We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid service and nice room”
Review of The Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Byron Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Splendid service and nice room”
Reviewed 13 August 2007

Nice, clean and modern hotel with continental breakfast. Room with bathroom and hairdrier. The staff were just super and with it's location near Bayswater and Quensway subway and just a few minutes walk to Kensington Garden it was a great stay for me and my 15 year old daugher. We felt secure and very well looked after.
It is also nice to find a lot of restaurants from all over the world on Quensway Street, the one we tried out a Chinese, Magic Wok was superb. We also visited the small shoppingmall Whiteleys perfect for shopping books and fresh fruit on Macy's. Hopefully we will be able to visit you soon again, thank you once more, kind regards, Anna and Malin, Stockholm, Sweden

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    374
    210
    57
    40
See reviews for
193
340
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

My husband and I recently traveled throughout Europe. We have saved up for it for a long time and we were novice travelers. The Byron is a great place to stay for people. It is central to tons of Central London attractions, the tube station is just a block away. To top that off, Carmen, the manager was very patient and understanding with us. Syed, a staff member, showed the utmost professionalism throughout the whole 4 night stay. Thanks again to everyone else I forgot to mention. The hotel is quaint and a perfect place to stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank novicetraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

London: The Byron Hotel, Bayswater: '"And Then Came The Byron"

I have visited the UK four times and my stays at various hotels has been acceptable...and then came the Byron. It is an excellent hotel on all counts, with great rates, but the cherry on the ice cream is its staff. Terrific is one way I would describe them, particularly the staff in charge of serving your breakfast. They are fast, efficient, and courteous with all. Every hotel should have such a staff in their premises. I wholeheartedly recommend the hotel and will certainly be coming back in the near future.

  • Liked — The restaurant staff.
  • Disliked — Floors creak.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

A great small hotel nicely located on a quiet side street close to 2 tube stations with plenty of restaurants and shopping just a block away. The rooms are small but clean and pretty with fresh paint and newer funishings, bedding, etc.. The very best thing about this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff. Syed and Carmen helped us with a dozen little details to help us have a great stay in London.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good accomadation at a great price in London.

  • Liked — Staff, cleanliness, price
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about. Some americans may find the rooms small
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KatrinkaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2007

If you are looking for something better than a B&B and less expensive than a hotel, Byron is a good choice. The location is very convenient (5 min walk to Queensway/Bayswater Station), the room was OK clean and tidy, the shower and hair dryer worked very well (which are very important to me), the staff were very helpful too! Most importantly, all rooms are all equipped with shower, toilet and air conditioner (much needed in summer!). I stayed there for 6 nights and felt pretty at home. Some people may concern about the breakfast but toast, cereal, juice and tea were enough for me coz' I don't need to eat much in the morning.

  • Liked — interior decoration inside room, air conditioner, the shower and hair dryer :)
  • Disliked — the carpet, the door lock, the breakfast are acceptable but can be better
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank come2hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

I only stayed one night but found this hotel good value for a city where hotels are notoriously expensive and disappointing in quality.

The decor in the public areas at the Byron could be updated; carpets in the dining room are past their best, the reception area looks very tired, etc. But the bedroom I had looked recently decorated and was lovely and clean. The ensuite shower room was excellent. Both were indeed small, but perfectly formed. I would not want to stay in such a small space for more than a couple of nights but again, small bedrooms are typical in London hotels, so I was not surprised.

Breakfast was nothing special, but there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby if you want to eat out at any time of day. A 10 minute walk from Paddington and 3 minutes' walk to the nearest tubes.

  • Liked — En-suite shower
  • Disliked — Decor in public areas; stains on wallpaper in dining room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trapped in Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

My husband and I just returned from a seven day stay at the Byron Hotel and found it the perfect location and price for American tourists during this difficult time for the dollar! The neighborhood is safe and convenient to the underground--we were able to get EVERYWHERE and we're NOT young folks! The staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant--they kept our luggage while we left for two days; looked up restaurants and train schedules for us; answered requests immediately. The rooms are very clean and comfortable--if guests think they are a little small, perhaps they should try the more expensive hotels near Piccadilly Circus. They're just as small, twice the price, and frequently not very clean. Breakfast eggs and bacon were fresh and well-cooked.
We slept well at night and the lounges were beautiful. I recommend it highly!
Sharon Ammen and Ron Moore

  • Liked — Staff/cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WooltrappedinMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Shaftesbury Hyde Park International
0.0 mi away
MStay 39 Studios
MStay 39 Studios
#626 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy Hotel
Troy Hotel
#588 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#499 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#535 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron Hotel

Property: The Byron Hotel
Address: 36 / 38 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byron is located in the very convenient and cosmopolitan area of Hyde Park and Bayswater. This makes it ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or pleasure. With good access to all public transport facilities, The Byron is a perfect base from which to explore London. Up to 123 different locations in London are put within easy reach by the 2 metro stations near the hotel. Originally two Victorian houses, and recently refurbished, The Byron has been professionally designed to provide modern standards of comfort in traditional surroundings whilst maintaining a country house atmosphere. Our professionally trained staff will ensure that your stay with us will be a complete and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing