We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Byron Hotel
Ranked #491 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Hexham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

booked Byron on a superbreak for two nights,probably wouldnt of considered it usually but was pleasantly surprised!! small rooms yes but very clean and I slept really well( a rarity for me) room temperature was great,continetal breakfast was adequate but unlimited coffee and toast etc Great location for Hyde Park,Oxford St etc
and I would go back if I needed top quality budget accomodation!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heavenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are very happy to hear your positive experience, and glad you enjoyed your stay at the Byron Hotel.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed our excellent customer service and convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    371
    206
    57
    39
See reviews for
188
339
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Hotel Room we got was very small, but it was clean and nice with a big shower. The Location of teh Hotel is very good just a few steps to the Underground and driectly in the city of London. But the best at the Hotel is the good service, Ravi and Ali at the Reception were lovely and really helpfull. Also the service at the Breakfast was nice and made us feel welcome.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Byron Hotel, and hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Stefan,

We are very happy to hear your positive experience, and glad you enjoyed your stay at the Byron Hotel.

I am thrilled to read your kind words, and very proud of my team, and I will share your feedback with Ravi and Ali.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our excellent customer service and convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The first room had a too small bed for us. But it wasn't a problem we could choose between two other rooms.
The breakfast was simple but very good.
The "reception-man" Ravi is always ready to help with a smile :-)
If we return to London we will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Florence,

We are very happy to hear your positive experience, and glad you enjoyed your stay at the Byron Hotel.

I am thrilled to read your kind words, and very proud of my team (especially Ravi) and I will share your feedback with them.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our excellent customer service and convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Disappointed with my stay! Struggled with sleep as could hear other guests moving around. Service for breakfast was poor and had to chase staff to get toast and when I went to get an orange juice returned to my table to find a family had been seated on the table with me, which they found awkward aswell. For the price I was very disappointed with the bathroom as it was a) tiny b) had to "fix" the shower to prevent water spraying everywhere c) had to crouch to get under the shower, I'm not even over 6 foot tall!! Tiles were uneven by sink and the window in the room was stuffed with tissue to prevent a draft I presume!
Good location but I wouldn't be recommending this to anyone in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrickalex84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the Byron Hotel.

I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the central location of our property, truly in the heart of London.

However, I am naturally disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced in your guest room. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and our maintenance service, as I suspect you saw through out the rest of the property.
Please reach out to me personally at marketing@capricornhotels.co.uk with your check in date and confirmation number. With this information I can investigate what was the problem with your room and on those days with the breakfast service, so things like these won't happen again.
Also, before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!

Warm regards,
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Small hotel but very clean, friendly staff. The rooms are small and very comfortable. Spotless bathrooms. Quiet street, but close to transportation and good restaurants. There was a mixup with the booking agent so the staff went above and beyond to fix the problem. We highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1gerlieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Reviwer,

Thank you very much for your positive review on The Byron.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Also, very proud of my team that they solved the issue with the agency ensuring your well deserved nice days in London.
Our core values: excellent customer service, great price combined with our ideal location - we are more than happy that we have delivered what we promised.


We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nice hotel, clean room, friendly staff. The double room is a bit small, but I suppose this is normal for a boutique hotel in central London. Wifi is good, but need to re-enter password every 24 hours (not a big deal). Located near 2 tube station, very convenient to go to many of London's tourist attractions using the tube. The main street near the hotel has plenty of shops such as supermarkets (Tesco, Sainsbury), pharmacies, restaurants and souvenir shops. There are plenty of halal restaurants on this main street as well, such as kebab shops, chinese/thai restaurant and even the subway is halal. This hotel is directly in front of the Malaysia Student Hall. There used to be a Malaysian restaurant there, but it was closed for renovation while we were there. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevlarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on The Byron, and happy that you have chosen our hotel again for your stay in London.

Indeed, our perfect location is a very good thing: many good restaurants are nearby, and our street is calm and quiet. Also, all the most popular attractions of London are within easy reach.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed our excellent customer service and convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our second time at the Byron was as good as the first. Stayed for eight nights this time and have no complaints whatsoever. Great staff, nice (albeit small) clean room with two twins that were super comfortable. Spotless bathroom. We had to stay an extra night at the last minute and the staff arranged things so we could not only stay, but in the same room! We will stay here again. I am a daily runner and the proximity to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park makes the Byron a perfect location for that. Not to mention 4 great pubs within a couple of blocks. Highly recommended, especially for adults without kids (my wife and I are in our early 60s).

Room Tip: We stayed in room #37, two twin beds on the fourth floor and walked up mostly. When we used the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncluff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on The Byron, and happy that you have chosen our hotel again for your stay in London.

I am very happy to read your your kind words, and to meet with your expectations for the second time now. This means a lot to us.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our excellent customer service and convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Carmen Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
0.0 mi away
MStay 39 Studios
MStay 39 Studios
#610 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#503 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Troy Hotel
Troy Hotel
#588 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#531 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#502 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron Hotel

Property: The Byron Hotel
Address: 36 / 38 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #491 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byron is located in the very convenient and cosmopolitan area of Hyde Park and Bayswater. This makes it ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or pleasure. With good access to all public transport facilities, The Byron is a perfect base from which to explore London. Up to 123 different locations in London are put within easy reach by the 2 metro stations near the hotel. Originally two Victorian houses, and recently refurbished, The Byron has been professionally designed to provide modern standards of comfort in traditional surroundings whilst maintaining a country house atmosphere. Our professionally trained staff will ensure that your stay with us will be a complete and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing