We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Loves Phoenix Hotel”
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #282 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Group Loves Phoenix Hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our theatre group stayed at the Phoenix (again) Feb 14-18, and have come to think of it as their London home. We have many repeat guests and they are very comfortable at the hotel and look forward to their annual visit. The accommodations, the breakfast and most importantly the helpful staff make our visit so pleasant.

Room Tip: small rooms - but all the amenities you need - take a high floor back side altho that sacrifices the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExpertOmahaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    820
    261
    42
    19
See reviews for
317
426
264
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel offers all spected services for a medium class traveler, wether he's in businness or turistic trip. they should improve the wifi services at room at no higher cost for the room. It is easy.
Breackfast is good. Reception clerks nice too.

Room Tip: ask reception for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGENOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Good location , fair prices, the rooms are smallish but comfortable. Staff are friendly, public rooms cosy. Good WiFi , nice little bar.
Will stay again for more than one night. Main headache is car parking, £4.00 per hour except weekend. Excellent for more Shopping, Whitleys right nexr door.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a course nearby. Hotel is conveniently situated to tube and all local amenities. Its comfortable but rooms are small and reasonably appoitned.
Carpets are a bit worn in public areas although refurb was in progress.
Breakfast buffet was good with good selection.

Only gripe was akinesic staff. Having dealt with the froideur of the reception staff, I had to call on them again as the electrics tripped on turning on the lights in the ensuite bathroom. Madam guardian of 'reception' was not amused but grudgingly fixed it.

Funny the rooms are so hot but the reception staff so cold.

Room Tip: to the front, sash windows, no aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterADH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I paid about $100 USD / night for this hotel... and I got what I paid for.

First, the location for this hotel is AMAZING. It is within a five minute talk to the Underground station and there are a lot of fast food and sit-down places to eat along the walk - many of which are open late. There are a lot of younger people walking around, even late at night, so it felt safe and busy. There is a pharmacy open until midnight within a two minute walk which can also be helpful. From the hotel to London Victoria was about 20 minutes.

Second, the hotel itself is a little aged. The rooms are in good condition - but they are a bit older - in the sense that it has old-fashioned wall paper, the furniture is all old-style wooden, and the building itself is obviously decades old. I wouldn't say there was anything wrong with it - but just bear in mind - that it's not the newest place you've stayed up. They use keys, not key cards. They seem to be doing some updating - there is a fair bit of construction on the fourth floor.

If you are a light sleeper, avoid rooms facing the road or on the fourth floor. The former, because people often walk by and are talking loudly; the latter, because there is construction during business hours on the fourth floor. If you sleep in, you will likely be woken up.

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast is usually included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chauve-Souris-Voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We - a couple from Vienna, Austria - return to London and to this hotel for a fourday trip to London. The Hotel is easy to reach from Heathrow airport, one takes Picadilly line until Earls Court, there you have a lift to change to District line (direction Edgware Road) and the second station is Bayswater Road. Here there is no lift. Since we came only for four nights our luggage was not heavy. There is also Queensway tube station near by. With bus 7 or 23 you can comfortably reach Oxford Street the main shopping street of London. Near the Hotel you have Nottingham Hill, Hyde Park, Kensington. With bus 70 your reach the Victoria&Albert museum and the Albert hall. You have dozens of restaurants around of all categories, a post office, the Withley shopping center and and.
The room was comfortabe and warm, tv and wifi available in room. The Buffet Breakfast was excellent, we had the right to a British breakfast, but took it only twice. After a good Dinner we could not eat also ham & eggs, sausages.
The reception was friendly and when I had some problems with my laptop I could use the PC of the Hotel in the hall. There we could also use the printer in order to check in.
At Off peak season we were offered through our travel agency to pay 3 nights and stay 4 nights.
We come back to the same Hotel at the same time (End of January or Beginning of February) already the 3rd or 4th time and enjoy our stay

Room Tip: We asked for a nonsmoker room. From our window we were loooking on the park and had a very good slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaplin60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Close to tubes (Bayswater and Queensway), next to Whitleys shoppingcenter with a cinema, restaurants, supermarkets around the corner and a short walk to Hyde Park.
Room was newly renovated and was lovely. Nice bed, shower, tv and wifi and warm room. The street outside my room was not so noisy.
Breakfast in nice newly renovated room. Standard breakfast with super service.
I highly recommend this lovely place for a good price and friendlyness!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UlricaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#421 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#304 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#377 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#349 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Caring Hotel
#503 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel
Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Business Hotel in London
#281 Family Hotel in London
#364 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing