We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stay - clean and pleasant”
Review of Hotel The Caesar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel The Caesar
Ranked #282 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed overnight before flying to the US.
First thing is location - close to Paddington Station, in traffic 10-15 mins by cab, with no traffic less than 5 mins. The hotel neighbourhood is pleasant and about 10 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of Queensway. Its also less than 10 minutes walk to hyde Park for excercie opportunities! I did not try the bar or restaurant.
My room was clean and quiet, although I could occasionally hear other room doors closing, they were not loud enough to really disturb. The room was an adequate size but, as with most Central London hotels, is not huge. An improvement would be a safe in the room.
Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The only negative for me is that there is a surcharge for wifi. while I woud be very happy to book this hotel again, I have to share with them that I tend to look for hotels where the wifi is included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am confused about your charge for wifi as we offer this service complimentary to all our guests.

I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,000)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Caesar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

I travel alot with my work, 40-50% of my time in fact so I experience a lot of hotels.I stayed at the Caesar for three nights on a business trip, including an all day meeting there in their conference room.
As I booked late, I paid a premium rate of 200 GBP per night for a double room. I thought it was a lot but when looking at the website I thought it looked worth it, Boutique hotel, nice looking rooms, good location. BUT... and its a BIG BUT! My room was so small... too small for two people even though it was a double. The window was so small and in an alcove at the bottom end of the room so there was not a lot of light. There was not a lot of space to place my luggage.The bed was the cheapest type of bed In have ever slept on in hotels and the pillows were cheap and flat too. (Come one guys... a boutique hotel should have good quality beds and nice pillows, even Premier Inn has nicer beds!) the robe doors would slide properly and again seemed really cheap. On day two the room wasnt made up by 2pm when I got back and which probably annoyed me more than it should have because of the size of the room.But when I wanted to sleep a little late the following day the housekeeping was knocking on the door at 9:30 to clean the room! There was no hot breakfast included in the rate- I tried to order an omelette and was told it was chargeable! Remember the room was £200 a night? Come on guys! Lastly, during the conference, one of the team wanted a coke with lunch.... not included in the delegate rate so we were charged for this... and this is despite 15 of us staying there and over £1000 spent on a meeting room. Nice customer relations... not. It seems there were only interested in taking money and not living up to the website and taking care of guests. However,have to say the food included in the delegate rate was good.
I will not stay at this hotel again to be honest... Even at the normal rate of 130 GBP a night I can get better quality and bigger rooms, maybe the area wont be quite as nice but I am prepared to accept that. I can definitely get more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we do value your feedback.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet with your expectations. Most London Hotel rates are sold like airline seats and can increase in times of demand. The past few weeks in London have been extremely busy.

We offer two pricing levels for Breakfast as most guests do not seek the Full English option, this way guests are only charged for what they consume.

All our beds are of a high quality, however bed comfort is subjective and a personal preference. We generally receive good comments on our beds.

I believe it is quite normal that people pay for what thy consume, so if a Coke was purchased then it is normal for us to charge for it.

Again, I thank you for your comments.

Lee Melville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed for 10 nights in September & early October 2013. I booked through Expedia, and chose The Caesar because it seemed like a good value and a good location, and I wasn't disappointed. My single room was a good size, and bedroom and bathroom were both kept very clean throughout my visit. I was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

I loved the proximity to Kensington Garden and Hyde Park, and I was also happy that there were some great sights within about a 25 minute walk - Harrods, Victoria and Albert museum, Oxford Street shopping. It's also a great location for transport, with bus stops and tube stations within an easy walk.

Bottom line: I will stay here the next time I In London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KadyBee613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you kindly for your kind comments from your recent 10 night stay, I am very happy that you enjoyed the Hotel, its services and location.

I do hope that we can offer you another warm welcome in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were allowed to drop off bags two days before we actually checked in. We did not want to take all of our bags when we went out of town.

The room we were put in was down in the basement next to the dish cleaning room. On the other side of our room was a large padlocked closet that would be noisily opened and shut between 5 and 6 in the morning. The window looked into the breakfast room so we had to keep the room darkening curtains shut to prevent diners from watching us get ready for the day.

We felt like we did something wrong and were being punished.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and attentive.

I am sorry that you experienced a room that did not meet with your expectations. We have a few rooms that are located in the basement but all with natural daylight and of a good overall size. I offer my apologies if this room was below standard, we have listened to your comments and have removed the padlocked closet outside this room from daily use.

I do hope you will stay with us again, where I am sure we can offer you a room that is located in a better position within the Hotel.

Lee Melville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night, Staff were efficient and helpful. Overall cleanliness good and quiet location. However, the beds were very uncomfortable which spoilt our overall impression. Would be happy to stay again if they replace the mattresses!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay, we value your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Bed comfort is subjective and what one might find uncomfortable others may prefer. The Hotel beds are of good quality and often get complimented.

Again, thanks for your comments.

Lee Melville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend in a deluxe room with the romantic package.

The hotel is located in a very safe, quiet street less than 10 minutes from Paddington and a 5 minute stroll from 2 tube stations.... handy for Kings Cross and sightseeing..... and a short stroll to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park.

The staff are very friendly and efficient and the hotel is spotlessly clean. Our room was lovely... and had an additional living area which made the room feel very spacious.... and the bottle of champagne abd strawberries and rose petals were the perfect touch for our romantic getaway.

We didn't have dinner in the restaurant as we had plans elsewhere... but breakfast was very nice.

Well done to the management team and staff for a perfectly well run hotel and an amazing stay. We will definitely return and would highly recommend your hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tw148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at The Caesar for 5 nights with my partner in September 2013 on a romantic trip to London. The experience was outstanding in every respect. The staff were friendly, and incredibly helpful. I arrived in London very early on the day I checked in, my room wasn't ready but they were more than happy for me to set up camp with my laptop in the lounge for a few hours. I had read that some of the rooms weren't huge so I wasn't expecting a lot of space in the room, but it was incredibly spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was large with a shower and bathtub, the room had a huge closet, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The Caesar also happens to be in an outstandingly beautiful part of London, just on the north edge of Hyde Park and only 4 tube stops to Oxford Circus - I frankly can't imagine ever wanting to stay anywhere else in London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_Harris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

It was very rewarding to read your comments and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,072 in London
1,050 reviews
Blakemore Hyde Park
#310 of 1,072 in London
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#112 of 1,072 in London
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Caesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Caesar

Address: 26-33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in London
#208 Luxury Hotel in London
#231 Business Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £96 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Caesar 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caesar is one of the best lodging options in London. Located in a typical and recently remodelled Victorian building, its peaceful setting in a residential area and proximity to Paddington station and Hyde Park make it the perfect hotel for both leisure and business stays. It also has a charming restaurant and a bar where you can discover a bit about Spanish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Caesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caesar Hotel London
Caesar Hotel London
Caesar London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing