elizabeth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing