We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Comfortable”
Review of Vancouver Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vancouver Studios
Ranked #376 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

A quiet, civilized small hotel steps away from the bustle of Bayswater, with its myriad shops, scores of good-to-excellent ethnic restaurants and pubs, and 2 nearby tube stations. We appreciated most of the room amenities, including the tiny but serviceable kitchenette and a shower with good water pressure. No breakfast, but biscuits, coffee, coco, and tea are provided in the room, and a Mark's and Spenser's food court is close by. There is WIFI and a room safe, as well as a flat-screen TV. Housekeeping was dependable, and the desk staff was polite and helpful. The common areas are very olde-englishe and pleasant.

Small criticisms: They should provide some paper towels or napkins with the kitchenette. We missed having any sort of clock. We found the beds too soft, but we slept well anyway.

Be aware when booking that there is no lift.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent three nights in a three bedroom apartment and were very happy. The apartment is huge with a great kitchen and large bedrooms. There are a few small things that could be improved such as a couple of broken floorboards and poor WIFI in the apartment itself but overall these were minor flaws.

The staff are very helpful and reception is attended 24 hours per day. Security is therefore excellent.

The location is very good too being just a short walk from the Tube station and plenty of shops and eating options. It is also just off the main street in Bayswater, so traffic noise is not a major problem.

The real bonus though is Zeus, one of the resident cats, who took up lodgings with us every night. He's a beauty!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My family has stayed in Vancouver Studios every year for at least a dozen or so years now. The location is near Queensway and Bayswater tube stations and Hyde Park is just a few blocks away. The customer service is amazing, the staff is helpful and nice. It is always clean and comfortable. I particularly need a clean bathroom/shower and these are top notch spotless. To book a room has never been a problem, super easy and reliable service. We have stayed in several different apartments and never had a problem. We personally like the rooms toward the back, there is a lovely garden and less noise. Very convenient to Paddington station too (short taxi ride) if you are using the Heathrow Express train. Highly recommend!! We have stayed in other hotels and apartments in the past but this has become our number one choice and wouldn't stay anywhere else now.

Room Tip: For quiet, back rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasingbluebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Fairly convenient location, short walk to underground station at Bayswater and clean. Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful. We were in room 24 facing the street. Bit of advice. Although no view at all in the rear, at least you may not have to contend with the buses and cabs that drive by in the middle of the night. They are not that quiet. The flooring had a deep sag in it which even caused the dining table to slant too much. The shower was 2 foot square. Small to say the least. I don't really want to give you the wrong impression. It was just fine for the price. We needed the kitchette for our son who has allergies. Free Wifi was just fine along with the daily housekeeping. The feel is more like a single room apartment than a hotel which is fine. Basically clean and decent, not fancy at all. All in all, I recommend this place since the rest of London is not inexpensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lightning411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at Vancouver Studios for about five days in December. The hotel was clean, charming, and the staff was courteous and attentive. The location is close to several areas of interest and it is a short walk to the Underground which makes it easy to see the rest of London. I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathrin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I agree with the other reviewers - this place is a hidden gem. Excellent location, very clean, and great to have the kitchenette. Unlike some other self-catering places that don't provide it, I really appreciated the daily housekeeping. Wifi was fast enough to work from.
My bathroom was a bit of a squeeze, but immaculately clean and in perfect condition, and the separate shower wasn't as small as in other places I stayed.
Shops are close by, as are ample restaurants. The tube is a short walk and you can even walk to Paddington in 10-mins. A bit of noise from the road in the evening, but that's because Bayswater is a lively area.
I'd certainly recommend it and would return the next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun_242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Although it's definitely not fancy, it's comfortable. Of the various hotels I stay at throughout the year, this is my favorite. With kitchen facilities and no room service, it feels more like a flat than a hotel, which is fine by me.

The stairs are a bit of a problem. I'm fit, so it doesn't bother me much. For anyone who isn't a bit athletic, though, it would be best to ask for a room on a lower floor, preferably facing the garden.

Boris Bike rentals are just around the corner.

Great value, terrific location, very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden, on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KenGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#434 of 1,076 in London
449 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#416 of 1,076 in London
308 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#361 of 1,076 in London
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#289 of 1,076 in London
1,688 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#822 of 1,076 in London
241 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#315 of 1,076 in London
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Studios

Address: Vancouver Studios 30 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in London
#203 Family Hotel in London
#228 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vancouver Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vancouver Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Studios London
Vancouver Studios Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing