We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I just can't believe that room had three beds in it...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #659 of 1,086 Hotels in London
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I just can't believe that room had three beds in it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had two nights at the Falcon Hotel following a week in a lovely apartment in Paris, and boy did it feel like a loooong way away! But, due to some last minute changes to our trip, we were looking for something at the last minute and our criteria was clean, safe, inexpensive (relatively) and centrally located. The Falcon Hotel was all of these things. Our only complaint was how small the room was, and it was a BIG shock! Had I seen photos of the room in advance, I probably wouldn't have booked. We spent two days manouvering around our suitcases and each other, and although we'd been shopping in Paris, 20kg luggage allowances meant we didn't have that much stuff... It took concentration not to push the toilet door open with your head when you sat down. Tricky, when my friend was sitting on her bed - I was always nervous the door would pop open and we'd be eyeballing each other. The shower was also incredibly small, and none of us are tall or large. Seriously, though, the staff were friendly and it was everything it said it was. There was a free internet terminal in the hall (very inconveniently placed, we were constantly in the way) and breakfast was fine. It was an easy walk to Hyde Park. It was quiet and clean. We felt safe. I just can't believe that room had three beds in it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MonaroMimosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    174
    75
    28
    28
See reviews for
96
129
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were looking for a safe, clean hotel with some amenities, with a good location that wasn't super expensive. The Falcon Hotel was a great choice that lived up to their promises. The staff was very friendly and our room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. If you are overweight, you will have a difficult time maneuvering in the bathroom but this is true for most of the WCs in england. Our room was on the 4th floor (which we were told of in advance) and breakfast is below ground. It was rough doing 5 flights of stairs each morning after walking so much while traveling but oh well. The breakfast was really nice and there was a lot of options each morning. The linens had some hairs stuck in them when we got there but other than that the room was quite clean and was serviced every day. This hotel was also amazingly quiet considering it was in the middle of the city. We never heard street noise or noise from other guests. I highly recommend this hotel. It's not luxurious but it's a great place to stay if you're looking for a lower cost option that isn't a dump.

Room Tip: try to get a lower floor to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank berned_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Well let me just say that the quality of the hotel could be compared to a hostel. And am actually very shocked that most rated this hotel a 4 or 5 stars?! The only positive aspect was the location, which was a short walk from Paddington station. The rest was poor.

My room was on the top floor, so that was about 5 flights of dragging my suit case. Had a teeny tiny shower in my room, and "my" toilet was 2 flights downstairs. Was a tight squeeze, with barely any room to turn around in there! Fun.
On the first night, had drunks in the court yard opposite the hotel having a good'ol time until 5am. Very amusing after being sleep deprived coming from Canada.
Room windows were from the 1800's and did not fully close, was like sleeping outside and could hear everything as though I was outside. Was drafty and kind of look like mold was on them.

All in all it sucked, would rather fork out some cash and get a decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueyes_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seekingahotel, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
We are sorry to hear that this reviewer compares us to a hostel where 10 strangers share a room! For the benefit of other potential guests please note all our showers are standard European size; that is 76cm by 76cm. If you are an oversized person, yes that might be a bit on the small side. That said, we are puzzled by the comment the guest makes about noise in the courtyard until 5 in the morning. We do not have a courtyard opposite our hotel. Opposite is a pary and the gates of the park are locked after midnight. It makes us wonder if this guest got the right hotel for his review which also explains why he was puzzled by other 3-5 star reviews all other guests left us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Visited London for the first time traveling with my 10 year old son. They made things so easy and welcoming from day 1. Breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful for getting us on-track for exploring London. I have no reservations recommending them.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bill1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

this is our fourth year staying at the falcon hotel and we stayed for six nights, the service we get is excellent, i must say the staff are wonderful and polite, rooms are clean and fresh, the location is great as it is only three minutes walk from paddington rail station, also bus routes to anywhere in london.
the open top tour buses are also nearby with restraunts pubs and fast food outlets . all in all we find the falcon an excellent place to stay in a nice location for tourist visiting london

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank booboobadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We spent eight nights at the Falcon on our first trip to London in February 2011 and all I can say about it is summed up in the title of this review. It is not a terrible place, but you do get what you pay for at this hotel. The rooms are laughably small and the walls are quite literally paper-thin. When the maid in the next room was vacuuming she kept bumping the wall causing my bed to shake. The man in the next room was snoring, his wife clearing her throat all night, and we heard all this like it was happening in our room. The breakfast was average and since we stayed 8 nights and the menu was exactly the same every day, it did get rather boring. Oh, and don't bother using your "do not disturb" tags outside the door - the maids pretty much ignore them, a fact I discovered as I came out of the phone-booth-sized bathroom naked one morning to find the maid bustling about, even though along with the tag there were many other obvious indications that the room was not empty. Even when she saw I was there, she tried to keep cleaning - I had to ask her to leave and come back after I got dressed. Finally, there is very little room to unpack your luggage. The closet will hold about 4 items, and there are no dressers; so expect to live out of your bags for the duration. The beds are old, not too comfy, the pillows are flat and old, and the rooms are terribly dated. There is "no smoking" in the hotel, but a chain-smoking gentleman kept standing on the back porch and leaving the door wide open, so the whole hotel smelled of smoke anyway, including our room. Having said all that, if you can grin and bear it, the location of this hotel is fantastic, very close to the train to the airport and major underground and bus routes, lots of restaurants and shops; and the desk staff are also mostly very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGill1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

I havent yet gone to stay at the Falcon, will be there next summer however they are so polite and responsive for every query I made before booking that i felt i need to say thanks. They had no obligation towards me i had not booked there yet though they answered every email and question. not the case with other hotels. well done and thanks, will continue this review after my stay

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank odettefalzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#785 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#592 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#670 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#658 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#470 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#881 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Property: Falcon Hotel
Address: 11 Norfolk Square, | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #659 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular bed & breakfast style hotel established 60 years ago priding itself in its 3 C's, being: Clean, Comfortable and Caring. 2 mins to Paddington Station which serves Heathrow in 15 minutes via express trains and only 2 minutes walk to Hyde Park in central London. The hotel is situated in a quiet area opposite a park and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The main shopping area, Oxford Street, being 10 mins walk to. The hotel is no smoking but a smoking area provided. Complementary breakfast, internet use and refreshment centre. All rooms fully equipped with proper hotel beds, 32 LCD TVs, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and DD telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing