We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is outstanding”
Review of Hotel The Caesar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel The Caesar
Ranked #284 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The staff is outstanding”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I want to start this review by qualifying the fact that I am a very particular person. The staff at the Caesar is wonderful. Everyone was always courteous and genuinely interested in making us as comfortable and happy as possible. We were scheduled for a 6 night stay.

When we first arrived at the hotel and got into our room I was a little disappointed. I've been to London several times so the comments some people have made about the size of the rooms is not an issue with me. In fact, the room was a little larger than my wife and I expected. Our complaint was with the furniture. It was pretty beaten up. Chunks of wood missing from some pieces and every a large section of the veneer missing so you could actually see the particle board underneath.

Another issue we had was with the hot water in shower. The interesting thing was that the sink had plenty of hot water. We told the staff and they actually gave us a key to another room so that we could shower in there. This is just another example of how dedicated the staff was to making us happy. The room was on the ground floor and there was a lot of noise outside.

Taking all of these factors into account we decided to check out and move to another hotel after just 2 nights. When we notified the staff they were very accommodating. They said we could leave early if we wanted to but they would do whatever was required to find us a room at the Caesar that would make us happy. So we decided to look at some other rooms and we stayed in that room for the last 4 nights of our stay.

My overall review of this hotel is 4 stars. This is largely based on the quality of the staff. They are truly 5 star. If I could give them a high rating than 5 stars I certainly would. Thanks to each of you for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a little different so ask management to let you see a few options so that you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prunecandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is very rewarding that you highlight our customer care, as we pride ourselves on this aspect of our service. I am sorry that you had some issues with the furniture and shower. Clearly this should not have been the case and these points will be raised with the appropriate Managers so that improvements can be made for the future. I am pleased however that the team found satisfactory solutions for you.

I hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    839
    289
    97
    75
See reviews for
277
657
246
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed one night on business. The hotel is converted from 2 or 3 Georgian townhouses and is in a pleasant residential area of London. It looks nice and modern downstairs and my room certainly seemed recently refurbished with a decent bathroom and good shower, but the room itself was so tiny as to be difficult to use e.g. there was a stool under the dressing table but the (king size) bed took up almost the whole available floor space and it was impossible to pull the stool out. I had hoped to use it as somewhere to put my suitcase, but no. The suitcase ended up on the floor, blocking the entire floor area between bed and bathroom. The cupboard was only about 5 inches deep. There was zero soundproofing between room and corridor. The hotel is not particularly conveniently located as it's a bit of a walk to get to anywhere with restaurants or a tube station - probably better for business travellers who can take taxis than tourists. Breakfast was OK, nothing special, lunch ditto. On the plus side, the meeting room had a little natural light via a skylight and the staff were all lovely. Overall, not bad by London standards but not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your time in passing on your experience.

Space in London is a premium and as with many central Hotels, this is a challenge, not helped by our listed status. We do have many room types and if space is important a deluxe room is recommended.

Our location is generally highly regarded, within 5-10 minute walk of 4 tube stations and Paddington Station giving you access to Heathrow in 15 minutes and all in a quiet residential area. However this is all personal preference depending on expectations.

I apologise if our Breakfast did not meet with your expectations, again we generally receive praise as on many other reviews. We would welcome your feedback on how we can improve this further. Please feel free to email me directly on leem@derbyhotels.com, we always are happy to improve.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Staying in hotel for anniversary / birthday. As described on trip advisor rooms very small but functional. -ok for price? In morning found leak in room left husband luggage damp ( as nowhere to put luggage due to room size. Management made aware and asked us to pack up and they would allocate a room later. Offered to laundry clothes- hubbie needed to wear so we used hair dryer. Offered us breakfast- was included in package anyway. So we went out for day assuming at very least we would move to a better room? Not a smaller one? Have to walk sideways round bed, bed small my feet stick over the end? Honestly this Hotel could have resolved this issue had they cared. Additionally at breakfast another leak started from ceiling above food buffet area - yellow liquid? Apart from noise and worry what was it, when I alerted waitress she shrugged shoulders as if always happens and placed a wine bucket beneath? Hygiene???? Room moved to very noisy currently awake listening to guests above talking,,,, my advice u get what you pay for of course however great service and awareness of customer needs costs nothing.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry to learn of the problems are experiencing. I believe that you are still in house as I write this reply.

As soon as we were aware of your feedback, we have contacted you to try and resolve the issues. It is obvious in all parties interests to resolve any problems whilst you are here and not after you have departed.

It is with much regret that you have experienced a leak in your room. We are taking steps to rectify this, which will involve some building works. Given the age of the building we do face these challenges from time to time. I believe that the duty team acted in good faith by offering to launder your clothes and room move you. We would always offer the best room we can but due to very high occupancy we were limited to what we could offer you on this occasion.

A leak in the Restaurant is not a common occurrence and this was not related to the leak in your room. A guest in a room above had overflowed their bath. It is unfortunate that you experienced two leaks during your visit.

I hope that after speaking with the Hotel management you will see that we do take your comments seriously and I offer my apologies again for the inconvenience you experienced.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked an overnight stay here with friends and were very pleased with the hotel. We booked deluxe doubles and they were very nice and spacious. The reception and other communal areas were very nicely presented and clean and tidy. The staff were very polite and helpful.

All in all a very pleasant experience, and would recommend.

Room Tip: 219 and 223 are nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreww4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for you feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with. We hope we can welcome you again n the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I recently had a one day layover in London and I needed a hotel close to Paddington. I got a great deal on Hotel.com and I really enjoyed my stay. The room was very clean and well laid out for a small space. I stayed in a single room so it was very small. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were good quality. The bathroom had everyone I needed. Nothing was too much trouble - more towels, no problem, and issue with the heating (fixed in a flash), no problem. I loved being able to walk to Hyde Park in 5 mins for a stroll. I'll be recommending it to my friends!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
No problem - our pleasure! Thank you for your kind review and I pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Check in was pleasant, but when I got to my room the radiator heater was on full and the room was unbearable. London was having a mild winter and the heater going was completely unnecessary. I opened the windows and tried to adjust the air-con to cool the room down but it did nothing. I requested someone come to have a look at how I could make the room cooler and someone was there within minutes. I then requested a fan, which was initially refused by the manager (I was told this by the young man who came to my room to turn the radiator off), but at my insistence I was given one. I shouldn't needed to have insist - I am the guest and if I wanted a fan even in winter, I should have been entitled to one without having to ask twice even if the request was strange.I needed the fan for the seven-night duration, too, however I am the first to admit that I do not feel the cold at all and can't sleep even in a moderately warm room. Apart from that hiccup (which was sorted to my satisfaction) the room was clean (yes, small) and perfectly adequate for a solo traveller. The bathroom was tiny and stepping out of the shower, there was barely enough room to dry myself off. The bathroom could have done with an exhaust fan. Bed was really comfortable and I slept well every night. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from Paddington station, a 10-minute walk to Lancaster Gate station, a 5-minute walk to Queensway station and a 10-minute walk to Bayswater station, making the hotel wonderfully accessible to the tube. The hotel is located in a lovely residential area although there are quite a number of other hotels in the vicinity. I had room service twice and it was OK. I didn't try the restaurant or the bar as there were several good pubs nearby (the Leinster Arms is the best of them and really cosy). There is no fridge in the room, but the TV was good quality and the free Wi-Fi was mostly reliable. Staff were friendly and genuinely wanted to please. Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely. It is a top little hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We are always grateful for comments and feedback and I thank you for your time.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies if the heating was too high for you. This can be controlled by a thermostat in the room, however fans are available and I am sorry that this was refused on your first asking. Please note that each room as well a heating system has AC for cooling, although this is not generally needed in the UK in winter.

Mini bars are planned for during 2014.

We hope to welcome you back to our "top little hotel" in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Having stayed in London previously, I was prepared for the relative small size of the room as compared to American hotels. My room was neat and tidy and had a full sized bed, which I was not expecting but was delighted to find. The mattress was a bit firm for my taste but I adjusted well. Free wifi! I didn't make it down to the gym during this stay. The area was fantastic - such a nice part of London - only three blocks from Kensington Park. Queensway Tube station was only a few blocks down from the park - an easy 5-10 minute walk. Paddington station was a few blocks in the other direction.
Hands down, the best part was the staff and the customer service. Friendly, polite, courteous and oh-so-very-helpful... I was absolutely delighted with them from the moment they opened my taxi door until I checked out. I will definitely be staying at the Caesar on my next trip(s) to London.

Room Tip: My room was away from the street so while I did not have a view, it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya_Seckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay but particularly your comments on the staff and service. We really do strive to excel in this area and comments such as yours are very rewarding.

I do hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#198 of 1,067 in London
921 reviews
Blakemore Hyde Park
#303 of 1,067 in London
1,556 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#106 of 1,067 in London
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#288 of 1,067 in London
1,929 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#191 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Caesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Caesar

Property: Hotel The Caesar
Address: 26-33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in London
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
#231 Business Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Caesar 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caesar is one of the best lodging options in London. Located in a typical and recently remodelled Victorian building, its peaceful setting in a residential area and proximity to Paddington station and Hyde Park make it the perfect hotel for both leisure and business stays. It also has a charming restaurant and a bar where you can discover a bit about Spanish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Caesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caesar Hotel London
Caesar Hotel London
Caesar London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing