We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Hostel”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #650 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Well let me just say that the quality of the hotel could be compared to a hostel. And am actually very shocked that most rated this hotel a 4 or 5 stars?! The only positive aspect was the location, which was a short walk from Paddington station. The rest was poor.

My room was on the top floor, so that was about 5 flights of dragging my suit case. Had a teeny tiny shower in my room, and "my" toilet was 2 flights downstairs. Was a tight squeeze, with barely any room to turn around in there! Fun.
On the first night, had drunks in the court yard opposite the hotel having a good'ol time until 5am. Very amusing after being sleep deprived coming from Canada.
Room windows were from the 1800's and did not fully close, was like sleeping outside and could hear everything as though I was outside. Was drafty and kind of look like mold was on them.

All in all it sucked, would rather fork out some cash and get a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blueyes_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seekingahotel, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

We are sorry to hear that this reviewer compares us to a hostel where 10 strangers share a room! For the benefit of other potential guests please note all our showers are standard European size; that is 76cm by 76cm. If you are an oversized person, yes that might be a bit on the small side. That said, we are puzzled by the comment the guest makes about noise in the courtyard until 5 in the morning. We do not have a courtyard opposite our hotel. Opposite is a pary and the gates of the park are locked after midnight. It makes us wonder if this guest got the right hotel for his review which also explains why he was puzzled by other 3-5 star reviews all other guests left us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

Visited London for the first time traveling with my 10 year old son. They made things so easy and welcoming from day 1. Breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful for getting us on-track for exploring London. I have no reservations recommending them.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bill1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

this is our fourth year staying at the falcon hotel and we stayed for six nights, the service we get is excellent, i must say the staff are wonderful and polite, rooms are clean and fresh, the location is great as it is only three minutes walk from paddington rail station, also bus routes to anywhere in london.
the open top tour buses are also nearby with restraunts pubs and fast food outlets . all in all we find the falcon an excellent place to stay in a nice location for tourist visiting london

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank booboobadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We spent eight nights at the Falcon on our first trip to London in February 2011 and all I can say about it is summed up in the title of this review. It is not a terrible place, but you do get what you pay for at this hotel. The rooms are laughably small and the walls are quite literally paper-thin. When the maid in the next room was vacuuming she kept bumping the wall causing my bed to shake. The man in the next room was snoring, his wife clearing her throat all night, and we heard all this like it was happening in our room. The breakfast was average and since we stayed 8 nights and the menu was exactly the same every day, it did get rather boring. Oh, and don't bother using your "do not disturb" tags outside the door - the maids pretty much ignore them, a fact I discovered as I came out of the phone-booth-sized bathroom naked one morning to find the maid bustling about, even though along with the tag there were many other obvious indications that the room was not empty. Even when she saw I was there, she tried to keep cleaning - I had to ask her to leave and come back after I got dressed. Finally, there is very little room to unpack your luggage. The closet will hold about 4 items, and there are no dressers; so expect to live out of your bags for the duration. The beds are old, not too comfy, the pillows are flat and old, and the rooms are terribly dated. There is "no smoking" in the hotel, but a chain-smoking gentleman kept standing on the back porch and leaving the door wide open, so the whole hotel smelled of smoke anyway, including our room. Having said all that, if you can grin and bear it, the location of this hotel is fantastic, very close to the train to the airport and major underground and bus routes, lots of restaurants and shops; and the desk staff are also mostly very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGill1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I havent yet gone to stay at the Falcon, will be there next summer however they are so polite and responsive for every query I made before booking that i felt i need to say thanks. They had no obligation towards me i had not booked there yet though they answered every email and question. not the case with other hotels. well done and thanks, will continue this review after my stay

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
7  Thank odettefalzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Falcon for three nights in May 2010. We were thrilled to have been able to secure accommodation at the Falcon after reading such glowing reviews online. However, we were very disappointed at the room we were given near the top of the building. The room was tiny and the decor was very dated which was acceptable but the room was also not particularly clean with marks and holes on the sheets, dusty and mould in the shower (the bathroom was incidentally tiny and could barely fit my husband who is 6'1)!! The bed was uncomfortable and creaky so we didn't have a very good sleep but we decided to stay the three nights as the location near Paddington station was fantastic and perfect for all the tours and sightseeing we wanted to do whilst in London. We also had a very limited budget so couldn't afford to pay more than the 80 or so pounds per night. However we did wonder if we might have been better off just paying 20 pounds each for a backpacker/hostel. The breakfast was fine but make sure you get there early as there are limited seats and two mornings we had to share tables with others while other people hovered waiting at the door for a seat. We were grateful for the cooked breakfast though and the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful when asking directions and advice. I would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to others but for some budget travellers it might be acceptable - especially if the rooms were a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugNZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I booked to stay at the Falcon Hotel for four nights in March 2011. On arriving the decor was old and the room was very small, we could hardly fit in the bathroom as it was more like a tiny closet. We decided to spend the night regardless but checked out early the next morning. The fire alarm went off, the matress was so soft that it almost swallowed us and the hotel was very noisy. Although breakfast was average we had a terrible nights stay and would recommend this hotel only to back packers. However the staff were accommodating in providing us a full refund for our remaining stay and by allowing us tonuse their Internet facalities and printer to book alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seekingahotel, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

We recall these guests very well and we are sorry they decided to leave such a negative review for us. Yes, our building is old, in fact so old it is listed by the English Heritage as a building of historical importance, not much we can do about its age we regret. But we appreciate the guest was thankful of us helping them to find alternative accommodation. What they did not say is that they paid 4 times the price and took a room at Hilton round the corner from us and we know that for a fact because we booked it for them!!! The moral of story is the old saying that if you can afford it then fine but you always get what you pay for. Our moto is we do not even pretend to be Hilton but we are at fraction of the price, as (if not more) clean, comfortable and caring which we call our 3 cees!... and we remain proud of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#823 of 1,077 in London
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#649 of 1,077 in London
606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#894 of 1,077 in London
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#681 of 1,077 in London
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#695 of 1,077 in London
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#659 of 1,077 in London
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: 11 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #650 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £77 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular bed & breakfast style hotel established 60 years ago priding itself in its 3 C's, being: Clean, Comfortable and Caring. 2 mins to Paddington Station which serves Heathrow in 15 minutes via express trains and only 2 minutes walk to Hyde Park in central London. The hotel is situated in a quiet area opposite a park and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The main shopping area, Oxford Street, being 10 mins walk to. The hotel is no smoking but a smoking area provided. Complementary breakfast, internet use and refreshment centre. All rooms fully equipped with proper hotel beds, 32 LCD TVs, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and DD telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing