We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely”
Review of The Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Byron Hotel
Ranked #535 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely, lovely”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A lovely hotel with good bed and bath and a nice breakfast, even without paying for the one with hot dishes. It is in a great neighborhood, quiet and convenient to Paddington and Kensington Gardens. I would recommend it for anyone who wants a nice hotel near the center, but not in the center.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the lower level and all others are fine. We loved being on the back, overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herewegoagain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Herewegoagain2013,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
I was really happy to read your positive comments about our comfortable beds and tidy bathrooms! Our housekeeping team is keeping up the standards from year to year and we maintain a high level of check ups during your stay just to ensure that everything is just in the right order for you! It was really nice to hear that you were happy with our location - it's definitely perfect for those guests trying to avoid street noise and at the same being located just walking distance from the beautiful Hyde Park.
We are definitely recommend to explore the local area once again and we are sure that you will find even more new places to visit and see for the next time!
Our team is looking forward to welcome you at the Byron Hotel soon again!
Kind Regards,
Carmen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    380
    213
    60
    41
See reviews for
196
344
63
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved this little gem off the beaten path, very very clean, nice room for London! Terrific staff, close to two tube stations and right next to Hyde Park! Set in a great neighborhood with bars and restaurants. Stayed 7 days and will come back to see Ravi and the gang !!!!

Room Tip: I had a double room that I shared with my daughter , it was fine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denali15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Denali15,
Thank you very much for your email!
I am really glad to hear that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us for 7 nights and could fully benefit from our convenient location and local atmosphere!
Our team is working really hard to ensure that everything is kept as per our standards and they all are very proud to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our cosy and clean rooms!
We are definitely looking forward to see you and your daughter again, and please remember that we have a large and spacious family rooms available as well in case if you are planning to take your friends or relatives for the next trip!
Our team is looking forward to see you soon again!
Kind Regards,

Carmen

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We traveled with my family of 4 and had 2 rooms 36 and 38. Check in was prompt. Room 36 was facing the street and was nice. Air conditioning did not work great but it did cool room good enough and we got a fan to help with the cooling. Room 38 was not good. Air conditioning did not work at all and the ironing board was off the wall. After complaining, my kids were moved to room 30 which was fine. The continental breakfast was great and the full English breakfast was hot and very filling. Great location next to Hyde Park and the tube was a block away. We had a nice time also at the pub "the Swan". Great pub. Overall very nice place. Definitely will stay again when we return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank labiblioteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Labiblioteca,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your positive feedback!
I was really glad to hear that that you have got a nice time in the Byron Hotel and as many of our guests could fully enjoy the perfect location of the Byron just minutes away from the Hyde Park and two underground stations - Bayswater and Queensway.
I was really sorry to hear that you have experienced some difficulties with air conditioning system, normally everything works well as our maintenance team check all equipment on the daily basis.
I was really glad to hear that you and your family have enjoyed our full English Breakfast - it's definitely highly recommended to start the day with complete level of energy if you are planning to see all.
It was really nice to hear that you are planning to stay with us soon again and I am definitely looking forward to great you again at the Byron Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Carmen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Byron for 6 nights in July. Each day our room was cleaned, beds made, towels replaced. Front desk staff was very courteous and helpful as were all the waitressing staff in the mornings. The continental breakfast is generous with an assortment of cereals, yogurts, fruits, breads, cheese and cold cuts. Hot toast is also served at your table along with coffee or tea. The rooms are small but the hotel is nicely appointed and well located for easy access around London. I will happily stay here again on my next trip to London.

Room Tip: Rm 30 was lovely and quiet with two twin beds. Big trees right outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromcanada77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Fromcanada77,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your positive feedback!
It was really nice to hear that you were enjoying your stay with us for 6 nights! I am sure knowing that in the evening you will return to your well cleaned, ventilated and comfortable room was making your stay a bit more sweeter. Our staff is really looking forward to assist each and any guest and they are working as a team for many years, so their experience how to bring the most to our guests has been previously positively marked as well.
As you have mentioned location is really convenient indeed and if you like to explore as much as you can our generous selection of breakfast ans attentive staff will be always there for you!
I really that before your next stay you will contact us directly so we can ensure that the room allocation perfectly matches your requirements!
We are looking forward to hear your feedback from the next stay soon again!
Kind Regards,

Carmen

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked this hotel from a Hotel Booking Service. Usual comments on the location to Underground and shops.
Stayed for two nights which was one night too much. The Room, No 9, was minute (small) with a double bed wedged in and if you are a contortionist you can get out go to the window without bouncing off the wall. The room requires a new lick of paint, and the wall mounted TV is no bigger than 12" and borrowed of someones computer!
The bathroom looks tired and the towels washed to an inch off their life. However, the bed was comfy and aprt from noise from the street of a night time from lost tourists or Brazilian fans after losing to Germany 7-1, you can get a good nights sleep. Breakfast is very simple, but the restaurant staff were helpful. Good for an overnighter but a bit pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Do not have Room 09, unless you are an acrobat and can easily fit yourself in the room without a bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mark C,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your positive feedback.
I am really sorry your comments about the size of your room, which made your stay less comfortable, the hotel is conversion of two Victorian Houses which makes room sizes to be different depending on the location. I have also added your comments about maintenance issues you have mentioned and we will definitely try to do our best to keep each and any room well maintained as normally we are receiving positive feedback about our facilities and staff. I was really glad to hear that you have enjoyed a good night sleep in our comfortable bed. Indeed the are near Bayswater and Queensway and at the same time location on the beautiful but at the same time quiet Queensborough Street makes additional bonus when you are on vocation and require a good rest. Please do not hesitate to contact hotel directly next time so I can personally insure that the room is allocated as per your requirements.
We are looking forward to see you soon again!
Kind Regards,

Carmen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for one night, the room was very comfy and clean. Friendly staff and good continental breakfast. The location of the hotel is excellent, two very close tube stations and close to the park but area seemed lovely and quiet. But, surrounding area was bustling and several bars and food places available. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Abby W,
Thank you very much for staying with us and your positive feedback!
I am very glad to hear that you could fully enjoy your stay with us, our good location and room amenities! Our team is always trying their very best to ensure that you are getting the most during your stay!
As you have mentioned, the local are is really very convenient to travel from and also to explore. Many nice bars, restaurants and coffee shops are literary walking distance. With 24/7 staffed reception you don't have to worry about when you are getting back!
I really hope you will fully enjoy this beautiful summer and come back to stay in autumn again.
Kind Regards,
Carmen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Problems: 1. Value for money. 2. Room temperature (so hot). 3. Hotel's four star rating in advertising is completely incompatible with expectation after advertising. 4. Ineffective "air conditioning". 5. Small size of room. 6. Price - way too much for delivered experience. 7. Very slow lift in need of maintenance. 8. Nailed shut cupboard door to prevent guest damaging TV screen when opening the door. 9. Noise from other room's (apparently) functioning aircon. 10. Excellent reviews that don't match my experience of this venue. I am unable to recommend the Byron Hotel based on my experience and the apparently highly variable pricing charged. I would advise friends to stay elsewhere and will seek to avoid any repeat of this experience either at the Byron or at any similar hotels (should they exist). Biggest disappointment is the value of the room bearing in mind the price charged.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelledMan2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at The Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear WellTravelledMan2507,

Thank you very much for you feedback and sharing your experience.
I am really sorry to hear about your unhappy stay at the Byron Hotel, normally our guests are very happy with their stay and tend to recommend us to their friends or family.
I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused due to technical problems with air conditioning system's failure in your room. Normally once guest is informing our 24/7 reception we are taking an extra care of any issue immediately to ensure that it's and if it is not possible we are trying to allocate another room to the guest immediately if the hotel is not fully booked.
I really hope we can sort out this matter and ensure that for your next stay you will have the very best experience provided from our side. The Maintenance team has already sorted the issue with air-conditioning system in room 32 and it's in perfect order to work.
Please kindly contact me directly at my email - byron@capricornhotels.co.uk and we will take an extra care of your future booking with us.

Thank you very much for staying us!

Kind Regards

Carmen,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#600 of 1,068 in London
545 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#509 of 1,068 in London
556 reviews
Caring Hotel
#515 of 1,068 in London
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#595 of 1,068 in London
632 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#288 of 1,068 in London
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron Hotel

Property: The Byron Hotel
Address: 36 / 38 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #535 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byron is located in the very convenient and cosmopolitan area of Hyde Park and Bayswater. This makes it ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or pleasure. With good access to all public transport facilities, The Byron is a perfect base from which to explore London. Up to 123 different locations in London are put within easy reach by the 2 metro stations near the hotel. Originally two Victorian houses, and recently refurbished, The Byron has been professionally designed to provide modern standards of comfort in traditional surroundings whilst maintaining a country house atmosphere. Our professionally trained staff will ensure that your stay with us will be a complete and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing