We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Phoenix Hotel”
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #286 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Western Phoenix Hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in late April. It was very nice and the staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Lots of fruit, yogurt, pastries. It was a block away from a street full of pubs, restaurants, shops and a large mall. The Bayswater underground station was 2 blocks away -- trains came every 10-15 minutes. We had a wonderful time in London and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    836
    268
    43
    19
See reviews for
322
441
273
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

horrible breakfast room too small location excellent near to two tube stations walking distance to markets where mc Donald's burger kings are located Indian restaurants are nearby the hotel located at a busy road ie queensway road

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f00dieCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very useful to us, as we are looking for ways in which to improve the hotel and the services provided, while keeping our rates competitive. We hope to welcome you back to Phoenix Hotel next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is my third stay at this property. I stayed at this hotel on two previous trips... four years ago and two years ago. Unfortunately I discovered that the overall appearance of the hotel has deteriorated since my last visit. The hotel has become somewhat shabby .... carpets, furniture, walls etc. all show signs of wear and tear. I would hope that a reno is planned for the near future. There is nothing glaringly wrong with the hotel... it is just "tired".
I was given a room facing the street and positioned right above the entrance facade.
There is no AC. London was in the middle of a heat wave and my room was like an oven all night and all day. I had the window open but it did not allow much air circulation. Then, due to the window being opened, I had to deal with street noise of people walking by talking, cars, glass bottles being regularly dumped into a dumpster...
On the day I checked in, there were several people at reception very unhappy with the warmth of the rooms. One couple were checking out and moving somewhere else as the hotel could not even provide a fan for them. Another group were very angry and upset. The staff attempted to explain that such heat waves are rare in London and that many hotels are not prepared for such weather.
My room was very small .... single bed pushed against a wall. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Pillows were hard. Duvet was a very heavy covering.. suitable for winter stays but not for summer.
The breakfast room is downstairs.... if you arrived before 830, it was not too busy. But after that time..... really crowded and busy.
I have returned to this hotel now 3 times due primarily to its location. It is a short 10 min. walk to Kensington Park, 5 min. walk to the underground stop Bayswater. The nearby streets have lots of little restaurants, souvenir shops, a grocery store, a pharmacy... all only a 2 min. or so walk away.
Since my last stay, I found that the staff, both at the reception and in the breakfast room, have been replaced by workers from other EU countries where English is not the first language spoken. I found that my conversations with the employees at times was hampered by their lack of English or I found it difficult to understand their accented pronunciations. The reception staff were helpful whereas the breakfast staff seemed very shy and reserved.
Would I stay here again? Perhaps, but not in the summer as it is too busy, and potentially too hot( My previous stays were in March and September) More likely, I will look at other properties in the area for my next trip to London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutmeg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very useful to us, as we are looking for ways in which to improve the hotel and the services provided, while keeping our rates competitive. We hope to welcome you back to Phoenix Hotel next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, MD
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Phoenix Hotel for 4 nights with 7 other couples. The accommodations were very good; clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast provided more than we expected. Our group organizer made our arrangements with Mary and she (Mary) did a fantastic job of meeting our needs. The location of the hotel provided access to many restaurants. The staff was very helpul and accommodating to our needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernMDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fifth time to this Hotel. The staff were excellent all very helpfulThe breakfast although continental was more than enough and the quality first class.
The room was immaculate and the bathroom had one of the best showers I have used in many hotels around the world.
The manageress Mary does a first class job from booking through to delivery of service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvg406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location, lots of restaurants/pubs and shops near by, tube station about a minute walk away (bayswater) and the staff were all very lovely- thats the good points. Unfortunately i wouldn't stay again, the room was extremely small. by far the smallest hotel room iv ever stayed in, london is very hectic and it would of been nice to have somewhere to sit and relax for an hour or so before heading out in the evening, but it just wasnt possible in that room, it was also extremely hot, we opened the window as much as we could, we were given a small fan but there were no plug sockets near the bed so we had to plug it in by the window so you couldn't feel it when you were trying to sleep at all. Decor was very dated, carpet looked very dirty i would recommend slippers or enough socks, bed was clean as was the bathroom, only 1 light in the room worked, all others were broken, I think maybe if you ask for a twin room instead of a double the room may be a little bit bigger as there was no way they could get 2 single beds with a gap between them in our room. very uncomfortable stay with lack of room and heat. Breakfast was ok, not alot of choice. i would definitely stay in this area again but not this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_mmc307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Phoenix hotel; we are sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. Your comments are very useful to us as we are looking for ways in which to improve the services we provide while keeping our rates competitive. Please contact us directly, should you wish to return to Phoenix Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Phoenix Hotel for the second year in a row with my wife, son and daughter. This Hotel offers holidaymakers a fantastic service. Our Family room was fantastic with a king size bed and two singles, ensuite Bathroom, TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities, etc. The Breakfast here is top class, catering for all tastes. This Hotel is situated in W2 with many Restaurants just a minutes away, and easy access to two tube stations. The Manager, Mary Donelan and her Staff are true professionals and leave 'no stone unturned' to make the your stay 'one to remember'. I will be staying at the Best Western Phoenix Hotel on all future trips to London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#424 of 1,069 in London
296 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#310 of 1,069 in London
2,265 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#359 of 1,069 in London
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#376 of 1,069 in London
415 reviews
Caring Hotel
#516 of 1,069 in London
780 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel
Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Business Hotel in London
#281 Family Hotel in London
#364 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing