We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel review”
Review of Hotel The Caesar

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel The Caesar
Ranked #290 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel review”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of theatre break room was clean tidy and stylish. Couldnt really ask for anymore. Hotel was close enough to be where u needed to be but far enough away to avoid the real hustle of the nations capital. Tube about 5 mins walk away. Hotel breakfast was as continental as the chain itself with cold meats breads cheeses and cereals. A good nights sleep good breakfast and enjoyable stay would recommend to all

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    853
    293
    98
    76
See reviews for
283
670
250
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Perfect location near 3 tube station, you can walk in Bayswater for indian restaurants and then rent a bike and discover Hide Park. If you are travelling with Iberia & British this hotel is perfect because you can be at the Airport in 30 min door-to-door.
To conclude, if you are spanish, you will love their breakfast, and everybody speaks both, english & spanish!!!

Room Tip: Always go for a double room, no matter if you are alone, or better it you can go for a deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed for three nights at the Caesar Hotel in January 2014. The staff were very friendly and attentive, room service was excellent. The location of the hotel was also excellent with all public transport within very short walking distance (tube and bus 5 minutes walk).
I had initially booked an executive double room but found this to be a little disappointing compared to the photograph on the internet. I upgraded to a deluxe room at a small cost which I found to be much more comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers as it is clean, has modern décor, fabulous staff and a great location. Would stay again if I am back in London.

S Clare
New Zealand

Room Tip: A Deluxe room is definitely worth paying extra for if you can stretch the budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we met with your expectations. Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback and I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at the Caesar in February. Hotel staff were warm and friendly, ground floor is very stylish. I didn't get to try the bar or restaurant as the hotel is quite central to local restaurants and pubs. Great location with 4 train stations nearby, room was small but fitted adequately. Price was appropriate for location and accommodation. Good, fast free wifi. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review, the fact that you would stay again is great news and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Lee Melville
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are quite small and need a good dusting but would stay there again. The customer service was fantastic and staff went out of their way to accommodate. Would recommend if you're looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price. Bit of a walk to the nearest tube station but in a great location for taking in the London sights.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your comments we are always pleased to learn how we have performed with our guests expectations.

It is great to hear such praise for our service, it makes all our effort worth while and I hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I want to start this review by qualifying the fact that I am a very particular person. The staff at the Caesar is wonderful. Everyone was always courteous and genuinely interested in making us as comfortable and happy as possible. We were scheduled for a 6 night stay.

When we first arrived at the hotel and got into our room I was a little disappointed. I've been to London several times so the comments some people have made about the size of the rooms is not an issue with me. In fact, the room was a little larger than my wife and I expected. Our complaint was with the furniture. It was pretty beaten up. Chunks of wood missing from some pieces and every a large section of the veneer missing so you could actually see the particle board underneath.

Another issue we had was with the hot water in shower. The interesting thing was that the sink had plenty of hot water. We told the staff and they actually gave us a key to another room so that we could shower in there. This is just another example of how dedicated the staff was to making us happy. The room was on the ground floor and there was a lot of noise outside.

Taking all of these factors into account we decided to check out and move to another hotel after just 2 nights. When we notified the staff they were very accommodating. They said we could leave early if we wanted to but they would do whatever was required to find us a room at the Caesar that would make us happy. So we decided to look at some other rooms and we stayed in that room for the last 4 nights of our stay.

My overall review of this hotel is 4 stars. This is largely based on the quality of the staff. They are truly 5 star. If I could give them a high rating than 5 stars I certainly would. Thanks to each of you for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a little different so ask management to let you see a few options so that you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is very rewarding that you highlight our customer care, as we pride ourselves on this aspect of our service. I am sorry that you had some issues with the furniture and shower. Clearly this should not have been the case and these points will be raised with the appropriate Managers so that improvements can be made for the future. I am pleased however that the team found satisfactory solutions for you.

I hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Lee Melville
General Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed one night on business. The hotel is converted from 2 or 3 Georgian townhouses and is in a pleasant residential area of London. It looks nice and modern downstairs and my room certainly seemed recently refurbished with a decent bathroom and good shower, but the room itself was so tiny as to be difficult to use e.g. there was a stool under the dressing table but the (king size) bed took up almost the whole available floor space and it was impossible to pull the stool out. I had hoped to use it as somewhere to put my suitcase, but no. The suitcase ended up on the floor, blocking the entire floor area between bed and bathroom. The cupboard was only about 5 inches deep. There was zero soundproofing between room and corridor. The hotel is not particularly conveniently located as it's a bit of a walk to get to anywhere with restaurants or a tube station - probably better for business travellers who can take taxis than tourists. Breakfast was OK, nothing special, lunch ditto. On the plus side, the meeting room had a little natural light via a skylight and the staff were all lovely. Overall, not bad by London standards but not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaesarGM, General Manager at Hotel The Caesar, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your time in passing on your experience.

Space in London is a premium and as with many central Hotels, this is a challenge, not helped by our listed status. We do have many room types and if space is important a deluxe room is recommended.

Our location is generally highly regarded, within 5-10 minute walk of 4 tube stations and Paddington Station giving you access to Heathrow in 15 minutes and all in a quiet residential area. However this is all personal preference depending on expectations.

I apologise if our Breakfast did not meet with your expectations, again we generally receive praise as on many other reviews. We would welcome your feedback on how we can improve this further. Please feel free to email me directly on leem@derbyhotels.com, we always are happy to improve.

Lee Melville
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,068 in London
966 reviews
Blakemore Hyde Park
#299 of 1,068 in London
1,571 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,068 in London
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#294 of 1,068 in London
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel The Caesar

Property: Hotel The Caesar
Address: 26-33 Queens Gardens | Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#231 Business Hotel in London
#288 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Caesar 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caesar is one of the best lodging options in London. Located in a typical and recently remodelled Victorian building, its peaceful setting in a residential area and proximity to Paddington station and Hyde Park make it the perfect hotel for both leisure and business stays. It also has a charming restaurant and a bar where you can discover a bit about Spanish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Caesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caesar Hotel London
Caesar Hotel London
Caesar London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing