We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Elizabeth Hotel
Ranked #721 of 1,063 Hotels in London
chennai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

nice location, just opposite to hyde park and near marble arch, underground station and the bus stop are right beside it, dont buy anything from a convenience store which is right across the street, instead there is a better store 500 meters away in gloucester road.a classic victorian type hotel, Choose rooms in the ground or first floor as they are better than the above floors, dont use the lift, it will make you feel sick.Staff is friendly and nice, good breakfast menu. overall an enjoyable stay and yes wi fi connects in all the rooms

Room Tip: dont use the rooms above first floor as they are cramped and the 2 people lift will make you claustr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahdoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    575
    289
    140
    111
See reviews for
354
555
60
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We unexpectedly ended up in London, so we had no reservation when we showed up to this hotel - Just saw that it had open availability on a travel site. Reasonable price. Just around the corner from Paddington train station. Right next to a bus stop. Hotel is older, shows its wear and tear, but it made me think Local, Old school history. At first I was horrified there was no AC, but you don't need it. Where I'm from, no AC in July is a nightmare, but it was great weather. Room was small, had a cute balcony that faced the front of the hotel. Bathroom was small, but that seems to be the thing in Europe.. Small rooms, small bathrooms, and small elevators. Breakfast was nice touch, I don't recall anything other than some cereal and pastries. We'd probably stay there again if we returned to London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

When we travel to Europe, we look for local flavor and quaint hotels when we can. The London Elizabeth Hotel fills the bill, while keeping all the modern amenities.

The location can't be beat. We knew we had picked a winner when our driver from the airport was raving about the location of the hotel. We were able to just walk across the street to Hyde Park, the hop-on/hop-off bus passes right by the hotel, and the tube station and Paddington Station are close by. Other than getting to and from the airport, we never needed a taxi.

The week we were there, London was having a heat wave. Our room not only had excellent A/C, it had a ceiling fan too. We were more comfortable staying in this 1800's hotel than we were in modern hotels we stayed in later in our trip.

Everyone was friendly and helpful with our questions, the breakfast selection was very good (wonderful fresh warm pastries too). We had dinner there a couple times, and were very happy with the selection and quality of food.

Older hotels in Europe have small, slow elevators. That is to be expected, so we weren't surprised or disappointed about that.

If we get to London again in the future we will definitely book the London Elizabeth Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cruising-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we stayed at the elizabeth london hotel with our 13 yr old grandaughter, on a whole it was a good clean hotel we had room 448 that was at the back of the hotel and i think there was a racing track there, it kept us awake on the first night but quiter on the second night, the staff where very helpful the breakfast was good (full) it was very well placed for buses and the tubeand of course hyde park, the few things against the hotel was the lift just myself and child could fit in it and it was very very very slow, and no tea/coffee making tray in the room also on our last morning we had no hot water

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

You know you are England when you stay at the London Elizabeth -- this is NOT a cookie-cutter Holiday Inn that could be anywhere. The London Elizabeth is on the north side of Hyde Park at the Lancaster Gate tube station -- which means is it not in the total crush of London, but still easy to get to everything. Staying at this hotel is like dropping into the 1930's, but with modern amenities. We had a spacious room (deluxe double) with a fireplace (electric made to look like coal). We also has a small balcony so we could sit out and watch the world go by. Even though our room was on the front of the hotel, we were not disturbed by street noise at night. The hotel has a comfortable lounge (with a gas fireplace), dining room for breakfast, afternoon tea, and dinner, a bar, and an outdoor rose and herb garden for sunny afternoons. Try the afternoon tea (we had Cream Tea, but they also serve Full Tea) to feel like you are really in England.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe double -- the regular doubles are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John-OKeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM159, Front Office Manager at London Elizabeth Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback following your recent stay with us at The London Elizabeth Hotel. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the service and location of the hotel. I have passed on your feedback to my team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Reka Praszler,
Front Office-Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice, and had an enjoyable experience both times. We consider it to be a quirky and charming hotel with excellent customer service in a great location right next to Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate tube station. I'm sure we'll be back. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crunchyraisinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a very quaint and affordable hotel. We have stayed here twice in the last few years. If you read the site it is not a new hotel, but who needs it. Walking distance to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express. Also right across the street from a tube station. Across the street from Kensington Gardens. Right around the corner is a great pub, the Swan for a pint and a good meal. Just outside is a stop for the Big Bus hop-on-hop-off tour bus. Can't beat the convenience. Only drawback may be that the street is pretty busy so traffic noise may be an issue with an outside room if you plan to sleep in, but that is the case with most hotels in London and a travel noise machine takes care of that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#410 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Lancaster London
#238 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#358 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Hyde Park Radnor Hotel
#652 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#204 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Elizabeth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Elizabeth Hotel

Property: London Elizabeth Hotel
Address: 4 Lancaster Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #721 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Elizabeth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Elizabeth hotel is a privately owned property with 49 rooms and suites ajacent to Hyde Park. With its central location you are within easy reach of major tourist attractions and shopping in Oxford Street and Knightsbridge. For the business traveller there is a direct link to the financial centre. The decor is traditional old English style with an open fire in the lobby and a cosy bar with leather furnishing. The restaurant serves breakfast,lunch, and dinner. Traditional English afternoon tea with home made scones are served daily either in the lobby or in the rose terrace garden open weather permitted. The hotel has got a private car park and offers free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Elizabeth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing