We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in London for the Notting Hill Carnival”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Byron Hotel
Ranked #500 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“in London for the Notting Hill Carnival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

the hotel is perfectly situated for going to the carnival. The single room is small, but well equipped.The English breakfast is nice, you can choose from different versions. The stafft ist very friendly. Everything for having a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guido,

Thank you for the delightful review following your recent stay at the Byron Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service. We are more than happy, that you were also satisfied with your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at the Byron.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    373
    208
    57
    39
See reviews for
192
339
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
padova, italy
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The room was clean and with everything you need, but very small. Moreover, it was a little bit noisy during the night because we can hear the other guests through the ceiling.
The neighbourhood is quite and close to many restaurants. You can reach underground stations and bus stops in a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for room not at mezzanine floor. It is close to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabettacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location, indeed, very accessible and close to the main sights of the city.
Our hotel is converted building, therefore, the sizes and shapes of the rooms vary. We certainly have bigger rooms as well, but in London, the rooms have generally not the average U.S. size.

I hope to welcome you back at the Byron Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is ok. Don't expect amazing luxury, but that's fine for the price we paid. The rooms are small, beds are ok. It's kind of old, but clean. The only negaive thing was that the airco did'not work, ut they were fixing it after we were gone. Breakfast was simple, but ok. The staff was amazing, so friendly and helpful. We left at 6.15 in the morning, and the nightguy fixed us some breakfast. The location is good, just a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro station at the centreline and just above hydepark. We would come back for another citytrip, fine hotel, as we were only there for a goodnight sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for your positive review after your recent stay at the Byron Hotel.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service. I am very proud of my team, it's always very nice to get such a delightful feedback on their performance!


I hope to welcome you back at the Byron Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our room ( a double with 2 twin beds) was typical European size and comfortable. Each room has its own name, which adds a sweet touch to the feel of the hotel. The hallways, however, are a bit confusing at first. The breakfast was very nice and at a reasonable time. The hotel is in a good neighborhood (on a street composing pretty much entirely of other hotels and guest houses), and is very near 2 underground stations. It is also in walking distance of Hyde Park, and the internet is free (although it requires a pass code). Staff could be a bit friendlier, but they are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kherb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Byron Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location, the free wifi and well maintained rooms.
We put a lot of effort into offer a very unique and friendly service. The cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the breakfast and our good price are always highly rated by the guests.


I hope to welcome you back at the Byron Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Did not enjoy our night at this hotel. Room very dated and not very clean. Bathroom had mould in shower. Tv did not work. stains on ceiling and hairs in bedding. room so very small. Staff were rude on arrival. We would not stay here again although location was good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 123_eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Byron Hotel.

I am pleased to note from you review that you enjoyed our central location.

However, I am surprised to read that you have experienced a number of small issues and as you have noticed from most of the reviews that our hotels is rated very high for it’s cleanliness so it actually comes as a surprise. Be rest assured this is looked into, and will make sure that we provide our regular good standard.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Positives....
Great location. 5 mins walking to tube and Hyde Park entrance.
Nice area on a quiet street
Spotless throughout
Aircon
Nice bedding etc
Modern shower room
Great shower
Good flat screen tv

Negatives.....
Breakfast awful. Basic and tea n coffee vile!!
No kettle but free machine in reception
Not rude but staff not overly friendly

Overall......
We paid £85 and for that price it was really good an we would definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Phil,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Byron Hotel

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service. The cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the service and our good price are always highly rated by the guests.
Regarding the breakfast let me make a comment: we offer the choice of continental breakfast and English breakfast. In our rates the continental breakfast is included - it's a nice thing to start the day with a bite and a coffee. However, if you'd like to have something more: we have cooked breakfast for a small extra fee.

I hope to welcome you back at the Byron Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great location in Kensington, near Hyde Park and Notting Hill. Easy walk to restaurants, pubs and shops, yet on a quiet street with little traffic. Small boutique B&B - very clean and staff very accommodating and friendly! Only a couple of negatives - the rooms are SMALL (and I mean SMALL) - two people with one piece of luggage each was a CLOSE fit (but not uncomfortable). Also, the continental breakfast was Spartan - expected a better selection- not as good as what we had gotten in Scotland and Ireland at cheaper hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and pleasant. There are basement rooms so you might want to specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Byron Hotel

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service.
Our hotel is converted building, therefore, the sizes and shapes of the rooms vary. We certainly have bigger rooms as well, but in London, the rooms have generally not the average U.S. size. We also offer the choice of continental breakfast and English breakfast. The cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the breakfast and our good price are always highly rated by the guests.
Indeed, the tea and coffee making facilities are very convenient.

I hope to welcome you back at the Byron Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
0.0 mi away
MStay 39 Studios
MStay 39 Studios
#635 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy Hotel
Troy Hotel
#595 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#508 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#543 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron Hotel

Property: The Byron Hotel
Address: 36 / 38 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #500 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byron is located in the very convenient and cosmopolitan area of Hyde Park and Bayswater. This makes it ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or pleasure. With good access to all public transport facilities, The Byron is a perfect base from which to explore London. Up to 123 different locations in London are put within easy reach by the 2 metro stations near the hotel. Originally two Victorian houses, and recently refurbished, The Byron has been professionally designed to provide modern standards of comfort in traditional surroundings whilst maintaining a country house atmosphere. Our professionally trained staff will ensure that your stay with us will be a complete and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing