We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliantup value very clean”
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Eagle Hotel
Ranked #825 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed last year and there again 14th Oct First stay great , huge two floor room for two of us clean and comfortable efficient staff .Near station , couple minutes walk very central for walking around London.Looking forward staying there again hope same pleasant experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenecstewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Decided to stay here again following a not-so-great visit, because a)everyone deserves a second chance and b)there was a great deal on Lastminute.com - but I really wish I hadn't bothered. First off, neither the door to my room nor the door to my ensuite bathroom would open completely because there were beds blocking them - and I'm pretty sure this would be considered a fire hazard. My first morning there, I discovered that the shower wouldn't turn on, and it took a member of staff five minutes to get it to work; when I finally managed to use it, I noticed black mould on the grouting and on the folding shower door. This could be scraped off with my fingernail - don't ask me why I tried doing this - which proves that the cleaners really don't do their job properly, and it's also a health hazard. (Legionnaire's, anyone?) Oh, and the fan in the bathroom didn't work either. When I checked in, the chap on the front desk had such a poor command of English that he couldn't find my reservation even after I repeated it multiple times and spelled it for him; it took someone from the back room to walk past him, reach for a my room key - which turned out to have been sitting in front of him all the time - and pass it to me with an apology...and something about the look on his face told me it wasn't the first time he'd had to bail this guy out! Yes, the Royal Eagle is minutes from the train station that I reach when I get to London from Somerset, but that's not enough to get me to stay there again; for half what I paid, there is a lovely B & B in King's Cross which includes breakfast and free wifi - both of which you have to pay extra for at the Royal Eagle - and even though it takes half an hour to reach it by bus once I get to London, it's more than worth it.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you check in - and take a good look at the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackdahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our review about The Royal Eagle Hotel

A great hotel to stay in London

Helpful and friendly staff

Very clean and everything work super great for us.

Very central location

Modern room and comfortable


We will definitely recommend the royal eagle hotel for our friends and family

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

To be honest I was really impressed by my stay here.
The staff are incredibly friendly, good service and the room was very clean.
The room seemed to be newly renovated as was the corridor and foyer which were all very nice and looked luxurious for the amount we paid per night.
Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

On a very recent trip to renew a schengen visa the hotel was ideally situated, being close to Paddington station and the centre itself.
We had booked a triple room, and were given room 215 which was split level, one single bed on the lower floor and a double on the higher level.
The room was clean and tidy and beds comfortable and firm.
The higher level double was very hot and would advise visitors to use fan's provided in wardrobe
and open window.The bathroom and toilet were on the lower level and care is needed in the night to negotiate the steep stairs.
There seemed insufficient lighting which made the stairs bordering on dangerous in the middle of the night, with only three lights on the two levels. This and air conditioning would be a great improvement!
overall very good value for money for short stay in central London.
But you will pay extra for Wi Fi and the continental breakfast option is expensive.
Weopted out of both.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Spent a night here recently and was very impressed with the hotel. The hotel is located approx. 5 minutes away from Paddington Station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but to be expected considering it's Europe. The room was very clean and the beds were quite comfy. They offered a continental breakfast that looked ok, but I didn't have any. They also offer a secure luggage storage place that you can leave your luggage upon check-out and continue sightseeing or shopping without having to tow your luggage with you. The only disappointment was that they didn't offer FREE wifi. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Royal Eagle Hotel has nice personnel and rooms. The hotel building is old English style, as is the foyer but the rooms have been modernized. Rooms could have been cleaned better and the price of internet was quite high compared to that many hotels offer free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't right out to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadralle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#565 of 1,076 in London
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#866 of 1,076 in London
2,713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brunel Hotel
Brunel Hotel
#738 of 1,076 in London
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#608 of 1,076 in London
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#607 of 1,076 in London
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Address: 26-30 Craven Road, London W2 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #825 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £66 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing