We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Elizabeth Hotel
Ranked #693 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is an old building and some of the decor, curtains etc are not the highest standard, but,,nor are their prices. Lovely breakfast, very attentive staff, a rather old fashioned serving style but nothing wrong with that, we stayed in the room over looking the bus stop on the ground floor, sounds like hell, it was as quiet as a grave, good double glazing. Wonderful central location and for 130 pounds per night in central london a bargain, well done but get out the repair kits for the chairs and curtains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victoriabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    573
    286
    137
    106
See reviews for
351
550
60
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dromara, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

OK, I've stayed in a lot of hotels, but this one just didn't do it for me. The location is fantastic - at Hyde Park, beside Bayswater - so lots to do. My experience was soured by a bad room (#220) - that was very old and dated, too small, too warm and too noisy.

I did 'complain' and ask to be moved, but no other rooms were available.

The room was facing the main road and at ~4am the on-street noise levels really started to increase as the City started to come alive.

The breakfast was good (albeit continental not cooked - which is an extra cost - but still reasonable) and the hotel wifi was fast!

I think the Hotel appeals to tourists possibly going for the 'ye olde' English charm factor.

So, a good location, but not a hotel suited to me...

Room Tip: Standard single / double rooms have no air con only a ceiling fan (of limited use) - you need to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

San Nicolas de los Arroyos, Argentina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The only good thing about this Hotel is the Location. We stay at the Greville Janner Suite, supposdely one of the best... not for our point of view.

The Plus: Location and Free WiFi
The Minus: Poor breakfast, old building, awful decoration and expensive for what you get during your stay.

Room Tip: My uncle stay at the same hotel and they got a very nice and big room called: Hyde Park Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PescadoWRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

First off, the location is perfect. A two minute walk from Lancaster Gate tube stop, a 5 minute walk to Paddington station (Heathrow Express train access), and Hyde Park just across the street.
We stayed in the standard double room (two double beds) on the 4th floor. A lot of stairs (89 steps!!) but the rooms were very clean and a great size.
The WiFi was mostly good, though the connection wasn't quite strong enough for FaceTime calls.
Breakfast was almost all bread products but it was very nice to have some breakfast included.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and were very helpful in booking day trips/tours.
I highly recommend this hotel to all looking for a superb location. We had a lovely stay here, I would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed a second time at the London Elizabeth, mainly because of the good location close to Hyde Park and the Lancaster Gate tube station. This time we got a room i the basement that had a bad odor from mold. The room was quite large but was worn down. The breakfast was poor mainly consisting of bread and jam.

When we checked in there was a really nice and helpful guy in the reception but when we checked out we had our bags stored at the hotel of a few hours before leaving for the airport. When picking up the bags the man (and woman) in the reception did not care about us. We asked about our bags several time but the staff were busy with som paper work and didn't care about us. After a long time we finally got our bags and could leave for the airport.

We will certainly not stay at the London Elizabeth a third time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had the 'deluxe' room, good value for money considering the size. The room and bath room was clean and cozy and had aircondition (which we didn't use), free wifi and a safe. It had a trouser press, but a fridge would have been nicer, though.
The location is great, just across the street from Hyde Park, and right next to the tube and lots of buses.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Breakfast was okay but some cheese would have been nice.
We definately would not mind staying here again. :-)

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room - it is nice to have more space than in average London hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

It is a good match between price and quality. Despite the interior aiming to be decorated in an older vintage style, which I found very homey and welcoming, quite a few fittings are actually contemporary Laura Ashley home products. We stayed at a classic twin room which had some good view so don't get discouraged but the lower price. Advantages: very clean, the temperature of the room just ideal for me especially now that we are in the warmer months of the year, organized, perfectly located with fast and free wifi as well as free printing service. Disadvantages: no liner in bathroom bins, no fridge or complimentary water, very very rough sheets and you can get the odd squeaky chair on the breakfast area. Breakfast was also tricky as the couple sitting next to me which arrived a few moments after myself was treated most luxuriously bringing them coffee, juices and taking the order most kindly while I was having breakfast on my own and wasn't offered anything or ever asked whether I need tea or coffee let alone be offered poached eggs which I would have enjoyed had I known I could have them. I didn't like this preferential behavior from the waiters. Other than that I would stay here again. If they improved on those very minor points I mentioned it could become a 4*.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiling890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#404 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Fountain House Apartments
#665 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster London
#240 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,436 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#359 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Hyde Park Radnor Hotel
#645 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Elizabeth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Elizabeth Hotel

Property: London Elizabeth Hotel
Address: 4 Lancaster Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Elizabeth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Elizabeth hotel is a privately owned property with 49 rooms and suites ajacent to Hyde Park. With its central location you are within easy reach of major tourist attractions and shopping in Oxford Street and Knightsbridge. For the business traveller there is a direct link to the financial centre. The decor is traditional old English style with an open fire in the lobby and a cosy bar with leather furnishing. The restaurant serves breakfast,lunch, and dinner. Traditional English afternoon tea with home made scones are served daily either in the lobby or in the rose terrace garden open weather permitted. The hotel has got a private car park and offers free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Elizabeth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing