We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - Great Staff - Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Byron Hotel
Ranked #503 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay - Great Staff - Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

A great small hotel nicely located on a quiet side street close to 2 tube stations with plenty of restaurants and shopping just a block away. The rooms are small but clean and pretty with fresh paint and newer funishings, bedding, etc.. The very best thing about this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff. Syed and Carmen helped us with a dozen little details to help us have a great stay in London.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good accomadation at a great price in London.

  • Liked — Staff, cleanliness, price
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about. Some americans may find the rooms small
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KatrinkaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    373
    208
    57
    39
See reviews for
192
339
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2007

If you are looking for something better than a B&B and less expensive than a hotel, Byron is a good choice. The location is very convenient (5 min walk to Queensway/Bayswater Station), the room was OK clean and tidy, the shower and hair dryer worked very well (which are very important to me), the staff were very helpful too! Most importantly, all rooms are all equipped with shower, toilet and air conditioner (much needed in summer!). I stayed there for 6 nights and felt pretty at home. Some people may concern about the breakfast but toast, cereal, juice and tea were enough for me coz' I don't need to eat much in the morning.

  • Liked — interior decoration inside room, air conditioner, the shower and hair dryer :)
  • Disliked — the carpet, the door lock, the breakfast are acceptable but can be better
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank come2hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2007

I only stayed one night but found this hotel good value for a city where hotels are notoriously expensive and disappointing in quality.

The decor in the public areas at the Byron could be updated; carpets in the dining room are past their best, the reception area looks very tired, etc. But the bedroom I had looked recently decorated and was lovely and clean. The ensuite shower room was excellent. Both were indeed small, but perfectly formed. I would not want to stay in such a small space for more than a couple of nights but again, small bedrooms are typical in London hotels, so I was not surprised.

Breakfast was nothing special, but there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby if you want to eat out at any time of day. A 10 minute walk from Paddington and 3 minutes' walk to the nearest tubes.

  • Liked — En-suite shower
  • Disliked — Decor in public areas; stains on wallpaper in dining room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trapped in Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

My husband and I just returned from a seven day stay at the Byron Hotel and found it the perfect location and price for American tourists during this difficult time for the dollar! The neighborhood is safe and convenient to the underground--we were able to get EVERYWHERE and we're NOT young folks! The staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant--they kept our luggage while we left for two days; looked up restaurants and train schedules for us; answered requests immediately. The rooms are very clean and comfortable--if guests think they are a little small, perhaps they should try the more expensive hotels near Piccadilly Circus. They're just as small, twice the price, and frequently not very clean. Breakfast eggs and bacon were fresh and well-cooked.
We slept well at night and the lounges were beautiful. I recommend it highly!
Sharon Ammen and Ron Moore

  • Liked — Staff/cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WooltrappedinMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2007

This hotel is not in an ideal location for touring London. The tube station is not far, but not especially close. There are restaurants and an internet cafe nearby, but the neighborhood is not very nice. We were not totally comfortable walking it at night anyway. The room was very small and dated. I was not impressed and probably would not stay here again. I think you could find something nicer, cleaner and more centrally located for the price.

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — Bland location and appearance
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaSheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2007

I would highly recommend this hotel! We stayed in this hotel for over a week in Feb. 07 and when we return to London this is where we will stay again. It is the perfect location extremely close to the Tube, the bus stop, tons of shops and restaraunts. What more could you want!

Of course the room is smaller than what you expect to get in America but we were prepared for a smaller room. It actually turned out to be the perfect size. Throughout the entire time the staff was incredibly friendly and the hotel is neat and clean. My wallet was stolen in London and the staff went so far as to find all possible numbers for me to the banks, credit card companys etc. They went completely above and beyond for us. We also loved breakfast. They had cereal and toast, tea/coffee. It wasn't a huge spread but it was perfect for a free breakfast.

Overall we LOVED this hotel and would highly reccommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The elevator was being fixed the entire time we were there so we couldn't use it. We were on the Third floor!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hmclore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

Booked a hotel package through Travelocity last January. The Byron Hotel was centrally located- one block from the underground station- in a very quiet, safe neighborhood. Reception was friendly.. they allowed me to leave my bags, as I arrived before the room was clean. The room was clean, basic accomodations. The bathroom was spotless. Nothing fancy but exceeded my expectations for the price. The continental breakfast was more than adequate with ham, breads, and yogurt in addition to pastries and cereal. Overall, I was very satisfied. I will make every effort to book at the Byron hotel should I have opportunity to return to London. Highly recommended for people who want to visit London but have a limited budget.

  • Liked — Spotless rooms, location to underground station
  • Disliked — carpet was worn in spots, but very clean
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LouisvilleJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
0.0 mi away
MStay 39 Studios
MStay 39 Studios
#632 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy Hotel
Troy Hotel
#594 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#506 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#542 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#439 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron Hotel

Property: The Byron Hotel
Address: 36 / 38 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byron is located in the very convenient and cosmopolitan area of Hyde Park and Bayswater. This makes it ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or pleasure. With good access to all public transport facilities, The Byron is a perfect base from which to explore London. Up to 123 different locations in London are put within easy reach by the 2 metro stations near the hotel. Originally two Victorian houses, and recently refurbished, The Byron has been professionally designed to provide modern standards of comfort in traditional surroundings whilst maintaining a country house atmosphere. Our professionally trained staff will ensure that your stay with us will be a complete and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing