We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Eagle Hotel
Ranked #827 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Just 5 minutes from Paddington Railway station. A very clean and tidy hotel. Only stayed one night but had a great experience. Good sized room again all clean. Was met by receptionist on his first day. He was excellent, very friendly and confident. He even remembered my name the following day! Didn't partake in breakfast so I can't comment on the food. Often stay in London on business and will definitely stay here again. And to top it all was kind on the budget too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are definetly too small. There was no space for my suitcase. Everytime i needed something out of it, i had to open it on the floor and then i had to close it again and roll the suitcase back to the corner. Otherwise the entry to the bathroom would have been blocked. Washing your face and brushing your teeth is nearly impossible, because the sink is too small and the water gets nowhere on your face but on the floor. So i would recommend to do that while showering. The staff at the reception was always friendly and helpfull and the housekeeping staff did a pretty good job by keeping those small rooms clean. The location is also amazing. The paddington station is just couple minutes away. So if you can deal with small rooms and if your out and about in the city all day long, then i would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Philine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stay at ground floor, room G08, happily not confined to the street (that have too much noise almost all the night). Our room was a quadruple (one twin bed and two single bed) and was renewed recently (right side of hotel). It s not very large (4 * 4 meters, plus bathroom), but it s better than one triple that our familiars stayed (left side of hotel), not renewed, and very tiny (3,5 * 2,5 plus tiny bathroom). Leans and towels clean, and they change towels on a daily basis, but are some vestiges of previous constructions works. Almost all employees aren't English, but no communication problem. Breakfast was basic (bread, jam, butter, cake, juice, milk, tea, coffee).

Room Tip: Try to stay at a renewed bedroom (right side of hotel); avoid front bedrooms because they are noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? I visited this hotel with my husband and six yr old daughter for a family holiday - suffice to say I am glad we didn't need to spend much time in the hotel or room. The room was on the lower ground floor, was stuffy and very warm, at side off hotel where all deliveries made so constant noise from very early morning to very late at night. Only form of getting air into room was to open window which worked well until they put a window box "hedge" in on the window sill. In shower room (no bath), toilet up against side of shower, so close that the toilet seat cover sometimes go stuck when you were putting it down. Also there was no shower door so huge pool of water gathered at the shower opening in front of the toilet so if one of us wanted to go to the toilet it was safer (and dryer) to go either before or after the other had a shower. When checking out on last day we weren't even asked if we enjoyed our stay....I wonder why? Bar tiny and only open for very short periods and not after 10pm. Lesson learned.....always check reviews before booking hotels.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Gabrielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location may be fairly convenient near Paddington and the nearby underground station Lancaster Gate, however, the hotel is quite uncomfortable to stay in.

The room was extremely small, there was no room to even open your suitcase.
There was no air-conditioning, and in the summer time, the heat was mostly unbearable. The did offer a fan which helped.
The one pane of the window was stuck in the worn out frame.
The bathroom was also very small, and the sink was so small you could not put your face over it to wash. It was a full bathtub/shower.
The internet was free for 30 mins/day, above that you had to pay. However, the connection was so slow, it was not practical.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spokeydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

"Despite the negative reviews I wanted a hotel n ear Paddington Station and this fitted my price range. As has been said many times the room was very small, particularly the shower cubicle as there was no room to turn round. But the shower was very hot and powerful and the bed was comfortable The reception staff were friendly but I felt the dining room staff were just there to do a job and their English was not always too good. The breakfast was adequate but some fruit would have been good.
It was very hot during our stay but there was a portable fan and we had the added advantage of having a room on the ground floor so could open the window fully.
It is less than half a mile from Paddington Station and there are lots of bused to the city"

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

For London, where 3-star hotels command five-star prices, this hotel is a pretty good deal for a family holiday. The location is close to Paddington station with excellent access to the subway. There are plenty of places nearby for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, the hotel is just 20 minutes walk away from Hyde Park and the Princess Diana memorial fountain, if you need a break from the busy city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdkeulenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#539 of 1,078 in London
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#608 of 1,078 in London
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#611 of 1,078 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Brunel Hotel
Brunel Hotel
#772 of 1,078 in London
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#871 of 1,078 in London
2,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#795 of 1,078 in London
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Address: 26-30 Craven Road, London W2 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £54 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing