We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holland Court Hotel
Ranked #961 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On entering the hotel, the reception area is so tiny that any more than one person feels like a crowd. Rooms are scarcely much bigger. This is not a place to linger, but our bed did allow a reasonable degree of comfort for sleep. Rooms at the front can be noisy so, if you want to stay here, opt for ones at the rear or in the basement. Our bathroom had a basin so minute that we needed a good technique to avoid getting toothpaste on our feet when brushing our teeth. There was no basin plug and the staff were unable to locate a replacement. The air-conditioning unit blew out hot air, had no identifiable temperature control and according to its label it was well overdue for an electrician's check. The breakfast was a bit basic, but the muesli was welcome. Space in the dining room is limited so you may need to climb over your fellow diners to get to your seat.
This hotel is cramped, shabby and in need of a makeover but it does provide basic B&B in this area of London at a lower than average price, though still far higher that you might pay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocDoubleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Holland Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

When rating the hotel you have to bear in mind London prices and space issues. This is a small, somewhat claustrophobic hotel with small guest rooms and small breakfast room but I've stayed in a number of London hotels and unless you can afford the Dorchester this is what you get for the under £100 range.

On the positive side the rooms seem to have been re-furbished and are a reasonable standard. the bed was comfortable, temperature was fine though we needed to keep the window a little open. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was tiny and the range was very basic, basically toast, boiled eggs, cheese. Having said that, I've stayed in other hotels at the same price where you don't get anything.

Location is fine, on several convenient bus routes into town and a few bus stops from Hammersmith tube.

I haven't yet found that perfect little London hotel for under £100 and I doubt it exists - perhaps the only option is to stay further out and commute in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This should be judged as a B&B, not a five-star hotel, which you would never get for the price in London. We stayed for four nights in triple room overlooking street so there was traffic noise but you get used to it after one night. Room was small with basic new furniture and bathroom tiny but newly refurbished. There is a lift which is great for the elderly as breakfast room in basement. Location is great for the Kensington museums (a No. 9 bus from Kensington High Street which is just round the corner, which also takes you to Trafalgar Square, a No. 52 takes you to Victoria for the train or coach station). We found buses better than underground from here. There are Morrisons and Sainsbury's convenience stores by bus stop for you to get sandwiches and drink for lunch. Also cinema and eateries in Westfield shopping centre which is 15 mins walk away. We found ladies on Reception very helpful. It is not a rat hole but could do with a bit of redecoration in places.

Room Tip: Ask for room on ground or first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Negatives: For us Hotel in terrible condition, in need of urgent decoration / modernisation / team of cleaners + generally a complete overhaul. Rooms very very small & hallways equally narrow & small. All furniture in room all flat pack DIY. We were woken up at 4am by 3 returning young, noisy + drunk Eastern European females who all seemed intent on having a very loud meeting in the hallway right outside our room, with complete disregard for anyone else staying at the Hotel. I eventually tackled them in my underpants & they piped down + went in their room but all then decided to take showers at 4.30am + woke my parents in the adjacent room. Breakfast room in basement you could just about swing a dead cat around in. Breakfast Selection - Toast / proceesed cheese slices / bowl of boiled eggs / (fresh) orange / coffee / tea / 2 cereals - Thats your lot so dont expect anything else. Positives: Staff were polite + friendly. Bed was reasonably comfortable + sheets clean. Shower hot + clean. Good location - just off Kensington High Street. Not the Ritz but you get what you pay for - a last minute booking - would definitely not go back - with some investment could be a fabulous small Hotel. Sorry but im only being honest.

Room Tip: I dont think ethere were any !!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200mmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Utter dump of a place. Everything is in a state of disrepair and filthy too, with doors, skirting and picture rail that looked liked it had been pulled out of a skip. Beds were uncomfortable and other than the main light switch, nothing else worked. Couldn't get a picture on the TV and for some unknown reason there was a toilet roll jammed behind it. At least the guy on reception was helpful... Oh hang on, no he wasn't. To summarise, rough as a badgers ar5e.
Apparently breakfast was included but I didn't even want to sit down in this hovel, let alone put something in my mouth that came from there. Luckily it was just one night because of work, so I checked in late and got the hell out of there early.
If I had ended up in this tip with my family I would have killed them all instantly and then taken my own life rather than have their looks of disappointment that they would obviously give me for the rest of my existence.
Avoid this place like the plague.
Conveniently located for Olympia ☺

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This is the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. Reception ignores you? Breakfast is a bowl of boiled eggs stale bread and cheese. The only quailty is the tiler who did the bathroom. Absolute nightmare of a place

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexp997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Simply Rooms & Suites
#614 of 1,073 in London
246 reviews
Hilton London Olympia
#687 of 1,073 in London
2,598 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#747 of 1,073 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hand and Flower Hotel
#496 of 1,073 in London
374 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#474 of 1,073 in London
373 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#63 of 1,073 in London
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Court Hotel

Address: 31 - 33 Holland Road, Kensington Olympia, London W14 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Price Range: £59 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Court Hotel is a beautiful 3 star hotel with all the facilities the discerning business traveller or tourist would require. The Holland Court Hotel comprises of 27 bedrooms set across 2 period buildings, across 4 floors. All rooms are accessible from the main reception. All rooms have a uniform decor, comprising of the very best in hospitality any hotel guest would require. Our staff are friendly and courteous at all times, and will always attempt to assist you quickly and efficiently with any requests you may have during your stay with us. The hotel is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week and members of staff are always on hand to assist. Guests are able to check in and out of the hotel at any time, day or night. The Hotel is located on the Holland Road, Kensington Olympia, at the heart of Central London. All travel links are within short walking distance, as are some of the best sights to visit in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Court London
Hotel Holland Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing