We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally! A go-to place to stay in London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vancouver Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vancouver Studios
Ranked #338 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Finally! A go-to place to stay in London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I did get turned around a bit in finding this for the first time on my morning of arrival, but once I was directed by a good-samaritan worker man I found on a nearby street (thank goodness for his handy iPhone gps device!) I fully realized what a convenient five-minute walk around a couple of corners from Bayswater tube station VS really is. It's just one short transfer off the Piccadilly line in from LHR and quite the convenient base for all of your London wanderings, too.

Now while I wasn't able to check in immediately upon morning arrival, I was able to store my bags in one of the rooms off the lobby and use the wifi in their overstuffed sitting room before I set off for a few hours. Upon my return, I was given the choice of a small single which indeed did face my requested garden, or a "larger" room, also on the second floor, which faced the street. I went with the street-facing room, and am I glad I did! There was never a problem with noise from below and the room was huuuge, a great king bed, a sleeper sofa, the kitchenette, a table set for four and two big windows. Positives include the wifi, the fluffiest hotel towels I've ever seen, the fridge & microwave, location, and great & friendly service from every staff member who I encountered. Negatives, if I must find some, were the hard and scratchy sissel rug which was murder on my sore feet, and the weird little bathroom sink which was so small that you couldn't really put your face over it and splash even a bit of water on it without splashing over half the rest of the room. But that's a very minor consideration, the sink looked very cool.

I left London early on a Sunday morning. It turns out the tube doesn't start running until 720a on Sundays so the front desk gentleman very kindly arranged for a cab to pick me up at 6a to get me over to Paddington Station for the zippy (but $$$) Heathrow Express. Thanks to everyone at VS, they made my stay a special one.

I recommend VS to my friends, and I hope to stay here again myself the next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Yes, it's an old building and the stairs are steep. That staircase was a daunting thing before m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    165
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
84
92
93
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We arrived, jet-lagged, 5 hours earlier than check-in and Damien let us in early. Bliss. A taste of things to come! We originally stayed 6 nights in a balcony studio overlooking Princes Square. Sunsets from the balcony were a highlight. Later in our trip we stayed at the Garden Sudio, then were upgraded for a final night at the end of our trip to a 3 bedroom apartment. Both face the gorgeous garden. All rooms were great. Immaculately clean, tastfully and differently furnished, good beds, reasonable bathrooms. Location was fab- it felt quiet, but it was so close to the tube and everything we wanted to see. Thanks for recommending the Prince Alfred - great roast dinners. All the staff were really helpful. We will be staying again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great for late arvo bevvie. The Garden Room is quieter, with a lovey setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenoa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in single studio apartment, very well kitted out and everything in good condition. WC/sink area quite compact and final flight of stairs to top floor quite steep and narrow, so might not be so comfortable for any taller/larger than average person. All staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent location with two tubes within easy 5 min walk and restaurants, pubs and shopping nearby. Biggest drawback - internal soundproofing not too good, so could hear people coming home late at night, climbing stairs, opening/shutting doors, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Vancouver rooms was a pleasant surprise when compared to previous dingy room and hotel experiences in London.

The hotel is immaculately clean and warm (a bit too warm for my boyfriend). Our room was on the small side but was functional nonetheless. Little touches like the complimentary tea and coffee, the apples in reception, the beautiful blinds and the fact that you can open the windows make up for the small size of the room.

The decor was thought off and some surprise antique finds made the place that bit more interesting. The receptionist was personable and friendly: truly proud of the place and very welcoming.

My favourite room was the reading room looking out to a well kept and maintained garden. There are books you can pick up and read and a selection of DVDs.

The only thing I would change is the price . It was a last minute booking for us and I think it should have been £20 or £30 cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liveloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Simply loved my stay here. I stay in a single room which was small but enough for me. The space really was not bad though because most even i had two of my friends accompany me back to the hotel and sit comfortably in the room for tea and biscuits before making their way back home. I was very surprised but v. grateful that the receptionist aloud this. I met two different receptionist and both were v.nice and welcoming.

My stay was back in Sept 2011 and have been meaning to write a review since. I am planning to book a room for June next week which reminded me to write this review so i can add another once I have returned.

My only fault really was there was a slight smell of curry in the room which did bother me and when reported to the receptionist one morning before leaving out, i returned back in the evening to the matter resolved; apart from this everything was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missymish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

There are no miracles out there - means : you get, what you paid for. Spent here one night in a single room - in a tiny & dingy room. The public areas are somehow charming with those dusty vintage luggage, taxidermy animals and riding boots - but my room was rather shabby. They have walls of paper and the windows can't keep off the traffic noise. It's located near to the tube though (ca. 5-10 min) and walking distance to Notting Hill. Had no breakfast there, so I cannot comment on that one. If you're lucky you'll have the friendly and helpful receptionist lady (with dark hair).

Room Tip: Take one off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

As of the last evening of my stay at Vancouver Studios last week, I had intended to write a glowing, positive review of my 3 night stay. Unfortunately, the last thing that happened there is so significant, that it has downgraded my rating from a possible 5 to a 3.
I had to leave early in the morning to catch my flight from Heathrow. I asked for a cab for 7:15 a.m. and a wake-up call at 6:30. The wake-up call never came. The cab arrived early (7:00), and that was when the front desk called up to my room. The apology for forgetting the wake-up call was feeble at best. Fortunately for me, I had been awake anyway.
Other than that, my stay was pleasant. The room was tiny, as was the bath, but I expected that to be the case.
Housekeeping did an excellent job cleaning and replenishing tea bags, biscuits, towels, shower gel, etc.
I would probably stay there again because the price was so reasonable. I would just make sure that I set the alarm on my phone!

Room Tip: Room 11 is fine for 1 person who does not spend a lot of time in the room. It was toward the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nutmegger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#281 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#304 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#356 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#296 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#426 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Studios

Property: Vancouver Studios
Address: Vancouver Studios 30 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in London
#203 Family Hotel in London
#228 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vancouver Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Vancouver Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Studios London
Vancouver Studios Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing