We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, cramped, and in need of redecoration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
Ranked #529 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Fareham
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Noisy, cramped, and in need of redecoration”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The first impression is good. Close to Paddington Station, and a nice reception area. However, when exiting the lift on the bedroom floors the walls are marked and there are gouges in the wall. The room I had overlooked the side of the hotel, but there was a lot of traffic noise. In the room next to me were a couple who had obviously arrived on a flight from Asia, and so were quite lively as their body clocks had not adjusted. They had a number of friends visit them throughout the night, and it was if they were in the same room. The carpet in the room seemed to have a few nails (or gripper bar protrusions) sticking up, so you had to be careful where you walked. One of the ceiling lights had a flickering bulb, so these lights could not be left switched on. The room was about 8ft x 12ft in size, with a double bed, so was quite cramped.

Continental breakfast was included in the rate, and was rolls, cheese, ham, fruit, yoghurt, toast, cereals, juice and coffee. Cooked breakfast was £4 extra. I thought the breakfast was reasonable.

Because of the noise, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: A rrom at the end of a corridor to limit potential noise from one side only, plus the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolktowers, General Manager at The Norfolk Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the comfort and appointment of your room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience moving forward and hope you will come visit us in the future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    294
    211
    147
    181
See reviews for
183
323
81
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The location of this hotel was great, very close to Paddington Railway station, Hyde Park was a 10 minute walk, and I walked to Trafalgar square in 45mins. The room was small but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was quite small as well, but we were out all day so this did not really bother us.
Friendly staff, good breakfast.

Room Tip: First floor, the elevator is very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelTweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolktowers, General Manager at The Norfolk Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a five day visit to London again staying at the Norfolk Towers. Room was small but comfy. Every member of staff was very helpful-what a disappointment that Magda the receptionist is gone!
Every day we had English Breakfast which is a buffet. Even if you have to pay £4 extra go for it.
Overall, great hotel, amazing staff and very good location!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolktowers, General Manager at The Norfolk Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, i found the points you raised constructive to both us as a hotel and also potential guests.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also you felt that our location is very good.One area we have focused our efforts on is delivering high level of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here from monday 17 - thursday 20 feb. 2014. A perfect located hotel 2 mins from Paddington Station.
Clean, good rooms, friendly staff and a perfect breakfast. For a small sum added you can get full english breakfast.
Will definately stay here again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TryOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolktowers, General Manager at The Norfolk Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, i found the points you raised constructive to both us as a hotel and also potential guests.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also you felt that our location is very good.One area we have focused our efforts on is delivering high level of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

stayed at this hotel on Tuesday 18th February, one night with my husband. We were in room102. We were very happy with our stay, Staff were so helpful and friendly, internet free for as long as you want, room was small, but we were very happy and comfortable in it. Breakfast was perfect lovely hot breakfast/ would recommend this hotel so handy and close to bus and tub stations lovely steak house just 2 minutes walk away, will be staying there again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtraveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here for one night while in London on business; the hotel is perfect for Paddington station - a 5-minute walk at the most. The street it is in is nice and quiet, but I felt it a little less welcoming the further up you walk...maybe something to keep in mind if you're a solo traveller.

The hotel itself is clean and currently undergoing a revamp so I think it'll be even better in a few weeks. I paid £86 for an executive double on the first floor and it was a nice room, good size and a very comfy bed. TV in the room but very few channels. The room was quite quiet except for the door in the corridor opening/closing at all hours - and the TV/guests in the next room could be heard clearly.

I didn't bother with breakfast so cannot comment on this.

There isn't much around the hotel in the way of restaurants which surprised me given its location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

A 2 night stay in feb 2014.
Close to the rail / tube stations & the staff were very polite & friendly.
Room 406 has no wardrobe (just hangers on the wall) & only 3 small drawers (1 of which had a hair dryer fixed into it & was therefore of no use).
There were gouges in the plasterwork (not surprisingly due to the size of the room) & the carpet had more stains than a man could count.
The beds / linen were old, grubby & uncomfortable.
There was noise from inside (thin walls) & outside (single glazed windows).
The air con was a plug in tower fan.
Returning at midnight the bedroom doorknob came off in my hand & we had to get a member of staff to open it with a screwdriver.
This could have acceptable at half the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilandSueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#199 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#399 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Towers Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Towers Hotel
Address: 34 Norfolk Place | Paddington, London W2 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Norfolk Towers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Norfolk Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel London
The Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Towers Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing