We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay over”
Review of Hotel The Caesar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel The Caesar
Ranked #286 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lovendegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely stay over”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just spent a surprise weekend for my birthday in this hotel in London.
The location was perfect for us. The location is that quiet that we could even leave the window open to sleep.
Reception staff was very kind and we felt comfortable with them. Also, breakfast buffet was nicely prepared and there was a nice range of a bit of everything.
Only minor thing, we know that Belgium is a small country, but we were a bit surprised though that the guy taking care of our luggage wondered where Belgium could be and if we had an enormous long trip travelling to London. But nevertheless we made a good laugh about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenDC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to leave your comments, we do value all feedback and it is great when our guests enjoyed their stay.

I hope you had a pleasant "sort" journey back to Belgium and thank you for the free geography lesson to our staff!

I hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    828
    285
    97
    73
See reviews for
271
651
241
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

On my last stay at the end of 2011 i was in a single room; which was small but otherwise excellent.
As this time i was staying for 8 nights i booked a double deluxe room; this had a separate sitting area, large bedroom and bathroom. All spotless on arrival and kept spotless by the cleaning staff.
Having space to spread out was great; there was a desk to sit at to use a laptop and the tv could be seen from the couch and the bed.
The staff here are just as friendly and helpful as on my last visit.
As i said in my previous review this hotel is very well located and is within 15 minutes walk of Paddington Station - making for easy access to Heathrow airport. And there are three tube stations within 10 minutes walk.
I was offered discounts vouchers for breakfast (not sure why) - but used them most days for the excellent continental breakfast in the downstairs dining room.
I highly recommend this hotel and would not stay anywhere else in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to see guests returning as this is our biggest complement.

We are delighted that you again enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you a 3rd time.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have not stayed at this hotel yet. However, I sent two emails in two weeks to ask questions about a package they offered online and I have yet to receive a response.

If this is how they treat potential customers, I am concerned about how they will treat customers once they already have their credit card number.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I am very sorry to read your comments. The Hotel prides itself on its service and I sorry if you have not had a reply.

On occasions, spam filters etc can block emails and we may not receive them.

Please feel free to contact me directly on leem@derbyhotels.com. where you can be assured of a speedy response.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Nice clean hotel, staff very helpful . My room was a single, small room but it was comfortable enough. It had a safe, tea/ coffee facilities. My gripe would be only 2 coffee sachets and 2 milks,but I'm sure if I had asked I could have received more.
My shower door was damaged, but was rectified quickly when I brought it to their attention. The free wi-fi wasn't exactly free as you could use it for an hour each day, then you would be charged.
Breakfast wasn't included in the price,but there were plenty of cafés just a short walk away as was Bayswater underground. Didn't try the bar or restaurant so can't comment on them.
An ideal situated hotel to do the usual sight seeing in London.
I would consider staying in this hotel again, should I been back in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback, this is appreciated.

I am pleased that the Hotel delivered and that you enjoyed your stay. The wifi service is 100% free and we do not charge for any wifi service. Given that I have had 3 comments on wifi charging in a week, I will be investigating what may be happening here. Any future guests should note that we do not charge for this service.

I do hope that we can welcome you again.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights, amazing service! The food at the restaurant is life changing, absolutely great cheff! The pleace was spotless. The location is so divine. We will come back in our next trip to London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIGRENSE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I am very thankful for your kind review and complements on the Restaurant -the Chef will be pleased.

I do hope that we can welcome you again the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Considering the hundreds of other options in London, I can safely say that I won't be returning. It's not that they were horrible, but there were some things that personally I wouldn't want to deal with again. The first, would be the incense in the lobby. When I checked in, it wasn't going, but a couple other times it was and incense makes me ill. Thankfully, once up in the elevator & down my hallway it couldn't be smelled anymore.

I've seen reviews of the single rooms and crossed my fingers I wouldn't be assigned one of the horrible ones. I wasn't, so I was very thankful for that. Though the room seemed recently done or luckily spared the wear and tear rooms can get, the design of it was annoying. There was a step up of about two inches from the bathroom to the main room. Perfect toe stubbing height! The head of the bed was positioned inches from the door. I didn't think anything of it until woken up in the morning by the staff's loud voices and banging around from the hallway and rooms nearby. I could very plainly hear conversations. I tried to go back to sleep, but gave up after about an hour. Then I took the shaking fist photo attached to this review lol I could literally open the door to my room from my bed. So odd.

On the bright side, the staff that I encountered in person were friendly and helpful. Check in was efficient. Wifi was included. My room was wonderfully clean and the bathroom stocked with nice soap, shampoo, body wash, etc. Towels & bedding were of good quality. The TV only had a handful of stations in English & didn't work at first until I realized a cable at the back had come undone. But it did have another handful of stations from a variety of other countries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjuliansark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we do value these.

I am very sorry and disappointed that you feel you wont return in the future. The incense is a standard of all Derby Hotel Collection Hotels and although not to everyone's taste it is generally well received.

All rooms at the Hotel have a unique layout due to the age of the building and I am sorry if the room your were allocated was not to your liking. Given that you compliment the quality of all other aspects of the Hotel services, I would ask you to give us another opportunity, as I am sure that we would have a room that suits.

Please feel free to contact me directly (leem@derbyhotels,com) and I would be happy to make your arrangements for you.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed overnight before flying to the US.
First thing is location - close to Paddington Station, in traffic 10-15 mins by cab, with no traffic less than 5 mins. The hotel neighbourhood is pleasant and about 10 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of Queensway. Its also less than 10 minutes walk to hyde Park for excercie opportunities! I did not try the bar or restaurant.
My room was clean and quiet, although I could occasionally hear other room doors closing, they were not loud enough to really disturb. The room was an adequate size but, as with most Central London hotels, is not huge. An improvement would be a safe in the room.
Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The only negative for me is that there is a surcharge for wifi. while I woud be very happy to book this hotel again, I have to share with them that I tend to look for hotels where the wifi is included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am confused about your charge for wifi as we offer this service complimentary to all our guests.

I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#204 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Blakemore Hyde Park
#303 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#293 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Caesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Caesar

Property: Hotel The Caesar
Address: 26-33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#231 Business Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Caesar 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caesar is one of the best lodging options in London. Located in a typical and recently remodelled Victorian building, its peaceful setting in a residential area and proximity to Paddington station and Hyde Park make it the perfect hotel for both leisure and business stays. It also has a charming restaurant and a bar where you can discover a bit about Spanish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel The Caesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caesar Hotel London
Caesar Hotel London
Caesar London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing