We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalinter”
Review of The Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Byron Hotel
Ranked #533 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Byron hotel is very good located, near Queensway tube station and minutes from Bayswater tube station.
The staff is very friendly and they make you feel welcome.
The room was comfortabel and clean, bathroom ok.
The only negative thing was the heating...it didn't work very well.

Breakfast-time was well organized.The food was tasty and extensive.

We will recommend this hotel to our friends !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Dalinter,

Thank you very much for your positive review on The Byron Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and the service provided by our friendly staff. Most of our guests appreciate the convenient location of our hotel and our professional staff. I am sorry to hear about the heating problem you faced during your stay with us. Please be assured, we have already looked into this.
I once again apologise for any inconvenience and look forward to welcome you back at the Byron hotel.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

We travel often due to our work. And we do not like the 4 and 5 stars hotels as they are "too cold" from a human perspective. We have visited several hotels in London and the Byron hotel offers both a lot of warmth and "all-family" kind of service. Their staff is like "your mom" and you feel at home from the very first second. Also, it is a hotel with historical heritage, it has wondeful butterfly drawings on pictures on the wall. Rooms are very clean and well organized and although they are a bit small, well, it feels "home". We loved it, will vertaily come back and would recommend it to anyone who would like a peaceful reference point (or "second home") in our beloved London. All the best, Silvia and Aldo.

Room Tip: Romantic, family like hotel in London. Staff is like your "mom". Your stay will be a happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aldo_Solari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Silvia and Aldo,

Thank you for such wonderful comments. That’s true, our staff have very individual and warm approach to every guest. We are delighted to read that you felt like home and that we might be your second home while in London. Looking forward to welcome you again! Carmen Gomez – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just spent a lovely new year in London,no thanks to the Byron. Our room had the hotels air conditioning unit outside the window so loud humming all the time.Room 3 was quite tatty,a 1 inch gap under the door let lots of light in,milk in room was off,could only use the shower as tap wouldnt divert to bath.On the +side staff were friendly and a good location. Dont know how it got 4 stars.

Room Tip: refuse to go in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanbrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Susanbrl,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you chose to stay with us to welcome New Year. Very Happy Year to you! As you mentioned, our hotel is in a great location, close to everything you need in London. We are however very sorry to read that we don’t exactly ticked all the boxes. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff does their best to make the rooms very comfortable and pleasant. Unfortunately, the mentioned technical problems occurred during your stay, and they were already rectified. Please accept our deepest apologies that you had to experience this. We would like to welcome you again to show you our hospitality, but mainly that our rooms are very functional and pleasant to stay in. Carmen Gomez – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed for 1 night, New Years Eve and it was ideal for us! Room was on the small side but considering we only wanted a clean, comfortable accommodation to lay our heads down for the night it ticked all the boxes and I must say the bed was very comfortable! Good location, minutes from Queensway tube station and friendly staff. The only negative things we found was the air con, it didn't work & the room was like a sauna so good job we had a fan in the wardrobe and a nice big window to open! Also baggage room is only a shelf in a corridor and is unsecure. I would most certainly recommend this hotel and stay again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpswichMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear IpswitchMay,

First of all, Happy New Year to you. We are delighted to learn that you welcomed New Year with Byron Hotel, and we made your stay very enjoyable on this special night. Many guests would agree with you that our beds are very comfortable, and that our hotel is situated in an ideal location, perfect start for the sightseeing, but also a night out. We are however very sorry to hear that there was a problem with the air conditioning. This was a technical fault, which was immediately fixed. Regarding the luggage space, it is located just outside the reception, and we never experienced any problems with it Often guests are happy they can leave the luggage behind on a check in or check out and continue exploring the city. We are happy you would like to stay with us again, as we would make your stay is equally pleasant. Carmen Gomez – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed in Byron mid December for 2 nights,. The hotel is decent & honest enterprise, but accommodation is quite basic.
Pluses & minuses
+ Location. 5min walking from both Bayswater & Queensgate tube stations. For those who like to do some daily jogging/walking(me)- Hyde Park is just 2min away.
+Proximity to Paddington and Victoria.
+ The staff was GREAT! Thank you, guys! All my questions were answered/wishes accommodated in no time. And effortlessly-)
- The hotel looked clean, but rather worn out. The room was tiny & so was everything else (which is to be expected in central London for the price of GBP 85). It is only my personal opinion that the room & hotel in general were not comfortable, but very functional & convenient. It is definitely serves the purpose to have an overnight accommodation. But if you expect other things, you may be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Lisiza,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy to read that you appreciated our staff. They are very friendly and approach everyone individually. Also, our location is great, as you mentioned close to the transport, shopping and the biggest of the parks- Hyde Park just across the main road. As you also noticed, our hotel is a conversion of a beautiful Victorian House which gives a hotel very unique character and charm. We made our best to make the rooms functional. Normally, our guests find the space of the rooms sufficient and very comfortable, also for the longer stays. We hope to welcome you again at Byron Hotel. Carmen Gomez – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My feelings about this hotel are quite mixed. There are definitely pros and cons.

The staff were nice enough and the place was clean. It is very close to Hyde Park (big bonus for pleasant walks). A 20 minute walk from Paddington train station and a few minutes from the tube or buses. The room was quiet too.

The room we stayed in was a double but it was really compact. I am short in height and I could still touch the ceiling (which gave me the unfortunate feeling of being in a cabin in a ship). One of the lights in the bathroom didn't work (so having a bath with the smaller light, wasn't an option). There was hardly any space for our clothes or to put things away as the tiny wardrobe already had quite a bit of stuff in it. There was so little space that we found the tea making equipment shoved in a drawer. When we got it out, it took up quite a bit of the little space we already had (when we finally managed to get the kettle to reach the wall socket).

The freaky thing was that the windows were dirty... every once in a while water would pour down it as if someone's shower or toilet over flow was flowing over our window.

I am not fussy about showers as our shower at home isn't amazing, but the pressure in our shower was really low, so I just had baths instead. That was disappointing.

I did leave feedback after the stay and emailed the hotel after the stay and would have been much happier if I'd heard back from someone after I'd shared my feedback.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinity2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear Trinity 2012, we would like to thank you for your comments about your stay at the Byron Hotel. We are pleased to hear our staff made your stay enjoyable. Our staff is often recognised for their exceptional and individual customer service. Also, our fantastic location makes the commute around London very easy, due to number of buses just stone’s throw away and a close proximity to Bayswater and Queensway Underground Stations.
We are however really sorry to hear that you felt not comfortable with the space of the room. We can assure you that we maximised the space available and generally all our guests are happy with it. Regarding, the water, the located just on the roof water tank started to leak unfortunately during your stay. We investigated this matter further and this was due to the fault of the tank. This was a mechanical issue and we immediately fixed it. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. We tried to contact you to personally apologise. We would be really grateful if you could contact us on marketing@amki.co.uk.
Regardless of some of the issues, your stay seemed to be enjoyable and therefore we would like to welcome you back in the future at the Byron Hotel. Thank you again for your valuable feedback Carmen Gomez – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

THE Byron hotel is à good palace to stay when you're in London, the rooms are clean and the bathroom is also good with a good shower.
The staff is friendly, the continual breakfast is simple but good, for a few pounds more you can have an English breakfast.
The tube is nearby so for use enough reasons to come back at this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear Petra1965Hoogvliet, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment on your visit at the Byron Hotel. We are happy that we positively contributed to your trip in London. We understand how important this is when you travel. Byron hotel is very close to several Underground stations and bus stops, and thus within easy reach to number of London’s’ landmarks. What’s more our English breakfast can give a taste of local culture and energy to see as many attractions as possible, and leave London with great memories. Carmen Gomez – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#537 of 1,077 in London
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#552 of 1,077 in London
799 reviews
Troy Hotel
#616 of 1,077 in London
559 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#168 of 1,077 in London
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron Hotel

Address: 36 / 38 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £76 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byron is located in the very convenient and cosmopolitan area of Hyde Park and Bayswater. This makes it ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or pleasure. With good access to all public transport facilities, The Byron is a perfect base from which to explore London. Up to 123 different locations in London are put within easy reach by the 2 metro stations near the hotel. Originally two Victorian houses, and recently refurbished, The Byron has been professionally designed to provide modern standards of comfort in traditional surroundings whilst maintaining a country house atmosphere. Our professionally trained staff will ensure that your stay with us will be a complete and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing